Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Foundation or
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bobbi Brown.

Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.337 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
6
82 of 95(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Review 1 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:GoldenBabe
(Southern California)
I am a Makeup Artist
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily
My skin tone is Olive
My eyes are Brown
Golden is Terrific!
Date: February 25, 2011
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: sheer enough to set other make-up
"Wore this for the first time today and I must say, wow! It's extremely difficult to find powder foundation with the right mix of yellow and brown, but this is perfect. I love that it's sheer enough to set my mineral make-up, but great by itself with a sponge. Can't say enough about the color. The Golden shade is perfect for medium to dark African-American skin tones, especially if your undertone is yellow.
I have seen this foundation in each shade and they're definitely true to the natural skin tone. There's only one thing I would add and that would be oil control. I had to blot a couple more times than usual, despite the initial perfectly matte finish. Love it though, please don't discontinue Golden!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:CoCoDelicious
(Charlotte, NC)
I am a Makeup Artist
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
Needs improvement
Date: October 29, 2010
Pros: Normal Skin, Oily Skin
Cons: needs improvement
"I hate to be the one to rain on everyone's parade, but I did not like this foundation one bit. I LOVED the color match and the compact. But that's where my love stops.
I tried this foundation for a week as soon as it was available I drove as fast as I could to get my hands on it. And for starters I have combination skin (oily tzone normal/dry cheeks). No matter what moisturizer I used (bobbi's of course) or even if I used Bobbi's buffing grains before hand, I would always get this orange peel texture,no coverage & patchy. Now you would think by maybe adding a heavier moisturizer that would take care of it. But not at all. It would just end up looking greasy and just terrible. So I called a few counters and was informed (at all the cosmetics counters I called) that this foundation is NOT good if you have ANY dry skin. Anywhere on your face. I also spoke to the online artist's as well and was told the same thing. So if you have dry skin beware. At least get a color match and ask whom ever you're buying this from what the return policy is. I would stock pile this if only it worked for my skin. Nice try Bobbi but needs improvement."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:beautygrl
(Hebron, KY)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Blue
Awesome new foundation!
Date: November 4, 2010
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: a great foundation option
"I was reluctant to try another powder since I've had no luck in the past but since I love Bobbi's other products, especially her foundations, I decided to try it and am so happy I did. Other powders and mineral makeup have sunk into fine lines and not had the right texture or coverage. This had the right glow and wasn't too matte but still covers without being cakey. I found the best way to apply is with a brush first all over then I take the sponge and apply more only in areas where I need more coverage. I have combo skin with redness and it covers well. Great Product! Thanks Bobbi!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Amanda100
(Grand Junction, CO)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
FINALLY!
Date: March 11, 2011
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"This is the foundation I have been waiting for my whole life! It applies effortlessly with the sponge, then I go over lightly with a brush. It doesn't cause breakouts or irritate my sensitive skin or settle into pores and wrinkles. No shine, but it's not chalky like other powder foundations, and I've tried them all! No, it doesn't cover completely like a mask, but it does blend all my redness, large pores, dark spots, and wrinkles with a beautiful, natural coverage. It really does look like your skin, only better. And the Cool Beige is the first color that has ever truly matched my skin. Has sunscreen, too! Thanks. Bobbi."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:SwimFan
(Akron, OH)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel
Perfect for travel and primer for oily eyelids!
Date: May 14, 2011
Pros: All Skin Types, Dry Skin, eye shadow primer
Cons: Can't live without, travel
"I have very dry skin and oily eyelids and have not had luck with other powder foundations --too drying or powder shadows--won't stay on. I received a sample of Bobbi's Illuminating foundation and have been using it for touchups and put some on my eyelids one day. WOW! My face looked luminous and my eyelids stayed a nice Matt finish for the rest of the day. Went to the BB counter and purchased a full sized version. I use Face Hydrating Cream right out of the shower after swimming, Extra with SPF, and then Illuminating Foundation with kabuki brush on my face and use the Eye Sweep brush to apply to my eyelids. Now I can use the Bobbi to Go palette and the shadow stays on. I can even use the dark color powder as an eyeliner and it lasts a long time. No need to carry cream shadow and gel eyeliner when I travel now. Add a GWP size Extreme Party Mascara, Face Touchup Stick, SPF lipstick, 2 Face Blender brushes , Eye Sweep, Eye Brow and Eye Definer Brush and my whole makeup kit fits in the side zip pocket of my purse! I like that I can get my whole face--including my eyes--touched up with SPF on the go. Sometimes I throw in a Bahama Brown Blush to use as a bronzer. I am a warm beige 3.5. I might go back for a 4-natural when I get more sun. If you have dry skin, don't be afraid to try this foundation for summer and/or touchup or even as a finishing powder while on the go!"
Review 6 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Gatorcat32
(Orlando, FL)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel
Good Foundation
Date: December 20, 2010
Pros: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"I have been using this foundation for about a week now and I have to say I really like it so far. The only downfall is I wish it was a little easier to get the product out from the compact and onto my face. I like a more full coverage look because of some redness and acne, but I find that when I wet the sponge I have to keep swipping the sponge to get the product on quite a bit. But it does give that nice full coverage. It looks really good in pictures. It really does help cut the shine out better than any foundation I have used so far. So I would recommend this foundation to others with oily/combination skin :-)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:QueenB88
(Michigan)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Olive
My eyes are Brown
Beautiful for oily skin!!
Date: November 3, 2010
Pros: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without, soft natural finish, great for oily skin
"I have tried tons of foundations for oily skin and this is the best. And when I say TONS i mean TONS. It's not that this is so mattifying, although it is, its that its mattifying with a natural skin finish. It is buildable coverage up to medium. I would not recommend this for dry skin. It feels airy and I'm a 4.5 warm natural and it matches my skin perfectly. Suprisingly I prefer to use a dry sponge with this. It's too sheer for a foundation to use a brush, maybe a great setting powder. I haven't tried it wet but I don't need that much coverage. I think this will be my foundation for a very long time!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Duabbe
(San Bruno)
GOLDEN shade
Date: November 9, 2011
Pros: natural looking coverage
Cons: Can't live without
"LOVE...LOVE...LOVE! Like previous reviewer...the golden shade is wonderful for my skin tone.
This powder is oh so luminizing and great sheer to med coverage. I use the sponge all over and then go back with a fluffly powder brush to dust off excess...and whoooola...beautiful! How do I know? My hubby stopped dead in his tracks and said my skin looked so natural and glowing! = )
I believe I found my HG in foundation!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:desigal
(Gilbert, AZ)
Honey is the Perfect Color Match
Date: June 17, 2014
Pros: non foundation wearing yet need some coverage
Cons: Can't live without
"I had almost given up on finding a powder that would match my skin color without oxidizing.. This matches perfectly.. Did I say perfectly.. Yes perfectly.. I use it with a fluffy kabuki brush and dust it over my face. Even with my oily skin it does stay put for over 4 hours.. I carry one in my bag for touch ups during the day.."
Review 10 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:bailey22
(Waterford, WI)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Green
Blech.
Date: November 6, 2010
"This pains me to say, but this foundation was a huge disappointment. I love everything Bobbi, especially her foundations, and I was thrilled to see something made just for oily skin. This foundation is terrible. It doesn't spread at all, and it just sits right on top of my skin. I tried all three recommended methods of application (and even some tricks of my own) and yet I couldn't get this foundation to work for me. Also, I like to dab concealer on my trouble spots after I apply foundation, but with this, when I would dab the spot, the concealer (being creamy) would attach to the foundation that was sitting on top of my skin and lift it right off. Gasp! This foundation reminds me of some cheap drugstore product that I would have used when I was 16, and I am shocked that it has Bobbi's name on it. Very bad."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:guestkj
(Raleigh, NC)
staple product, especially on the go
Date: May 16, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"This is a great on the go product, or perfect if you are looking for a lighter coverage. I wear this during the summer months, as it's more breathable for my skin."
Review 12 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:MissyLen384
(Waco, TX)
NATURAL LOOK - FAST & EASY
Date: September 30, 2013
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"I thought I was purchasing Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation to use on those days I would be in a hurry or I didn't have anything special planned. However, I use this compact foundation very often because it is fast & easy, as I thought, but also gives me good coverage & a great finished look without shine. It takes me through my entire day and evening.
It is one of my favorite Bobbi Brown "go-to" products. This is my 3rd time to order this product. Love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Breezey
(Palm Desert, CA)
EZ to use!
Date: May 4, 2014
"Convenient & easy to use. Transportable. Great coverage for my oily skin."
Review 14 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:octavius
(White Hall, MD)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Disappointing
Date: November 4, 2010
"I thought for sure since Bobbi had not debuted a mineral powder like every other cosmetic line, that this had to be her perfect entry into the foundation powder market. How disappointing. Just a plain matte powder. Dull matte finish that becomes only worse the more you apply. Forget wet application, it will look horrendous. A waste of money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ClassyMom
(Louisville, KY)
Look No Further Than Bobbi's Foundations
Date: January 24, 2014
"I have tried so many premier foundations over the years and none of them comes close to Bobbi Brown. I don't care which ones get awards or which are the personal favorites of makeup artists...if the colors are even just a bit off...then everything else doesn't matter. What does matter is that you get the foundation that best suits your skin and makes it glow while also looking like skin. Bobbi makes these promises and totally delivers. This foundation as well as all of her other formulas are outstanding. If you are looking for the "holy grail" of foundation...Bobbi's are it. I wouldn't consider using anything else b/c anytime I am wearing Bobbi's foundations, I feel completely comfortable and confident that everything is a perfect match and looks like my own skin! I never have to worry about a "demarcation" line or unevenness or a color change...everything looks so flawless and natural. I don't know what I would do without BB makeup!"
Review 16 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Ir8gyrl
(New York, NY)
Subtle
Date: March 17, 2014
"Beautiful coverage without the heavy cake look that some other powder foundations can leave you looking. I went a shade deeper than my stick makeup for a perfect match."
Review 17 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Hilary
(Santa Maria,Ca)
Very nice foundation
Date: March 13, 2014
Pros: Oily Skin, smooth & blends well
Cons: nice foundation
"This foundation is very nice, smooth & soft on skin, not cakey etc. If you are in need of alot of coverage I would try the cream to powder one though but nonetheless this one is nice & blends well, great for oily skin"
Review 18 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bbfanforever
(Lancaster, TX)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Olive
My eyes are Green
Best Foundation I Have Ever Put On My Face!
Date: April 19, 2011
Pros: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"Ok ladies, I waited and waited for the debut of this foundation. I called Nordstroms and Neiman's every week until they got this product in. I don't understand the negative reviews. Possibly you all have really dry skin and this foundation is not for you to begin with but everyone else who is blessed enough to be able to wear it will be in heaven once you put it on your face. I have used some of the most expensive foundations on the market. I always come back to Bobbi's line because she is unsurpassed in quality and the available shades. She puts a lot of work in her colors and it shows. So if you have not found the perfect foundation and you are not dry, this is the perfect foundation for you. The coverage can be full to sheer. I guarantee that you will absolutely love this product. It's the best foundation that I have ever put on my face! Bobbi, you always out do yourself and this is no exception. We love you for your dedication to quality and perfection of your products. Thank you!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Radiogirl
(Portland, OR)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Green
Best ever for oily skin!
Date: December 12, 2010
Pros: Oily Skin, Dull Skin, Combination Skin, oily skin mature skin will love this
Cons: Can't live without, best foundation ever for oily skin
"I was skeptical when I tried this product as no foundation has ever completely worked on my oily, mature skin. This is FANTASTIC!! I love it. I put it on with a brush for every day use and the mattifying effects last and last and last. Not only that, my skin looks perfected-no lines or blemishes...what more could mature oily skin ask for? Oh yea, it feels like you have nothing on your skin...so lightweight. I've used powder foundations before that looked and felt heavy, caked in lines, emphasized pores and/or changed color...but this formula is the best I've ever used. I will definitely be buying this again and recommending to friends! Love, love, LOVE this product!! Thank you Bobbi Brown for finally making a the best foundation not just for oily skin, but for grown up oily skin!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Illuminating Finish Powder Compact Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:QTenn
(Portland, OR)
My new favorite foundation
Date: July 20, 2012
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"I have used BB's foundation stick (which is my absolute favorite) and the oil-free compact foundation, which was the very first foundation I tried from BB's cosmetics. This illuminating foundation is wonderful and has become another favorite of mine. I have combination skin and it controls that stubborn oil shine that I get on my forehead, a bit on my cheek and chin. I absolutely love this product and it works for me. Thank you Bobbi Brown Cosmetics. :-)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>