Customer Reviews for Sheer Lip Color

Sheer Lip Color

Average Customer Rating:
4.349 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
5
73 of 83(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sheer Lip Color
Review 1 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date: April 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:testingrn
Location:Middletown, ct
This product is: creamy

Which color won't turn orangey on me?

I'm so disappointed about how poorly Bobbi's colors look on my skintone! Frustrating. Have tried so many lip colors over the years - all but one or two have looked too warm/orangey/chalky/clashy on me. I'm fair-light white with cool undertones, green eyes, dark blonde ashy hair color. I've loved the way the lip color ballet pink (from a former palette compact) looks on me, so bought the new sheer lip color in ballet pink, it's like I rubbed a creamy pencil eraser with a creamsicle on my lips. Loved the Lilac Rich color lipstick, tried lilac pink in the new sheer color lipstick and again, an old-fashioned pink erasure on my lips. The new sheer lipstick in blushed pink is described as a blue-tone pink. It looks like a pale reddish-orange on me! Ugh! The POSITIVE note: the formula is creamy smooth, feels good on the lips, good color pay-off even if not good color. It's what keeps me coming back and trying again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:rebeccameredith
This product works well for: everyone
This product is: amazing

Just perfect

I have three of the shades now and am ordering a fourth!
The shade representation is very good here - the lipstick is pigment packed but sheer, which is very interesting.
It leaves behind a nice stain and feels very good on the lips. Moisture without tackiness, almost like a smooth satin matte with a bit more of a gloss.
In this formula, you can probably wear shades that you might otherwise shy away from.
Love these!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:LMcMa

Did Find this Sheer

I don't know if I just got lucky with my shade, but I did find this to be a sheer color. I'm usually a BB lip gloss gal, but I was looking for a sheer, natural, pink color for work . The online consultant recommended a new color, Pink Taffy. It was exactly what I was looking for. It said it was a "new" color, so maybe they have adjusted the pigmentation based on feedback that this formula wasn't really sheer? I'm fair haired, fair complected and found that one coat of Pink Taffy was just right for a light, polished look. Also gave good, Chapstick-like moisture. I would buy again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: December 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:aolaw
Location:Brooklyn, NY

Hard to judge color from website

I like Bobbi Brown products a lot, but there are some things you should not buy over the web, and lipstick is one of them. You simply cannot judge the color from the website and there are no returns. This color appears a lot more pinkish than the color swatch lets on on the website.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Anonyms
Location:Calif

Almost Perfect

Hands down the most comfortable pigmented lip product i have ever used. Everything elee out there claiming to be moisturizing, etc. pales compared to this formila. Only minus on this is the lack of a good solid red (like her Hollywood or Burnt Red) and, more importantly, SPF ingredients. The latter is a major minus as the lips are the most vulnerable re sun damage and every dermatologist strongly recommends sun protection on the lips 24/7 all year round regardless the weather. So wear an SPF rated balm underneath (Bobbi unfortunately does not make one in stick form any more and her pigmented lip products I find to be too drying).
This lip product is particularly great for mature skin. It is as described.
Pros: mature skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Cate0732
Location:Lincoln, RI

Perfect moisturizing lip gloss

This is my fourth sheer lip color. I love the formula. I bought the shade bobbi and it's perfect. I own ballet pink and nude beige and I love all of them
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:Calli
Location:Tampa, Florida
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: amazing

Excellent formula!

I love this formula because it is very moisturizing and fairly long wearing. I bought the shade "Tutu" , and while it looks quite dark on the website it really is a lovely color for me, and I am fair skinned with blonde hair and hazel eyes. I don't go for bold colors but there are definitively some of those in the lineup as well. I just tried on Pink Buff at a store and have it on order- that one is a beautiful pink and Peach is also a good color for my skin tone. Good job Bobbi! Can't wait for even more shades, particularly in the nude pink range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:zengirl
Location:Lincoln, NE

Try Black Plum!

The sheer lip color is light and moist. Feels great! Consider trying the color Black Plum. It looks dark in the tube - but isn't dark when it goes on.
Pros: people who don't want a heavy lip color
Cons: easy to apply and wear
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:Makeup Maven
Location:Mobile, AL
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: classic

Stays on well!

I have a hard time finding a lipstick that looks good on me. Until now. Carolina is absolutely perfect for me. I am fair with dark hair and brown eyes. This lipstick always looks good and it's moisturizing with a great color payoff, even though it's sheer. Please don't discontinue!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:TrixieTrixie
Location:Raleigh, NC

Not sheer

I have to say that I'm rather disappointed with this lipstick. I'm a fan of sheer lipsticks and this isn't sheer at all. It feels (and wears) like regular ol' lipstick to me. It doesn't have that silky glide that sheer lipsticks typically do. Instead it "grabs" at the lip a bit when applied. I didn't find Ballet Pink to be neutral at all--it has a touch of apricot in it that just didn't work on my fair skin tone. Again, so disappointed by this lipstick.
Cons: not sheer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: April 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:Jayhawkgal
Location:Lawrence, KS

Not as described

I ordered this in ballet pink. The color was not sheer - it was more like the creamy lip color and it had no shine. It was completely matte. A total disappointment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:manini
Location:Greenwich, CT

Great lipstick, but not that sheer!

This lipstick formula is terrific. I purchased the shade "Bobbi." But it's not all that sheer. It is fairly opaque, and has a creamy texture with a natural matte finish. Typically when I think sheer lipstick I am expecting something more transparent and much glossier in finish. This formula might be misnamed, but that's the only problem. It is a very nice lipstick and will be a staple for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:DesertGypsy
Location:Desert

Passion fruit POW!

I got two of the passion fruit sheer lip colors as a surprise gift with past purchases. I will agree with many other reviews, this product name is very misleading. These are not sheer at all! These are lightweight, that would be a more accurate description. And these are highly pigmented. So much so that I look like a clown if I put it all over my lips.
However, if I put a small amount in center on each lip, and smack my lips together and then put clear lipgloss over the top, it is probably the prettiest lip color I have ever worn.
I have fair, freckled skin that is cool to neutral tone and dark brown hair. I am pretty natural and have never liked bright lips. I always used mauve and rose lip and cheek colors. I find now at 50 that i now need clearer, fresher colors to brighten my skin and face. I have medium natural lip color and very thin lips, so can't handle dark colors that make my thin lips thinner looking!
Gave one to friend with fair to medium skin that has a lot of yellow in it. It turned shocking coral on her and she hated the color but loved the texture of it.
So, all of this said, I recommend it, but just expect a lot of color, unless you use very sparingly and then it is so fresh and fantastic!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: July 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:gale2
Location:atlanta, georgia

Sheer Lip Color

This is not exactly a "sheer" lip color I would call it maybe a lip stain. It does have true color and for a sheer lipstick it stays put for hours. The colors are amazing , the pink rose is a beautiful shade. It's called a sheer lip color but its a beautiful lip stain that I don't have to apply every 30 minutes. I love this lip color and I'm going to try the other shades.
Cons: Can't live without, long lasting, stays put, beautiful shades
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:stpgirl1
Location:Eden, NC
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: creamy

Love!

I just got the orange...it is awesome! So creamy and not too sheer...in between a lipstick & gloss. I will definitely be purchasing more colors!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:SarasotaGirl
Location:Sarasota, FL

Sheer?

These are nice lipsticks but they are not sheer colors. As a matter of fact there is more color to the ballet pink in this "sheer formula" than in the creamy lip color "pink ballet" that I also own. The title on these lipsticks are really misleading and think they may have just wanted to make new colors and should have left them in the category of the creamy lips colors instead.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:jlane
Location:Orlando, FL

I'm in love!

I have been a long time fan of the Creamy Matte lip colors by Bobbi Brown. I went online to find a new color in the matte finish and happened to see the sheer lip colors. Despite a few negative reviews, I decided to give these a try. In fact, I was so excited, that I skipped online ordering and went straight to the Bobbi Brown counter. While I still like the matte finish of my former favorite, I feel like the sheer finish looks a little less "made up." I bought 2 sheer lip colors: Bobbi and Cherry Pink. I love them both. To all the reviewers that say that the name is misleading, this is not a STAIN! So yes, it's creamy and has somewhat of a glossy finish. It's not as sheer as a lip balm. But the colors are AMAZING and last through my entire work day! Please don't ever discontinue #a few of my Bobbi Brown favorites have been discontinued...and I'm still scarred!#
The sales associate at the Bobbi Brown counter told me that the 3 most popular colors are Bobbi, Cherry Red, and Carolina. So if you're wanting to try these out, any one of those is probably a great starting point.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: August 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:MissKris
Location:Boston, MA

Goes on smoothly and stays put!

Lovely creaminess, color is sheer, but matted, so it stays put. Highly moisturizing, an essential nude. Recommend trying color at the store, the shade was not quite what I expected ordering online without trying first, but am satisfied with the color, but would have gone a bit darker than what I ordered. (Ballet Pink). Recommend online purchase if you already know what the color looks like on you!
Pros: sunmer sheer coverage that keeps lips moist
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Anonymous
Location:Phoenix, AZ

Nice colors, not as sheer as hoped

I was so excited to get these I ordered online. I am slightly disappointed the color is not very sheer. Cherry Pink and Blossom Pink are great colors though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
Location:San Francisco, CA

They are back!

I am pleased to see that the Sheer Lipsticks are back and that they are now offered in a broader range of shades, even some shimmery shades. After sampling a few colors at the BB counter I commented to the associate that to me they appear to be the same formula as the previous sheers that were discontinued a few years ago - in a sleeker, updated packaging. She confirmed that indeed it is the same formula, so I am glad to see some more bright shades in addition to the tried and true staples. I agree with the previous reviewers that these sheer lipsticks have some color payoff, but by no means did they give me opaque coverage like the regular Lip Color line or the Rich Color shades. I have very pigmented lips so in my case the fact that these sheers give me some color payoff and still let my natural lip color show through is a major plus and therefore the formula works perfectly for me. Many other sheer formulas that I have tried were too sheer, or just too greasy for my liking, the result was that I saw basically no impact on my lips and the little color that was there was gone within an hour of wear. So far I have purchased Bobbi and Nude Beige and both look good against my cool toned light skin. I use these shades as a very subtle enhancement when I want a low key look, for instance on weekends. Wear time of the sheers is obviously shorter than a regular full coverage lipstick but on me they last a good two hours, and the feel on my lips is comfortable, the formula is non drying. Highly recommended for ladies with pigmented lips for a natural look. The packaging is elegant and sturdy, and I like the slanted opening which makes application on the go a breeze, even without a mirror.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>