Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara

Average Customer Rating:
4.127 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
2
40 of 55(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Review 1 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:sharilstuff
Bring back Perfectly Defined
Date: June 25, 2012
"The story goes, I received a sample of Perfectly Defined mascara with an order and found that, for me, it was indeed perfect. Of course, the product was discontinued which irked me in the first place - why on earth send me a sample of something I cannot purchase in full size? To turn me on to another product, thank you very much. So I agreed upon their recommendation to try the this mascara, being assured that it was even better. Wow. It's not as good in so many ways. The brush - and I prefer a smaller brush - is so short or even non-bristled that I can't pick up enough product to coat my lashes without re-dipping the wand at least three times. This is annoying. Secondly, it is a heck of alot of work to build any appreciable length with this formula and while I understand this is more of a natural look, I do want to achieve something with it or I wouldn't bother, right? Finally, it didn't last all day as Perfectly Defined did. When I went to remove it with warm water, barely anything came off which didn't surprise me since it also looked like I had no mascara on by that time. Perfectly Defined would last through a full shift as a hospital nurse and then a sweaty workout.
Bobbi, Perfectly Defined was great as it was and this replacement makes me regret purchasing it. I will probably just toss it as it frustrates me to work that hard with a product and achieve so little. I will look occasionally for Perfectly Defined to make a reappearance. Otherwise, I will stick with other lines for mascara."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:eycMD
(Indianapolis, IN)
not as good as bobbi's perfectly defined mascara
Date: April 30, 2012
Cons: poorly designed tube
"I was told this was the replacement for Bobbi's Perfectly Defined Mascara and that I would undoubtedly like this new formula. Well... here's the breakdown of my reaction to this product, as a dedicated Perfectly Defined lover.
-Formula: this formula is similar to the perfectly defined but definitely does not apply the same, probably due to the difference in the brush. Anyway, this formula is easier to wash off, which is great. But that means it is also easier to come off when you don't want it to. I used to be able to get through the entire day, including hot yoga, with the Perfectly Defined, but at the end of my yoga session, this formula had flaked all over my eyes and face. This formula does not provide as much volume, length, and curl as the Perfectly Defined. It does, ironically, give more definition and separation than the Perfectly Defined.
-Packaging: the brush is teeny tiny, which is perfect for getting all of your lashes, even the hard to reach ones. It definitely gives good separation between each lash. However, the narrowing in the tube that scrapes the excess mascara off the brush before it *exits* the tube ALSO manages to scrape the excess mascara off the brush before it *enters* the tube as well. This leaves a GLOB of mascara perpetually sitting just below the opening of the tube, so every time I pull the brush out, there is a glob of mascara sitting on the base of the brush that needs to be scraped off before mascara can be applied. This is really frustrating in the morning when I am rushing to get ready and it can take 1-2 minutes longer to carefully scrape the glob of mascara back into the tube opening (because it did cost $24 and I'm sure as heck not going to waste this product), just to have it end up on the brush again as soon as I try to dip the brush back into the tube.
I even gave this product the benefit of the doubt and thought maybe it was just this one tube that didn't work well. I opened a second tube that I bought and the same thing happened. I am so disappointed that Bobbi would let such a defective product be sold with her name on it.
In conclusion, BRING BACK THE PERFECTLY DEFINED MASCARA or FIX THE TUBE. Thanks for reading."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CeeJay
(Boise, ID)
Hooked
Date: March 14, 2014
Pros: contact lens wearers, curling effect, defining, darkening
Cons: Can't live without
"I've been convinced for YEARS that the greatest mascara was the good ol pink and green drugstore tube. I tried so many brands expensive and inexpensive and my mind couldn't be changed until BB sent along a sample of the Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara with my order. I am absolutely hooked now, and had no idea what I had been missing. This mascara has a way of getting my lashes to stay in just the right position with just the right thickness of coating. They look full without the clumping. Until I started using it, I was never able to get the lashes on the outer corners of my eyes to look long and full, and stay that way throughout the day. Now they look as if they are curled to perfection (without actually curling them). There is none of that awful flaking of the the product when I mess with my contacts throughout the day either. I highly recommend!"
Review 4 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Reni
(Schererville, IN)
WOW, I Can't Believe These Are My Lashes!
Date: March 24, 2012
"I am a fan of several Bobbi Brown mascara's but this one takes the cake. First of all, I love the tiny brush, it's tiny enough for those hard to reach areas. Secondly, the mascara is buildable, allows for multiple coats and the best part there is no clumping or flaking. Each lash is perfectly separated, lengthened and volumized and finally the icing on the cake-no smudging. Bobbi, you definitely hit this one on the nail. Thank you!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Criss
(Altoona PA)
FOUND THOSE LASHES!
Date: January 1, 2013
Pros: all ages
Cons: Can't live without
"I have short, sparse, "lost" eyelashes. Will be 69 soon. After using the Intensifying Long- Wear Mascara, I now have eyelashes that are visible and longer looking! I have tried NUMEROUS brands of mascara over the decades and I finally found THE ONE! This mascara does not clump and collect on the brush. AWESOME!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:CJ14
(ATL)
Just like perfectly defined but, better brush
Date: March 12, 2014
Pros: those who don't want to use make up remover
Cons: Can't live without
"I found this product to perform just like perfectly defined but, the brush was better. It is not designed to thicken lashes which, could be an improvement. It easily lasts through exercise without a smudge."
Review 7 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:missdallas
(Dallas, TX)
I see mixed reviews but............
Date: August 20, 2013
"As for me, the wand in this mascara is GREAT if you have small eyes and short lashes. I say this will be the best mascara for Asian ladies. Now if you have big eyes with long full lashes, this is not for you. You should get Everything Mascara or the Extreme Party Mascara. This will take forever to get each and every lash if you have long full lashes and you might be applying this for a good 5 minutes bc the wand/bristle is too small & skinny. I have several mascaras and I use this mascara on my lower lashes because it gets all my lowers lashes without having to cleanup the mess w a big wand mascara!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:dmmr
(Bend, OR)
Won't buy a second tube
Date: July 16, 2012
Pros: sensitive eyes
Cons: transfers - not a keeper
"I'm not jazzed about this mascara. Not unhappy enough to take it back but I won't buy a second tube.
The things I like:
1) The brush makes application easy.
2) Like other Bobbi Brown eye products, it does not irritate my sensitive eyes.
Good things.
The things I don't like:
1) In spite of the Long Wearing in the name, does not have the same long wear benefits as Perfectly Defined (which was my fav of all mascara). This one doesn't smudges a little after several hours of wear and by nightime that transfer under eyes is evident.
2) In spite of Intensifying in the name, doesn't do anything to really make my lashes look more pronounced, as Perfectly Defined did. This colors them, but that's about it.
I'm on a search again for the mascara that works as well for me as did Perfectly Defined. Unfortunately, I may need to search outside BB products to find it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:jabberjuice
(Houston, Texas)
"The Best Mascara Ever"
Date: December 31, 2013
Cons: Can't live without
"Bobbi Brown's Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara is amazing! I particularly like the way it covers and separates my lashes all in one sweep. The smaller brushes seem to be great for my lashes. The wand is easy to handle and no touch-up is needed all day along. It comes off only when I take it off, and that's when it's my bedtime!"
Review 10 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Rexi
Doesn't even come close
Date: August 3, 2012
"As a wearer of the discontinued perfectly defined mascara this one is very disappointing. It was recommended to me at the counter as the replacement for perfectly defined. I said I would try it, and now I wish I had kept looking. It doesn't wear nearly as long as perfectly defined. At the end of short 8 hr day I had the evidence under my eyes. Its hard to spend over $20 on a mascara that works like the $5 drug store brand. I have been a very loyal bobbi brown user for years, but this product doesn't even come close. If anyone finds something similar to perfectly defined let me know!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Beancounter
(Charlotte, NC)
My favorite mascara
Date: January 1, 2014
Pros: short lashes
Cons: Can't live without
"Best mascara I've ever tried. Good for short lashes like mine. Stays on and goes on without clumping."
Review 12 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:helper
(Chicago, IL)
Stable lash control
Date: January 2, 2014
Pros: daily use
"No clumping and smearing. Goes on slick and lush with extra-slim wand."
Review 13 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Karla
(Colorado Springs, CO)
Favorite!
Date: December 22, 2013
"This is my favorite mascara! I love the other mascaras that Bobbi makes, but this one lasts the longest..it hangs on to my smallest, thinest lashes for 20+ hours a day! If I am looking for a bolder look, I wll add one of her other mascaras on top of this one, but this is the base layer each and every day! It is clean, never gloppy and I love the small brush. It gets my smallest lashes and gives them the color and accent they need."
Review 14 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:karend
(Tallmadge, Ohio)
The Best
Date: December 29, 2013
"I like this mascara the best. Every time I buy one, and they do last at least 6 months, I buy one for my daughter. It seems easier to apply than the others. It has staying power too."
Review 15 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Bendel3
(Clifton NJ)
My Eyes are Beautiful!
Date: December 13, 2013
Pros: long lashes with no clumping
Cons: Can't live without
"Wow what a surprise! Never thought my lashes would look so long and separated and sexy! Great find. Don't wait to get this one."
Review 16 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:buzz
(NC coast)
Best Mascara EVER
Date: March 3, 2013
Pros: everyone
Cons: Can't live without
"I have tried them all, including all of Bobbi's. I have never had a mascara that didn't come off below my eyes. Even every waterproof one on the market. I have allergies and blink a lot and they all end up under my eyes. This one does not smudge or come off. Seriously. I have to be the hardest critic of mascara and it has exceeded my expectations. The brush was funny when I first saw it. Very tiny and fine. What it does, though, is go in between each and every lash, covering each one, for a fuller, natural look. I can not recommend enough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:crew92
(Springfield, VA)
Love the brush, length good, not long wear
Date: January 16, 2013
Pros: those who check their makeup often
Cons: not a replacement for perfectly defined mascara
"I have been told by several Bobbi makeup artists that this mascara is the replacement for Perfectly Defined mascara. Unfortunately, it's not. It goes on well, builds beautifully, the brush gets those tiny lashes in the corners, however...I use concealer and set it with powder, but find I have to clean up darkness under my eyes 6 to 8 hours later. With Perfectly Defined mascara, I could apply it and not have to check all day -- it stayed perfect and in place for 16+ hours until it was time to take it off. Please bring back Perfectly Defined mascara. Intensifying Long Wear mascara is a decent mascara, but it can't compare to the quality of the product it replaced."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Pinkpoodle
(Akron, OH)
My new favorite
Date: February 3, 2013
"I received a sample of this mascara with a previous order and LOVED it! I love the formula and the tiny brush bristles work wonderfully on my fine blonde eyelashes. Finally .. the mascara I've been searching for! It lasts all day .. no smudges or raccoon eyes! Love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Fan12
(Atlanta GA)
Intensifying vs Party
Date: December 23, 2012
Pros: the natural look and shorter wear
"I wasn't sure which mascara would best suit my needs, the Intensifying Long Wear or Extreme Party so I bought both and did my own test. Wore on one eye and the other on the other eye. Used the same number of applications on each. The Party mascara gave more intense color and fullness; the Intensifying was more natural. However, at the end of the day, I had flakes around the eye with the Intensifying mascara but not the Party. If you want a very intense, deep color go with Party. If you want the more natural look, go with Intensifying but watch for flaking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Intensifying Long-Wear Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:sandy411
(Jasper, GA)
Love it
Date: October 31, 2013
"I love this mascara. It really does lengthen and it doesn't clump!"
1 2 3 next>>