Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Lip Color or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top-Rated Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sheer Lip Color

Average Customer Rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
56 of 65(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sheer Lip Color
Review 1 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:DesertGypsy
(Desert)
Passion fruit POW!
Date: May 29, 2014
"I got two of the passion fruit sheer lip colors as a surprise gift with past purchases. I will agree with many other reviews, this product name is very misleading. These are not sheer at all! These are lightweight, that would be a more accurate description. And these are highly pigmented. So much so that I look like a clown if I put it all over my lips.
However, if I put a small amount in center on each lip, and smack my lips together and then put clear lipgloss over the top, it is probably the prettiest lip color I have ever worn.
I have fair, freckled skin that is cool to neutral tone and dark brown hair. I am pretty natural and have never liked bright lips. I always used mauve and rose lip and cheek colors. I find now at 50 that i now need clearer, fresher colors to brighten my skin and face. I have medium natural lip color and very thin lips, so can't handle dark colors that make my thin lips thinner looking!
Gave one to friend with fair to medium skin that has a lot of yellow in it. It turned shocking coral on her and she hated the color but loved the texture of it.
So, all of this said, I recommend it, but just expect a lot of color, unless you use very sparingly and then it is so fresh and fantastic!"
Review 2 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:jlane
(Orlando, FL)
I'm in love!
Date: November 6, 2013
"I have been a long time fan of the Creamy Matte lip colors by Bobbi Brown. I went online to find a new color in the matte finish and happened to see the sheer lip colors. Despite a few negative reviews, I decided to give these a try. In fact, I was so excited, that I skipped online ordering and went straight to the Bobbi Brown counter. While I still like the matte finish of my former favorite, I feel like the sheer finish looks a little less "made up." I bought 2 sheer lip colors: Bobbi and Cherry Pink. I love them both. To all the reviewers that say that the name is misleading, this is not a STAIN! So yes, it's creamy and has somewhat of a glossy finish. It's not as sheer as a lip balm. But the colors are AMAZING and last through my entire work day! Please don't ever discontinue #a few of my Bobbi Brown favorites have been discontinued...and I'm still scarred!#
The sales associate at the Bobbi Brown counter told me that the 3 most popular colors are Bobbi, Cherry Red, and Carolina. So if you're wanting to try these out, any one of those is probably a great starting point.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:TrixieTrixie
(Raleigh, NC)
Not sheer
Date: April 15, 2013
Cons: not sheer
"I have to say that I'm rather disappointed with this lipstick. I'm a fan of sheer lipsticks and this isn't sheer at all. It feels (and wears) like regular ol' lipstick to me. It doesn't have that silky glide that sheer lipsticks typically do. Instead it "grabs" at the lip a bit when applied. I didn't find Ballet Pink to be neutral at all--it has a touch of apricot in it that just didn't work on my fair skin tone. Again, so disappointed by this lipstick."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:gale2
(atlanta, georgia)
Sheer Lip Color
Date: July 23, 2014
Cons: Can't live without, long lasting, stays put, beautiful shades
"This is not exactly a "sheer" lip color I would call it maybe a lip stain. It does have true color and for a sheer lipstick it stays put for hours. The colors are amazing , the pink rose is a beautiful shade. It's called a sheer lip color but its a beautiful lip stain that I don't have to apply every 30 minutes. I love this lip color and I'm going to try the other shades."
Review 5 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:augie
(Alliance, Ohio)
Perfect color
Date: July 23, 2014
"I bought the sheer lip color in "Bobbi" and love it! The shade is perfect for me...very natural looking.
It feels great on my lips. Could last a bit longer, but I love it anyway.
"
Review 6 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Winston
(Arcadia CA)
Smooth and Shear
Date: July 23, 2014
Pros: easy for light summer look.
Cons: very handy.
"Very sheer but still lots of color - very nice!! Decently priced as well."
Review 7 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:SarasotaGirl
(Sarasota, FL)
Sheer?
Date: April 27, 2013
"These are nice lipsticks but they are not sheer colors. As a matter of fact there is more color to the ballet pink in this "sheer formula" than in the creamy lip color "pink ballet" that I also own. The title on these lipsticks are really misleading and think they may have just wanted to make new colors and should have left them in the category of the creamy lips colors instead."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:MUjunkie
(Parsippany, NJ)
I like it.
Date: June 21, 2014
"I bought this lipstick because of the raves i've been hearing about it.. It's got a nice texture. It isn't drying. It's definitely not sheer for me. It's a brighter shade which is why I only gave it 4 stars. I guess it's not for me. I lean more towards nude and natural shades. If I was in to brighter colors, i would recommend this. I can probably wear it during the spring and summer months. What i have been doing is putting a nude lip gloss over this to kind of tone it down and voila, solve my problem!"
Review 9 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:manini
(Greenwich, CT)
Great lipstick, but not that sheer!
Date: April 12, 2013
"This lipstick formula is terrific. I purchased the shade "Bobbi." But it's not all that sheer. It is fairly opaque, and has a creamy texture with a natural matte finish. Typically when I think sheer lipstick I am expecting something more transparent and much glossier in finish. This formula might be misnamed, but that's the only problem. It is a very nice lipstick and will be a staple for me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Skippy
(Eden Prairie, MN)
Sheer Beauty
Date: December 23, 2013
"Was looking for new color to fill blanks in my lip arsenal and opted for Bobbi and Carolina just seeing the swatches online. Turns out I love them both - formula and color. Very easy to wear. I agree with points to all positive reviews. For reference my coloring is light skin with brown hair and eyes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Anonymous
(Phoenix, AZ)
Nice colors, not as sheer as hoped
Date: April 13, 2013
"I was so excited to get these I ordered online. I am slightly disappointed the color is not very sheer. Cherry Pink and Blossom Pink are great colors though."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bexxpurp
(Ca)
Amazing!!
Date: April 14, 2014
Pros: all ages
Cons: Can't live without, amazing
"I love this lip product. I did not order it but received it as a sample in the mail with my last order (um amazing sample btw bb staff! you guys always give good samples!) I have always wanted a sheer lip color, but in my definition sheer meaning very light weight, feeling non-existent on my lips, but still a good amount of color and voila here it is!! it felt really good on my lips, and provided the right amount of color to my lips. I got the color passion fruit, perfect for spring and summer! I want to order them all ha ha. Perfect every day lip colors!!"
Review 13 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Slate
(Las Vegas, NV)
Love the shade "Bobbi"
Date: April 19, 2014
"I don't find the Sheer Lip Color to be particularly sheer, but I like it very much. I got the color "Bobbi" which is my new favorite shade. It doesn't surprise me that Bobbi Brown put her name on this one. It is a wonderful nude shade that looks great with everything."
Review 14 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
(San Francisco, CA)
They are back!
Date: April 18, 2013
"I am pleased to see that the Sheer Lipsticks are back and that they are now offered in a broader range of shades, even some shimmery shades. After sampling a few colors at the BB counter I commented to the associate that to me they appear to be the same formula as the previous sheers that were discontinued a few years ago - in a sleeker, updated packaging. She confirmed that indeed it is the same formula, so I am glad to see some more bright shades in addition to the tried and true staples. I agree with the previous reviewers that these sheer lipsticks have some color payoff, but by no means did they give me opaque coverage like the regular Lip Color line or the Rich Color shades. I have very pigmented lips so in my case the fact that these sheers give me some color payoff and still let my natural lip color show through is a major plus and therefore the formula works perfectly for me. Many other sheer formulas that I have tried were too sheer, or just too greasy for my liking, the result was that I saw basically no impact on my lips and the little color that was there was gone within an hour of wear. So far I have purchased Bobbi and Nude Beige and both look good against my cool toned light skin. I use these shades as a very subtle enhancement when I want a low key look, for instance on weekends. Wear time of the sheers is obviously shorter than a regular full coverage lipstick but on me they last a good two hours, and the feel on my lips is comfortable, the formula is non drying. Highly recommended for ladies with pigmented lips for a natural look. The packaging is elegant and sturdy, and I like the slanted opening which makes application on the go a breeze, even without a mirror."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Amounaa
(Saida, Lebanon)
Love it .....
Date: April 14, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"i loved it
the passion fruit color is amazing, and this product keeps my lips moisturized and look amazing
everyone saw me wearing it kept asking where did u get it :)
"
Review 16 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:MLSudz
(North Fairfield, OH)
Nice, Quality Lipstick
Date: March 10, 2014
"First, I want to say how much I love the shape of this lipstick! It so easy to apply and in all honesty, this is how my lipsticks wear, so its cool that the bullet is 'supported' by the case! (I sure hope that makes sense!) As far as the coverage, its a little thicker to me than a sheer lipstick, but that's okay because I LOVE how long the color stays! It is a little bolder than I thought it would be, but its easy to soften by gently blotting it and applying a little gloss! A little goes a long way! I'll be back for more!"
Review 17 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:stellaglo
(burlington, vermont)
needs a new name
Date: March 12, 2014
"this is not a sheer lip color. i tried several colors, all were very well pigmented. i ordered it in the ballet pink, expecting sheer balmy lip color in neutral pink. i got a dry filmy coral pink. i had to remove it as it was drying out my lips. however, other colors i tried; carolina and pink rose, were creamy and buttery, but again, deeply pigmented.
not a real winner for BB.
"
Review 18 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Hilofdreams
(SW, MI)
Great formula
Date: April 30, 2013
Cons: Can't live without
"I bought this lip color in ballet pink. I love sheer lip colors because they are so easy-you can apply them without a mirror when you're on the go, and they also feel great on the lips. This sheer lip color from Bobbi is my new favorite sheer. It glides on so smoothly and evenly, has a very slightly glossy finish, and is not completely translucent-there is the perfect amount of color payoff. Staying power was great, too, especially for a sheer. I applied this lipstick in the morning, went about my hectic day, which included many sips from a water bottle, as well as talking, etc., and four hours later it was still on. You'll definitely want to follow Bobbi's rule to get a color close to your natural lip color, only brighter, because it will show through with this lip color. I plan to buy several more of the shades, especially with Summer approaching when I don't really want heavy lipstick."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Designerinpa
(Harrisburg, PA)
Love this Lip Color
Date: March 15, 2014
Pros: my skintone
Cons: Can't live without, this line of product
"Love this lip color. Unfortunately there is no store near my region. I shop when I am out in Ca and used the website when I saw the sale. Love this product. Got enough for a year now."
Review 20 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:maryboo
(virginia beach, va)
Date: March 15, 2014
"I was thinking sheer. This is not a bad lipstick and the color is fine for Spring, but it is certainly not "sheer lip color". This is fully opaque lipstick."
1 2 3 4 next>>