Customer Reviews for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bobbi Brown.

Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25

Average Customer Rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
6
93 of 109(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Review 1 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Dallas, TX

Great for Aging Skin!

I almost feel like an over-50 blogger for Bobbi's makeup line. I started using her products when my skin was still very oily and, now that I'm pushing 60, my skin has drastically changed. Fortunately, there have been Bobbi products each step of the way that have met my needs--and exceeded my expectations!
So that brings me to this foundation, and I have tried most of them along the way. The best one word description for it is "luscious"--it goes on like a dream, melts beautifully into my skin, and blends easily.
As with all foundations, selecting the proper moisturizer to prepare the skin is very important. My skin is SO dry I'm using both the Hydrating Face Cream and the Extra Repair Moisturizing Balm with spf 25. The Extra Repair foundation is still not to much moisture! I'm adding a light dusting of Bobbi's Retouching Powder, as it so finely milled it does not show in the fine lines on my face. Others may need to experiment to see what works best for them.
Application is very important as well. I use nothing but Bobbi's foundation brush. Other reviewers said they felt the foundation sat on top of their face, and this is probably why. Just a small amount of this foundation around my nose, dotted on my cheeks and forehead, and then blended with the brush gave me perfectly flawless coverage.
I don't think I'll ever stop wanting to try new looks and new products--now matter how old I get. I'm so glad Bobbi has products for women of all ages and all skin tones so we can all look our "natural best"--only better!
Pros: aging skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Ann Arbor MI
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown

CRAZY rich & flawless coverage

WOW. This foundation is like pudding. It's absolutely wonderful to feel between your fingers and the moisturizing factor is incredible.
I recently turned 40 and my skin seems to be somewhat drier on some days. I can use this foundation on those days in the areas of my face which tend to be drier -- cheeks and chin -- and blend it with the foundation stick and/or tinted oil-free moisturizer I use in places where I tend to get more oily.
Mixing & matching skin-care products and formulas at the same time is a handy little trick I learned at a BB counter. Great thing about BB products -- they all work well together. Even powders and creams of make-up; if I ever have trouble blending I just add a dab of moisturizer -- face or eye depending on what I'm trying to blend-- and work from there.
So glad to know this little secret... it opened up the whole Extra line to me and improves my entire complexion and overall skin health every time I treat my skin's specific needs. And I tend to go through all of my products more slowly as a result -- my skin feels healthier and I've started to need less of everything. I even look pretty good without anything on my face at all! I've been complimented on my skin a number of times since I started using Bobbi Brown near-exclusively for skincare.
Thanks BB MUA!
Pros: Normal Skin, Dry Skin, Dull Skin, Combination Skin
Cons: incredibly hydrating, nicely scented, lush, comforting to dry stressed skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Washington, DC

Bummer

So I love the EXTRA line. It's brilliant. I couldn't make it through winter without the EXTRA Moisturizing Balm and I wear the EXTRA Tinted Moisturaizing Balm every day. I buy it in two shades and blend them as the season and my skincolor changes. I was very excited about this new product but I can't get the hang of it. I've used finger tips, brush and sponge go no avail. I thought it might be stale because it looked seperated on my skin, as though I'd mixed powder with oil. Within a few weeks it was a rubbery mess. Ick! Sorry Bobbi this one's a miss.
Pros: no one
Cons: unfortunate
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:San Diego, CA

Super Hydrating!

I am 26 years old and have rosacea and eczema which flare mainly on my cheeks along my nose and chin. I have always struggled in covering up the redness from the rosacea because the eczema makes my skin flaky and cracked in these areas, and covering up the redness would just accentuate the dryness. I absolutely ADORE this product!! It moisturizes and heals my chapped skin really well and has amazing coverage for a moisturizer; it's totally buildable! My skin tone and texture looks even and smooth! I can skip foundations and concealers completely and just use some translucent powder on my T-zone to set it. It does have a "dewy" effect; not matte. I'm ok with this, and really the translucent powder is enough to cut out the shine and leave a more matte finish which looks flawless and natural. Totally recommend this for those, who like me, always have flaky red skin and need to balance their skin's tone and dryness.
Pros: dryness, eczema, rosacea
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:huntsville, al

miracle in a jar...no kidding

I can't believe this product has been discontinued! Already you don't have porcelain. It's the only foundation I've ever used that I believed actually helped my complexion, after I started using it I began getting compliments...on my complexion! That hadn't happened in years. It doesn't break me out or clog my pores. I don't mind the jar-i love the consistency-and some people make think it smells but I don't notice that 1 minute after I've applied it. BB this is a beautiful product for those of us with dry skin PLEASE don't discontinue this product.
Pros: very dry skin
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Sedona, AZ

Not the best for me

I have been a devotee of the Moisture Cream Compact Foundation for years, but it is no longer available. Was told this is the replacement product. I have been trying it for a couple of months now and am not a fan. The texture is fine and it goes on fine, but there is something in the formula that just makes my eyes stream and I don't put it anywhere near my eyes. I prefer the cream compact foundation with a moisturizer & spf. No eye issues then. I would try the tinted moisturizer with spf but am afraid it will bother my eyes as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Nashville, TN

Love, Love, LOVE this foundation!

This is, without a doubt, the best foundation I have ever used! At 48, I have a few spots on my face from sun damage and this foundation covers them up so well, without looking like I have "caked" on the makeup to do so. It has a very natural look and it actually feels very good on your skin. In fact, it doesn't feel like you have foundation on at all.
If you are ordering this online and don't have a beauty consultant in front of you to warn you - like I did - then take heed to this: this product goes a VERY long way! Just a little dab on my makeup sponge can just about cover my entire face so go slowly with it until you get used to how much you need.
I have gotten so many compliments on my complexion since I started wearing this makeup and I have had several people tell me that I look like I am glowing. Please don't ever take this foundation away! I would highly recommend this to every age group but especially to us gals who are hitting the age milestones where we might need a little help to look as good as we want to!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Iowa
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green

Fabulous Foundation

I have only been using this foundation for a few days, but I have to say that I absolutely love it. This foundation does wonders for the look of my aging skin. It feels very light on the skin but has wonderful coverage and gives the skin a soft glow. This is foundation is moisturizing, so it will be great for the winter months. Also, no need to put on lots of product under this foundation. Right now it works great for me with just the Intensive Skin Supplement underneath.
I think this is the best foundation I have ever used. It is perfect. I could not be happier.
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Moorhead , MN

Best Foundation Found

Trust me I have earned the title product junkie but I have been on the search for a moisturizing foundation with coverage that doesnt accentuate my age. This is the one! It is so wonderful from scent to feel and finally coverage. It leaves your skin dewy and young looking. I am so happy I have found it and cant stress enough for others my age looking for a moisturizing wonderful foundation...try this!. Thanks bobbi brown!
Pros: skin that needs moisture
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Smithfield, RI

Such an amazing product :)

Tried so many tinted moisturizers, this one is unreal. Very moisturizing, leaves my skin with a beautiful glow (alabaster is the perfect match for my super fair skin). Keeps me moisturized all day - no flakes and spreads easily. Can't say enough about this fab product!!! I have rosacea/acne prone and it hasn't caused any breakouts, even w/the spf. Thanks Bobbi for finally letting me use tint on my face!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Raleigh, NC
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Blue

The perfect foundation

After using this product for about a week, I am ready to nominate it as The Perfect Foundation. Its light to moderate coverage evens out my skin tone and withstands a 10 hour work day - even better if enhanced by an afternoon blush and concealer touch up.
I'm an over 50 (ok, over 60) consumer who loves Bobbie's products. This one is a keeper and well worth the price.
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: great for maturing skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Deep
My eyes are Brown

Wonderful for Dry skin....

but for my normal- combination skin....not so much.
Pros:
3 in 1 - spf, moisturizer, foundation all in one.
Smells soooo good. Like a spa in a jar!
Buildable coverage if needed.
Color true to shade guide. I wear Almond in the other formulations it this is a perfect match.
Cons:
My t-zone area looked oily. I tried to wait about 10 minutes to allow the product to melt into my skin... but it didn't. So I tried a light dusting of powder.
Throughout the day my face kept looking oily. So I had to reapply powder. I never have had to do this with other formulations.
Conclusion:
Everything is not for everybody. Although this did not work well for my skin, I will definitely recommend this to my friends who have dry skin. I'm sure this will be heaven sent for ladies who have dry to extremely dry skin. But if you have combo to oil issues I'd pass on this one.
I hope Bobbi comes out with a formulation w/ the 25 spf and moisturizing benefits for combo skin types. ;-)
Pros: Dry Skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:New York, NY

Please reconsider discontinuing this foundation

This foundation is perfect for aging skin. It provides light but adequate coverage, goes on easily, and leaves a nice dewy finish. The porcelain color is already out of stock. I am devastated that I now need to go on the hunt for a new foundation when this one was perfect.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Providence, RI
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown

Gorgeous complexion

For the past 15 years I have been a fan of the stick foundations and never tried any other Bobbi Brown foundations. The stick worked and I was happy with that. Over the years, my skin has changed from oily to combination to normal and finally to being a bit more on the dry side so I decided to try this foundation. It is nothing short of amazing. It looks and feels heavy in the jar, but once you put it on your face, the moisture absorbs into your skin and leaves you with a flawless looking complexion. I suffer from rosacea, but you would never know it with this foundation. It not only covers any redness I might have as I start the day, but it soothes my skin and erases the redness so that by the time I remove my makeup at night, there is no trace of any redness at all. If you are over 40 and have noticed any signs of aging or dryness, this is the foundation for you. I absolutely love it. If it ends up being too heavy in the humid New England summer, I may switch back to my foundation stick again, but with the improvements I have seen in my skin as a result of using this foundation, I may not need to wear anything more than sunscreen on those hot, humid days. This foundation is a winner. Of note, I do apply it with my fingers, let my skin absorb the moisture, and then I buff it out in circular motions with a foundation brush. It gives the skin an airbrushed finish and allows me to use powder to set the foundation and I have found that by applying it in this way, I do not need to use powder later in the day to combat the shine I used to have with other foundations. I think my skin was producing more oil before because I was using too much powder. Now my skin looks and feels well moisturized, but not oily, and certainly not dry. I would recommend this foundation to anyone looking to fake a perfect complexion, and this makeup will help you eventually get that perfect complexion. It is totally worth the price.
Pros: Normal Skin, Dry Skin
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Nashville,TN

HG Foundation- Everything you need in one jar

I am always on the hunt for the perfect foundation. I have tried many high end, outrageously expensive brands, but always come back to Bobbi. Bobbi Brown exceeds in her range of foundations (both color & consistency) and incredible skin care line. After wearing the extra balm tinted moisturizer during the winter months, thought I would give the Extra Repair Foundation a try. Wow! This is exactly what I have been looking for in a foundation. Love the fact that it makes your skin look great on, but also that it makes your skin feel wonderful. Everything you need in one little jar: moisturizer, foundation, skin repair and protection! A word of caution, the colors run lighter in this foundation. I usually wear Warm Ivory or Sand and Warm Sand was the perfect match for me.
This is truly worth every penny!!!!!
Pros: normal to dry skins
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Alameda, California
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Extra Dry
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Green

UNBELIEVABLY GOOD

I am so happy with this foundation, but if you are like me and do not have time to run to Nordstroms, etc, then here is some info to help. First, I have found the email chats with an artist sometimes great. About this product: I have dry, pretty clear skin but wrinkles that do NOT need to be exagerated via foundation. ALL my foundations (yes, I have a few!) come from BB. It's primarily the excellent colors, no company comes near her in this regard. I use the SPF 25 tinted moisturizer with the foundation stick for just the sides of my face where there has been sun damage. When I wanted more coverage I would use the SKIN SPF 15, but, look, it DID accentuate wrinkles. So I tried this and could not be happier. It really is a redo of the SPF 25 tinted moisturizer with about 3 times more coverage, but I would not state that it is Med to Full. It's medium and probably could be sheered. IF you use a really good moisturizer underneath you will get the extra coverage BUT no accentuation on wrinkles - that was the problem with the SPF SKIN. If you have dry (then don't use moisturizer) to very dry (layer underneath) skin not prone to breakouts and you want med coverage, a natural look, maybe even "glowy", but know that coverage CAN make you look older, this is the product for you.
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Hartford, Ct

great product

I thought I would give this a try. I used to use the foundation stick which I loved. After trying this at the Bobbi counter I bought one. Its more sheer than the stick but heavier than the tinted moisturizer. I love how it has beneficial qualities that will help my aging skin. It looks very natural and moisturizing. I set this with the brightening powder or when in humidity when I always get greasy, the powder compact. I love the consistency of the product and I apply with the foudation brush and avoid putting my fingers in it as to not add germs to it. A little goes a long way so this will last forever. A friend of mine wanted to get a tinted moisturizer from another line and I am trying to convince her to try Bobbi Brown instead.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Bend, OR
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Extra Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green

Would be better for me without added SPF

I'm 57 years old and have ultra dry and super sensitive skin - and that's been the case since my 20's. I am a devoted user of Bobbi Brown skin care products and cosmetics with great looking skin as a result.
I use options from the Extra line in cleanser, serum and moisturizer (non SPF) which are hands down the best products I've ever used in skin care. As a result, I thought I'd set aside the Luminous BB foundation I've been using (and love) to try this new Extra foundation. But, as with other SPF added products, it didn't work for my sensitive skin which seems to "rebel" whenever SPF is introduced. Liked the texture of this foundation and the look of it on my skin, but I'm back to using the lovely Luminous foundation since it doesn't contain SPF.
Pros: Dry Skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Gilbert, Az

Perfect for me

I was hooked on BB moisture rich foundation, but I found myself dabbing concealer on blemishes and areas of redness. I took a shot at this foundation, and I'm glad I did. I use the BB foundation brush (also a gamble for me at the time) and love the combo. I put it over freshly moisturized skin and get excellent coverage. Not dry or cakey. Does not set into creases. For ultimate coverage, I use over the BB SPF 35 cream. I was told that I had a "glow." Overall, I am very pleased.
Pros: Dry Skin, mature skin needing coverage
Cons: the best bb foundation i've used
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Extra Repair Foundation SPF 25
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Cary, NC

Nice for dry skin but difficult to apply.

This foundation feels great on my skin, which is combination in hot weather but dry in cold weather.
However, I must say that I find this product to be hard to apply evenly. Ordinarily, I apply foundation with Bobbi's foundation brush but that definitely doesn't work well with the Extra Repair Foundation. The couple of times I tried using the brush I ended up with the foundation looking uneven nor did it cover well for me. I might add that I don't have that much to cover either, just some red around my nose and on my chin.
The only application method that works at all for me is to dab it on my face with my fingertips and that still leaves me with a more uneven application than I prefer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>