Customer Reviews for Sheer Lip Color

Sheer Lip Color

Average Customer Rating:
4.374 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (91 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
5
81 of 91(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sheer Lip Color
Review 1 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 9, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Longueuil, QC, Canada
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: long-lasting
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

I love this lip color! (Although it is not sheer)

I love this lipstick! It feels so nice on the lips! Its soft, not sticky, and stays on really well! It is really nice color and great coverage. If you are looking for a sheer lip balm kind of lipstick, this is not it. But it is definitely one of my favorite lipstick formulas.
I got mine in Tutu and it is a nice pink coral color. I have medium-light skin, dark brown hair and dark brown eyes. This colour really gives me nice colouring as an everyday lipstick. I love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 20, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Dallas, TX
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: classic
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Lightweight but good color

I sometimes find that sheer lip colors just don't stay on well, or that they don't provide enough color. That is not the case with Bobbi's sheer lip color! I have worn it almost everyday since I received it, it stays on well and is the perfect weight. I love the Melba color for a peachy springtime look.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: October 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:East coast
This product works well for: anyone
This product is: long-lasting
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

A sheer formula with great staying power

I am fair skinned with blonde hair and blue eyes and wanted something in the plum family for fall (I use lipstick to suit my mood from nudes to bold) and the Bobbi Brown makeup artist suggested Carolina for me. It packs a punch, and I love the formulation. If you're on the fence about the sheer aspect of it, it's very forgiving like a sheer lip color, but sticks. I blot it on for a quick stain, and if I want more of a bold, glossy look, I'll apply it full on. So versatile and the colors are great. I'd expect nothing less from Bobbi!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: October 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Louisville, KY
This product works well for: everyone
This product is: classic

Beautiul, Natural

Love, love, love this lipstick! The BB rep at my local store suggested that I buy the Pink color b/c it will be discontinued and she said it looks great on everybody. She was completely right. Even though the formula is sheer, it's miraculously long-wearing -- after a while the color just sort of melts into your lips and makes your lips look as if you were "born with it". I am 40 now, so I need that glow...that "pop" of color that brings life back to my skin...this color does that without being overpowering or overdone. Can't brag enough about BB makeup it's Total Perfection!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 24, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Kimberton, PA
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: amazing
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Awesome Color ~ Passion Fruit

I own many of Bobbi Brown's lipsticks and love them all! The color is always true to the description, they have a light feeling on your lips, and last for a long time!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Mobile, AL
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: classic

Stays on well!

I have a hard time finding a lipstick that looks good on me. Until now. Carolina is absolutely perfect for me. I am fair with dark hair and brown eyes. This lipstick always looks good and it's moisturizing with a great color payoff, even though it's sheer. Please don't discontinue!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
This product works well for: everyone
This product is: amazing

Just perfect

I have three of the shades now and am ordering a fourth!
The shade representation is very good here - the lipstick is pigment packed but sheer, which is very interesting.
It leaves behind a nice stain and feels very good on the lips. Moisture without tackiness, almost like a smooth satin matte with a bit more of a gloss.
In this formula, you can probably wear shades that you might otherwise shy away from.
Love these!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:

Did Find this Sheer

I don't know if I just got lucky with my shade, but I did find this to be a sheer color. I'm usually a BB lip gloss gal, but I was looking for a sheer, natural, pink color for work . The online consultant recommended a new color, Pink Taffy. It was exactly what I was looking for. It said it was a "new" color, so maybe they have adjusted the pigmentation based on feedback that this formula wasn't really sheer? I'm fair haired, fair complected and found that one coat of Pink Taffy was just right for a light, polished look. Also gave good, Chapstick-like moisture. I would buy again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Tampa, Florida
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: amazing

Excellent formula!

I love this formula because it is very moisturizing and fairly long wearing. I bought the shade "Tutu" , and while it looks quite dark on the website it really is a lovely color for me, and I am fair skinned with blonde hair and hazel eyes. I don't go for bold colors but there are definitively some of those in the lineup as well. I just tried on Pink Buff at a store and have it on order- that one is a beautiful pink and Peach is also a good color for my skin tone. Good job Bobbi! Can't wait for even more shades, particularly in the nude pink range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: December 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Brooklyn, NY

Hard to judge color from website

I like Bobbi Brown products a lot, but there are some things you should not buy over the web, and lipstick is one of them. You simply cannot judge the color from the website and there are no returns. This color appears a lot more pinkish than the color swatch lets on on the website.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Calif

Almost Perfect

Hands down the most comfortable pigmented lip product i have ever used. Everything elee out there claiming to be moisturizing, etc. pales compared to this formila. Only minus on this is the lack of a good solid red (like her Hollywood or Burnt Red) and, more importantly, SPF ingredients. The latter is a major minus as the lips are the most vulnerable re sun damage and every dermatologist strongly recommends sun protection on the lips 24/7 all year round regardless the weather. So wear an SPF rated balm underneath (Bobbi unfortunately does not make one in stick form any more and her pigmented lip products I find to be too drying).
This lip product is particularly great for mature skin. It is as described.
Pros: mature skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 23, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Circleville ohio
This product works well for: everyone
This product is: creamy
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Perfect summer color!

I am a sucker for the seasonal makeup collections and bought the beach nudes collection as soon as it came out. Being 46, I thought the pink gold might look too young with the shimmer but it actually looks very soft and summery. Beautiful!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date: April 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Middletown, ct
This product is: creamy

Which color won't turn orangey on me?

I'm so disappointed about how poorly Bobbi's colors look on my skintone! Frustrating. Have tried so many lip colors over the years - all but one or two have looked too warm/orangey/chalky/clashy on me. I'm fair-light white with cool undertones, green eyes, dark blonde ashy hair color. I've loved the way the lip color ballet pink (from a former palette compact) looks on me, so bought the new sheer lip color in ballet pink, it's like I rubbed a creamy pencil eraser with a creamsicle on my lips. Loved the Lilac Rich color lipstick, tried lilac pink in the new sheer color lipstick and again, an old-fashioned pink erasure on my lips. The new sheer lipstick in blushed pink is described as a blue-tone pink. It looks like a pale reddish-orange on me! Ugh! The POSITIVE note: the formula is creamy smooth, feels good on the lips, good color pay-off even if not good color. It's what keeps me coming back and trying again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
Response from Bobbi Brown:By Bobbi Brown ArtistBobbi BrownAugust 10, 2015
It's never our intention to disappoint and we're standing by to help. Let a Bobbi Brown Artist get a few more details so we can help find your perfect shades! Click the Live Chat icon for instant advice.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Desert

Passion fruit POW!

I got two of the passion fruit sheer lip colors as a surprise gift with past purchases. I will agree with many other reviews, this product name is very misleading. These are not sheer at all! These are lightweight, that would be a more accurate description. And these are highly pigmented. So much so that I look like a clown if I put it all over my lips.
However, if I put a small amount in center on each lip, and smack my lips together and then put clear lipgloss over the top, it is probably the prettiest lip color I have ever worn.
I have fair, freckled skin that is cool to neutral tone and dark brown hair. I am pretty natural and have never liked bright lips. I always used mauve and rose lip and cheek colors. I find now at 50 that i now need clearer, fresher colors to brighten my skin and face. I have medium natural lip color and very thin lips, so can't handle dark colors that make my thin lips thinner looking!
Gave one to friend with fair to medium skin that has a lot of yellow in it. It turned shocking coral on her and she hated the color but loved the texture of it.
So, all of this said, I recommend it, but just expect a lot of color, unless you use very sparingly and then it is so fresh and fantastic!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Lincoln, NE

Try Black Plum!

The sheer lip color is light and moist. Feels great! Consider trying the color Black Plum. It looks dark in the tube - but isn't dark when it goes on.
Pros: people who don't want a heavy lip color
Cons: easy to apply and wear
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: April 19, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Florida
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Great color but doesn't blend well

I purchased this in the tutu color. I am dark-olive toned skin and wear warm almond in the weightless foundation. I LOVE the color of this lipstick, but it doesn't blend well on my lips. I usually need to fill in the gaps with my lip pencil, which I own in nude. It is not long lasting either, but the color is great for summer. Just be ready to re-apply often if this will be your everyday lipstick!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
Response from Bobbi Brown:By Bobbi Brown ArtistBobbi BrownApril 21, 2016
Thanks for sharing your preferences and comments, Ezza! A Bobbi Brown Artist is standing by to help with long-wearing application tips or offer information on exchanges/returns. Click the Live Chat icon for instant help.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 20, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Seoul
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: cant't live without
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Perfect colour

This is like the colour I get with Benetint but in solid form. I love the colour, and the sheerness makes it the best mlbb ever. It is also quite moisturizing, and it does not have any distinct scent or taste. LOVE!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Greenwich, CT

Great lipstick, but not that sheer!

This lipstick formula is terrific. I purchased the shade "Bobbi." But it's not all that sheer. It is fairly opaque, and has a creamy texture with a natural matte finish. Typically when I think sheer lipstick I am expecting something more transparent and much glossier in finish. This formula might be misnamed, but that's the only problem. It is a very nice lipstick and will be a staple for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: April 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Lawrence, KS

Not as described

I ordered this in ballet pink. The color was not sheer - it was more like the creamy lip color and it had no shine. It was completely matte. A total disappointment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
Response from Bobbi Brown:By Bobbi Brown ArtistBobbi BrownAugust 10, 2015
It's never our intention to disappoint. Let a Bobbi Brown Artist help find your ideal formula and shade for your lips. Click the Live Chat icon for instant advice.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:San Francisco, CA

They are back!

I am pleased to see that the Sheer Lipsticks are back and that they are now offered in a broader range of shades, even some shimmery shades. After sampling a few colors at the BB counter I commented to the associate that to me they appear to be the same formula as the previous sheers that were discontinued a few years ago - in a sleeker, updated packaging. She confirmed that indeed it is the same formula, so I am glad to see some more bright shades in addition to the tried and true staples. I agree with the previous reviewers that these sheer lipsticks have some color payoff, but by no means did they give me opaque coverage like the regular Lip Color line or the Rich Color shades. I have very pigmented lips so in my case the fact that these sheers give me some color payoff and still let my natural lip color show through is a major plus and therefore the formula works perfectly for me. Many other sheer formulas that I have tried were too sheer, or just too greasy for my liking, the result was that I saw basically no impact on my lips and the little color that was there was gone within an hour of wear. So far I have purchased Bobbi and Nude Beige and both look good against my cool toned light skin. I use these shades as a very subtle enhancement when I want a low key look, for instance on weekends. Wear time of the sheers is obviously shorter than a regular full coverage lipstick but on me they last a good two hours, and the feel on my lips is comfortable, the formula is non drying. Highly recommended for ladies with pigmented lips for a natural look. The packaging is elegant and sturdy, and I like the slanted opening which makes application on the go a breeze, even without a mirror.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>