Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Top-Rated Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sheer Lip Color

Average Customer Rating:
4.322 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
50 of 59(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sheer Lip Color
Review 1 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:TrixieTrixie
(Raleigh, NC)
Not sheer
Date: April 15, 2013
Cons: not sheer
"I have to say that I'm rather disappointed with this lipstick. I'm a fan of sheer lipsticks and this isn't sheer at all. It feels (and wears) like regular ol' lipstick to me. It doesn't have that silky glide that sheer lipsticks typically do. Instead it "grabs" at the lip a bit when applied. I didn't find Ballet Pink to be neutral at all--it has a touch of apricot in it that just didn't work on my fair skin tone. Again, so disappointed by this lipstick."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:jlane
(Orlando, FL)
I'm in love!
Date: November 6, 2013
"I have been a long time fan of the Creamy Matte lip colors by Bobbi Brown. I went online to find a new color in the matte finish and happened to see the sheer lip colors. Despite a few negative reviews, I decided to give these a try. In fact, I was so excited, that I skipped online ordering and went straight to the Bobbi Brown counter. While I still like the matte finish of my former favorite, I feel like the sheer finish looks a little less "made up." I bought 2 sheer lip colors: Bobbi and Cherry Pink. I love them both. To all the reviewers that say that the name is misleading, this is not a STAIN! So yes, it's creamy and has somewhat of a glossy finish. It's not as sheer as a lip balm. But the colors are AMAZING and last through my entire work day! Please don't ever discontinue #a few of my Bobbi Brown favorites have been discontinued...and I'm still scarred!#
The sales associate at the Bobbi Brown counter told me that the 3 most popular colors are Bobbi, Cherry Red, and Carolina. So if you're wanting to try these out, any one of those is probably a great starting point.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bexxpurp
(Ca)
Amazing!!
Date: April 14, 2014
Pros: all ages
Cons: Can't live without, amazing
"I love this lip product. I did not order it but received it as a sample in the mail with my last order (um amazing sample btw bb staff! you guys always give good samples!) I have always wanted a sheer lip color, but in my definition sheer meaning very light weight, feeling non-existent on my lips, but still a good amount of color and voila here it is!! it felt really good on my lips, and provided the right amount of color to my lips. I got the color passion fruit, perfect for spring and summer! I want to order them all ha ha. Perfect every day lip colors!!"
Review 4 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Amounaa
(Saida, Lebanon)
Love it .....
Date: April 14, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"i loved it
the passion fruit color is amazing, and this product keeps my lips moisturized and look amazing
everyone saw me wearing it kept asking where did u get it :)
"
Review 5 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:SarasotaGirl
(Sarasota, FL)
Sheer?
Date: April 27, 2013
"These are nice lipsticks but they are not sheer colors. As a matter of fact there is more color to the ballet pink in this "sheer formula" than in the creamy lip color "pink ballet" that I also own. The title on these lipsticks are really misleading and think they may have just wanted to make new colors and should have left them in the category of the creamy lips colors instead."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:manini
(Greenwich, CT)
Great lipstick, but not that sheer!
Date: April 12, 2013
"This lipstick formula is terrific. I purchased the shade "Bobbi." But it's not all that sheer. It is fairly opaque, and has a creamy texture with a natural matte finish. Typically when I think sheer lipstick I am expecting something more transparent and much glossier in finish. This formula might be misnamed, but that's the only problem. It is a very nice lipstick and will be a staple for me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:MLSudz
(North Fairfield, OH)
Nice, Quality Lipstick
Date: March 10, 2014
"First, I want to say how much I love the shape of this lipstick! It so easy to apply and in all honesty, this is how my lipsticks wear, so its cool that the bullet is 'supported' by the case! (I sure hope that makes sense!) As far as the coverage, its a little thicker to me than a sheer lipstick, but that's okay because I LOVE how long the color stays! It is a little bolder than I thought it would be, but its easy to soften by gently blotting it and applying a little gloss! A little goes a long way! I'll be back for more!"
Review 8 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:stellaglo
(burlington, vermont)
needs a new name
Date: March 12, 2014
"this is not a sheer lip color. i tried several colors, all were very well pigmented. i ordered it in the ballet pink, expecting sheer balmy lip color in neutral pink. i got a dry filmy coral pink. i had to remove it as it was drying out my lips. however, other colors i tried; carolina and pink rose, were creamy and buttery, but again, deeply pigmented.
not a real winner for BB.
"
Review 9 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Designerinpa
(Harrisburg, PA)
Love this Lip Color
Date: March 15, 2014
Pros: my skintone
Cons: Can't live without, this line of product
"Love this lip color. Unfortunately there is no store near my region. I shop when I am out in Ca and used the website when I saw the sale. Love this product. Got enough for a year now."
Review 10 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:maryboo
(virginia beach, va)
Date: March 15, 2014
"I was thinking sheer. This is not a bad lipstick and the color is fine for Spring, but it is certainly not "sheer lip color". This is fully opaque lipstick."
Review 11 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:southerncharm25
(Savannah, GA)
"Sheer" Lip Color
Date: February 25, 2014
Pros: everyday
"I'm not sure if I would call this lip product sheer, but I love them. I started with three shades (Black Plum, pink rose, and cherry pink). The thing I love about these lip products is that they are buildable. The first coat is very light but you can work the color up. I will definitely be buying more of these asap!"
Review 12 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Magnumm
(Glendale Heights, IL)
Perfect
Date: February 25, 2014
Pros: people with allergies & sensitivities
"Not only do I like the color, but I have severe allergies to most cosmetics and I am able to use this lipstick without any reaction. It is my favorite."
Review 13 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Anonymous
(Phoenix, AZ)
Nice colors, not as sheer as hoped
Date: April 13, 2013
"I was so excited to get these I ordered online. I am slightly disappointed the color is not very sheer. Cherry Pink and Blossom Pink are great colors though."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:fjlanders9
(Birmingham, AL)
THE PERFECT LIPSTICK
Date: January 30, 2014
"I am now on my third tube of Cherry Pink.
I wore this color in my wedding in November after being styled with it during a Bobbi Brown bridal makeup lesson, It is such a great lip color, all around. Moisturizing, smooth, build-able color, year round shade. I have black hair and dark brown eyes with fair skin. I will use this lipstick forever as it not only brings back great memories but provides great versatility and quality as well."
Review 15 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
(San Francisco, CA)
They are back!
Date: April 18, 2013
"I am pleased to see that the Sheer Lipsticks are back and that they are now offered in a broader range of shades, even some shimmery shades. After sampling a few colors at the BB counter I commented to the associate that to me they appear to be the same formula as the previous sheers that were discontinued a few years ago - in a sleeker, updated packaging. She confirmed that indeed it is the same formula, so I am glad to see some more bright shades in addition to the tried and true staples. I agree with the previous reviewers that these sheer lipsticks have some color payoff, but by no means did they give me opaque coverage like the regular Lip Color line or the Rich Color shades. I have very pigmented lips so in my case the fact that these sheers give me some color payoff and still let my natural lip color show through is a major plus and therefore the formula works perfectly for me. Many other sheer formulas that I have tried were too sheer, or just too greasy for my liking, the result was that I saw basically no impact on my lips and the little color that was there was gone within an hour of wear. So far I have purchased Bobbi and Nude Beige and both look good against my cool toned light skin. I use these shades as a very subtle enhancement when I want a low key look, for instance on weekends. Wear time of the sheers is obviously shorter than a regular full coverage lipstick but on me they last a good two hours, and the feel on my lips is comfortable, the formula is non drying. Highly recommended for ladies with pigmented lips for a natural look. The packaging is elegant and sturdy, and I like the slanted opening which makes application on the go a breeze, even without a mirror."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:furbabylover
(Pensacola FL)
Perfect Lipstick
Date: January 19, 2014
"This lipstick is just amazing. I bought the "Passion Fruit" color, which is a vivid warm pink, and am so impressed with it. The color stays vivid and true for hours, does not bleed at all, and when it fades it fades evenly over the lips, not that horrible ring of color that some lipsticks leave. Highly recommend!!"
Review 17 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:mamavalveeta03
(Hamptons, NY)
More colors, please!
Date: January 14, 2014
Pros: bobbi brown herself?
"I love the texture, the style of lip "bullet", and the way is feels on my lips. The only thing I'm disappointed in is the shade selection. There really need to be more shades! I purchased "Bobbi", not realizing that is is a renamed version of Tawny Pink. The problem is, it's really not pink at all. A very brownish, bluish nude that wasn't flattering to my light/med. skintone at all. Be aware of this when purchasing this shade!"
Review 18 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Hilofdreams
(SW, MI)
Great formula
Date: April 30, 2013
Cons: Can't live without
"I bought this lip color in ballet pink. I love sheer lip colors because they are so easy-you can apply them without a mirror when you're on the go, and they also feel great on the lips. This sheer lip color from Bobbi is my new favorite sheer. It glides on so smoothly and evenly, has a very slightly glossy finish, and is not completely translucent-there is the perfect amount of color payoff. Staying power was great, too, especially for a sheer. I applied this lipstick in the morning, went about my hectic day, which included many sips from a water bottle, as well as talking, etc., and four hours later it was still on. You'll definitely want to follow Bobbi's rule to get a color close to your natural lip color, only brighter, because it will show through with this lip color. I plan to buy several more of the shades, especially with Summer approaching when I don't really want heavy lipstick."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:12345
(chicago, il)
Date: January 2, 2014
"Excellent product! sheer and moisturising, lasts a long time, feels good on the lips, it's not drying, Bobbi is a nude lip color, love it! Highly recommend!"
Review 20 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:VioletV
(Chicago, IL)
Perfect!
Date: December 22, 2013
Cons: Can't live without
"I was a little worried about ordering lipstick sight unseen, but I shouldn't have been. Cherry Pink is gorgeous, not too blue or pink or orange-- just like the name, it looks like I've bitten a fresh cherry. The texture is lovely, not too heavy or too sheer. It's not particularly long lasting, but is easy to reapply.
I have dark hair, pale skin with yellow undertones, and greenish-bluish-hazel eyes, and as soon as I put on the lipstick my eyes magically changed to bright green--even my kids noticed!"
1 2 3 next>>