Customer Reviews for Artist Palette for Lips

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bobbi Brown.

Artist Palette for Lips

Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 22(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Artist Palette for Lips
Review 1 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Zinc
Location:SF Bay Area, CA

The Be-All and End-All of Lip Palettes

I bought this lip palette for personal use since I don't wear the same make-up look everyday and I needed the variety of lip colors this palette provides. From the comfort of my own home I can explore new color combinations. Just like a book, you can't judge a lip color by simply looking at the product. You have to try it on!
Personally, I don't have a problem with colors looking underpowered or needing lip gloss to make it work. The Creamy Lip Colors are sheer, but that's how they are anyways. The Lip Color and Rich Lip Color shades come out with expected color payout. For example, the Blondie Pink looks the same out of the pan as it does off the tube I already owned.
As for the palette itself, it has been very portable. It is the size of a birthday card but it fits neatly in my purse without much extra weight. The brush is also short-handled which makes it easier to maneuver around the mouth and slip into a make-up bag. It comes with a lip brush that is surprisingly efficient at pulling up product despite it's small head size. The brush comes to a tapered point that has been invaluable for laying down a beautiful line into the corners/sides of my lips.
Overall, This personal indulgence has been very rewarding! Each well just gives and gives and gives. So far, I've worn Carnation 4 times this spring at full strength/opacity and I haven't yet hit the pan.
Pros: personal use, professional use, sampling, daytime looks, nighttime looks, all skin tones, travel
Cons: amazing, great gift, professional, versatile, portable, an indulgence
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:mbeek
Location:San Francisco, CA

Makeup Artist Dream

As a makeup artist - this kit does not disappoint. and has saved me many times. When people see their updated look, or their wedding look, or whatever look they come asking for my expertise - they inevitably want to buy the products I'm using.
The colors are lovely and lasting. And my clients can feel free to go an purchase on their own, which is a huge plus.
If you are working as a makeup artist - I highly recommend you to check this out. It is wonderful and everything is right at your fingertips.
Pros: makeup artists
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:LLVV

Useful and pretty

My husband bought this palette for my birthday. I was so excited to see such a palette offered. I am a big fan of Bobbi Brown's eyeshadows and could not wait to try out her lipsticks.
I researched this palette online and found a bunch of swatches from the previous palette. Initially when I started using the palette I was disappointed because I could not get any of the colors to show up on my light pink lips. I tried various brushes and even a lipgloss wand. Nothing worked. I was about to return this when I decided to try one more thing...lipgloss. I lightly applied a clear lipgloss and then applied with the included brush one of the lipstick shades that previously did not show up. Voila! It worked! The texture of these lipsticks is very dry which is why I think a little bit of lubricant or lip primer is needed to get them to work. I am so happy I figured out how to use this because these colors are perfect for a casual mom who loves pretty makeup. I am thinking about ordering a second palette as backup because nothing like this is offered anywhere else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Clover1234
Location:Madison, WI

One of a Kind Lip Palette

This lip palette is just amazing. I am on my second one. The array of colors and formulas here is fabulous. When I bought my first one, I fell in LOVE with many of the colors and have since gone on to buy the full size tubes of individual lipsticks. You get to sample all of Bobbi's unique formulas here. Original Lip Color, Rich Lip Color, and Creamy Lip Color. If you are new to Bobbi's lip colors, this is a great palette to start with. It is great for travel since you never know what colors you might need or be in the mood for. I am not a professional makeup artist. I bought this for my own personal use. I can say enough great things about it. I find the lip colors very smooth and easy to apply and the colors stay on for a long time. Her lip colors offered here are very flattering for all skin tones. Now since I am using my second one, I have to consider buying a third.
Cons: Can't live without, one of a kind, great for those who are new to bobbi's lip colors
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: December 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:BridalFairy
Location:Rancho Viejo, Tx

Bridal Makeup

I'm a professional makeup artist and was looking for a palette to give me variety in colors to choose for each bridal look and this palette is my go to. I can mix colors to get the one desired. I just wish it was long wearing. Bought at pro price is fair.
Cons: every one
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:Mels
Location:San Diego, CA

Worth It!

As a professional makeup artist for the film and television industry I am constantly searching for great products to use on my clients. This Bobbi Brown Lip Palette is not only packed with amazing colors that look incredible on camera, but they are packaged in a palette, which cuts down on carrying individual tubes of lipstick and that saves space and time because I am not searching for the right color.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:BeautyBabble
Location:Richmond, VA

Big Bang for Your Bucks!

As a Makeup Artist, I am always looking for ways to minimize my kit. The majority of my work is in the bridal sector, therefore this provides me with a "one stop shop" for lip colors. Great addition to my kit!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:Wildlotus
Location:Toledo, OH

Worth It At Pro Price

It's nice having so many colors in one palette, however, I wouldn't recommend this at full price because the colors aren't very pigmented and you have to apply several layers for the color to show. Also, and this is personal preference, the lipsticks have an unpleasant, waxy taste which I don't care for but I know this doesn't bother most people. And the palette is very small. Closed, it is the size of my hand. Only a good investment at the pro price.
Pros: makeup artists
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:JennysBrides
Location:New York, NY

Love it!

This lip palette is fantastic for a makeup artist on the go. I was pleasantly surprised to find a full size lip brush in the box as well, which is not listed in the item description. Thanks BB!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Francess
Location:Orange County, CA

Not Just for Makeup Artists

I purchased this palette for personal use and am very pleased with it. The lipsticks are the same quality as the regular line and not at all sheer as some other reviewers complained. You get 54 1 grams pans of lipstick, most of which are part of the regular line, with a few colors from LE Collections. The packaging is compact and sturdy and comes with the Retractable Lip Brush ($26). BB's lipstick shades are very wearable and it is great fun to have so many colors to choose from. The initial cost is high, but considering the price of individual colors, it is a worthwhile purchase if you are the kind person who doesn't just wear one or two favorites but enjoys variety. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Ayari
Location:West New York, NJ

Saves space in kit but shades are really sheer

I love that this palette shows the names of the color in case my client wants to purchase it on her own. 54 shades at pro discount is a steal! My only concern is that I wish her lip colors weren't so sheer because you have to continue to reapply until the pigment really shows and you ultimately waste more product this way. Product development should consider more matte shades for future release palettes.
Pros: makeup artists, makeup pro
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Dayne
Location:New york

i love this palette period. the size was sorta disappointing due to the price. just wish there were more pigmented lighter colors instead of the dark colors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:missdallas
Location:Dallas, TX

Great, all-in-one palette!

What more can you need? This lip palette has every shade and color you need. You might not use every single color in the palette but you can mix and create your own shade and use a gloss to create extra shimmer or to tone down a shade. Great for MUAs. But if you are a makeup junkie, this is a great palette to own!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:dm2633
Location:Riverdale, NJ

just ok

While the range of colors is gorgeous, the wear is not. The colors are not very saturated, so everything tends to go on just like a tinted lip balm. While I understand her products are focused on the natural look, most women want some color in their lipstick!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:OnTheFence
Location:New York, NY

Beautiful colors... BUT

I love this palette. I went to see a makeup artist who had it and simply had to have my own. I loved it when it arrived, but the moment I opened it, a couple of the colors popped out. Not sure what the best thing is to make them stay in place now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:ProMUA
Location:Greenville, SC

So Many Color Options!

The colors go on very easily and you don't have to use a lot to get the true pigment! It will definitely last for a long time. Not to mention, it comes with a lip brush. Great purchase!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Anonymous
Location:Asheville

Fantastic!

I'm not sure why some people complain about this palette. It's fantastic, and it says that some of the lipsticks are sheer! LOL! I think this palette is perfect for the pro artist that wants everything in one. Yes, if you want to take a couple of hours and cut off lipsticks and put into palettes...go for it, but this looks sleek and clean. ;) Will definitely buy a new one soon!! AWESOME!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:charbear224

Ok...

The size. It's about the size of a greeting card. The weight of the package is heavy (which I appreciate) and it comes with a lip brush. It's a nice range of shades- wish there were more popping colors and sparkle but that's just me. The box I find is not so easy to open. The pink and black gift wrap it comes in is cute and a lovely gift to open. It's just ok. I'm happy to play with them but wasn't completely blown away.
Pros: newcomers pros
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:Anonyms
Location:Calif

Best investment in ages

I have both BB palettes - BBU and this lip one. By far, these have been the best investments I have made in my makeup "wardrobe" in ages. You have everything here - EVERYTHING thus eliminating the cost of buying some new shade, et al., and you can make your own... Which is a much better approach to makeup in general since skin changes constantly. Yes, you need to have an eye for color but that can be learned on at least a basic level.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Artist Palette for Lips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
Location:San Francisco, CA

WOW, this is all I could say when I saw this beauty in person. I owned and loved the previous version of the pro lip palette, but this new one even beats that: It is simply all the variety in lip stick shades and formulations a true makeup fan could ever ask for. Get it while you can, a real splurge but if you like experimenting and creating your own unique lip colors definitely worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>