Customer Reviews for SPF 50 Protective Face Base

SPF 50 Protective Face Base

Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
17 of 22(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Review 1 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: February 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:Hiker
Location:El Lago, TX
This product works well for: everyday
This product is: classic

Disappointing

After the Brightening SPF 50 Face Base was discontinued I gave this a try. It made my face sore because of the strong lavender scent and other irritating plant extracts. This is not a good choice for high altitudes or the beach. This would have been a slam-dunk as the formula is silky and easily absorbed, but the irritants are a no-no for any skin type.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:trevol
Location:Powell, WY

SPF 50 - yay!

Protecting your face with a high SPF is important so I was excited to find this and I love it! It's not a huge tube but I find it worth it as it's great for my face, melts into my skin rather than sitting on top like some sunscreens and I really like the mild scent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: June 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:bundysmom
Location:Las Vegas, NV

It's okay

I live in Vegas, so you know I need SPF practically year round. My skin type changes from combo/dry in winter to combo/oily in summer so when I saw there was an SPF version of Face Base I was excited.
Several people have written that this is not greasy. For me, it IS greasy. Very greasy. I have to apply powder immediately after application to tone down the shine. And that doesn't always help. Unfortunately, I don't use this daily. I only keep it onhand for when I go to the pool or will be active outside. This doesn't break me out like traditional drug store sunscreen does. And it smells sooo much better...not that familiar sunscreen smell.
It is a bright creamy white but no white residue once applied.
So I'll just stick to my summer routine without the Face Base: oil free tinted SPF moisturizer, a bit of bronzer, eyeliner & mascara and out the door I go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
Location:San Francisco, CA

Staple product in my skin care routine in the summer. The Protective Face Base SPF50 is a white lotion that absorbs rather quickly, does not leave a noticeable white cast and is not sticky or greasy. It feels very comfortable on my face and it does not break me out. Protection is excellent with the broad spectrum SPF50 filters it contains. I don't wear foundation, but a BB sales associate mentioned that this lotion is also an excellent primer under makeup. In short this is the best sunscreen I have ever used, and I have tried many.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:CaseyR
Location:Catonsville, MD

Nongreasy and NO White Residue

I have tried several facial sunscreens, and after applying always felt as though I looked like a ghost. And they often left my face feeling greasy. I recently received a sample of this, and I have to say I was VERY impressed. Not only was it absorbed quickly, and left no white residue on my face, it also didn't leaving me feeling oily. I apply this after I moisturize and before I put any BB/CC Cream or Foundation. My skin looks absolutely amazing! I am a fan of the higher SPF because I want to prevent any sun damage.
Pros: Dry Skin, extra protection
Cons: Can't live without, not greasy, a good primer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:BigDBobbiWearer
Location:Dallas

Nongreasy with high SPF protection

I absolutely love this product. I just started wearing it about 1 month ago and LOVE it. I love that it is a high SPF cream for every day use that doesn't feel greasy or too heavy. Other 45 and higher SPF products I have tried seemed thick, greasy, and some even left a white hue to my skin; not so with this product. I am a big fan and have been telling my friends & family about this lotion. The only negative that I can think of is the scent--although I actually like it, I feel like it may bother some people.
Pros: anyone wanting to prevent skin damage!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:CynnaK
Location:Sedona, AZ

Does not work with my skin

I tried this product upon the recommendation of the OC after the Protective Face Lotion with SPF 25 was discontinued. I have very sensitive skin and have a very difficult time finding spf products that don't irritate my skin. Unfortunately this product makes my skin break out in painful red bumps (not acne) so I will be returning it. I have already tried the tinted moisturizers with spf and they don't work for me so now I will try moisturizing balm with spf and hope it works for me. I really do wish Bobbi would bring back the Protective Face Lotion with spf 15 as this was the one product I found after years of trying that worked for my skin.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Makeuplady4
Location:Prairie Village KS

Perfect Sunscreen

I am so glad BB brought this back. I love this sunscreen . It really does protect your skin. If you use it daily you will actually go down 1 shade in foundation. It will not leave your face greasy or have a white cast. The best thing is you can layer this over your normal BB cream or in the summer if your skin is oily it can be used alone with your serum. I can't say enough good things about this sunscreen.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:cakeshopper
Location:san francisco, ca

Best Product of its kind

I think over the last few years I have tried EVERY primer/SPF product.. They all pale in comparison. I love that I can skip a step & beef up my spf coverage for the summer...
Thanks Bobbi !
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:janebarb
Location:Westfield, New Jersey

Great Sun Protection for Face

I first received this as a sample and liked the feel on my face however, I was hesitant to purchase it due to the price. I am glad I did buy it. So far I have used it on days when I am going to be in the sun for an extended period of time. I use it over the Extra Serum and my skin feels hydrated and protected without that heavy sunscreen feeling. A little concealer and bronzer and I'm done.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:PaulaA

LOVE IT

Perfect base cream year round! I use it as a daily mositurizer, feels light, and is not greasy. To me is a primer, moisturizer and high SPF protection IN ONE!! I cant live without it, i was diagnosed with skin lupus (discoid lupus) and this has been my solution to protect my skin year round! THANK YOU BOBBI!!!!!!!
Pros: Oily Skin
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Swanlady
Location:Plymouth ma

Simply the best

Tried this product beginning of summer and it is absolutely wonderful. It not only offers protection but is a primer as well, if you use it under foundation it gives a lovely glow and does not look greasy. I cannot do without this one. I play golf and know my skin is not only protected but looks healthy and radiant. Thank you not only for protective face base but all the other wonderful products you offer.
Pros: everyone
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date: October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:trace

Disappointing

The Face Base made my face very shiny, highlighting wrinkles and pores, not a very attractive look. I have dry to normal skin so I'm not sure why this product works so poorly for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:bko57
Location:Texas

Best BB Sunscreen Ever!

I love this product. I am pale-skinned and need a 50 SPF sunscreen, and this is the best I've tried. It's non-greasy, has no funny smell, and it moisturizes beautifully!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:shareberry

perfect skin

I use it as both moisturizer/primer in the morning and my make up looks amazing. It's matte but a nice youthful 'dewy' look. Absorbs quickly and make up applies a lot better.
Also got that spf which I really like.
Pros: lazy people, extra sun protection, applying make up
Cons: Can't live without, amazing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:ColoradoLady
Location:Silverthorne CO

still sore 2 days later

I applied this liberally---put on a lot---in the AM. Then I did some gardening and walked the dog. I was outside maybe 2-3 hours. My face was red and sore. Worst sunscreen product I've ever used. And here at 9300' we are careful to use it and use it a lot.
I cannot believe this is what Bobbi uses in Telluride. It just doesn't do the job.
Pros: nothing
Cons: ineffectual
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:bobbinista
Location:Murfreesboro, TN

A Must Have!

This is what I have been waiting for! On the advice of my dermatologist, I need a sunscreen daily. Until now, I had to use a sunscreen, wait until it absorbed, then put a primer on top of that to keep my makeup from absorbing into the sunscreen. Now, thanks to Bobbi, I can moisturize, apply the Protective Face Base, then put my foundation on. It acts as a sunscreen/primer in one, and my makeup looks beautiful all day, plus I am protected from sun damage. This is fabulous!!! Thanks, Bobbi!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Roseta
Location:NJ

Summer must have!

This is an amazing base for my foundation...gives a lot of sun protection and doesn't break me out. I am fair and need a very high SPF and this does it for me. I hope this stays around it would be a loss it wasn't!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:missdallas
Location:Dallas, TX

Not your ordinary SPF!

I hate using SPFs bc it makes your makeup run, it never absorbs and it's way too greasy for me and makes my foundation look too light so this wasn't in my makeup up/ skincare routine until I gave this a try and read the reviews. I will say that it is one of the BEST SPF face creams on the market that does NOT interfere with your foundation application and staying power. It is absorbed quickly and you feel dewy even if you wore this alone. Definitely a keeper!
Pros: with foundation!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SPF 50 Protective Face Base
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:1stchair
Location:Wimberley, Texas

Prime & Protect in one step!

I'm so glad this product is back! This new formula is more of a primer than the previous version. It disappears into your skin and makes a great base layer for any of the foundations. The best part is getting SPF 50 with absolutely no stinging or irritation. This goes on my "can't live without" Bobbi Brown skincare product list.
Pros: everyone needing spf
Cons: dependable protection from sun damage!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>