Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Lip Color or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sheer Lip Color

Average Customer Rating:
4.384 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
64 of 73(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sheer Lip Color
Review 1 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:DesertGypsy
(Desert)
Passion fruit POW!
Date: May 29, 2014
"I got two of the passion fruit sheer lip colors as a surprise gift with past purchases. I will agree with many other reviews, this product name is very misleading. These are not sheer at all! These are lightweight, that would be a more accurate description. And these are highly pigmented. So much so that I look like a clown if I put it all over my lips.
However, if I put a small amount in center on each lip, and smack my lips together and then put clear lipgloss over the top, it is probably the prettiest lip color I have ever worn.
I have fair, freckled skin that is cool to neutral tone and dark brown hair. I am pretty natural and have never liked bright lips. I always used mauve and rose lip and cheek colors. I find now at 50 that i now need clearer, fresher colors to brighten my skin and face. I have medium natural lip color and very thin lips, so can't handle dark colors that make my thin lips thinner looking!
Gave one to friend with fair to medium skin that has a lot of yellow in it. It turned shocking coral on her and she hated the color but loved the texture of it.
So, all of this said, I recommend it, but just expect a lot of color, unless you use very sparingly and then it is so fresh and fantastic!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:jlane
(Orlando, FL)
I'm in love!
Date: November 6, 2013
"I have been a long time fan of the Creamy Matte lip colors by Bobbi Brown. I went online to find a new color in the matte finish and happened to see the sheer lip colors. Despite a few negative reviews, I decided to give these a try. In fact, I was so excited, that I skipped online ordering and went straight to the Bobbi Brown counter. While I still like the matte finish of my former favorite, I feel like the sheer finish looks a little less "made up." I bought 2 sheer lip colors: Bobbi and Cherry Pink. I love them both. To all the reviewers that say that the name is misleading, this is not a STAIN! So yes, it's creamy and has somewhat of a glossy finish. It's not as sheer as a lip balm. But the colors are AMAZING and last through my entire work day! Please don't ever discontinue #a few of my Bobbi Brown favorites have been discontinued...and I'm still scarred!#
The sales associate at the Bobbi Brown counter told me that the 3 most popular colors are Bobbi, Cherry Red, and Carolina. So if you're wanting to try these out, any one of those is probably a great starting point.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:gale2
(atlanta, georgia)
Sheer Lip Color
Date: July 23, 2014
Cons: Can't live without, long lasting, stays put, beautiful shades
"This is not exactly a "sheer" lip color I would call it maybe a lip stain. It does have true color and for a sheer lipstick it stays put for hours. The colors are amazing , the pink rose is a beautiful shade. It's called a sheer lip color but its a beautiful lip stain that I don't have to apply every 30 minutes. I love this lip color and I'm going to try the other shades."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:TrixieTrixie
(Raleigh, NC)
Not sheer
Date: April 15, 2013
Cons: not sheer
"I have to say that I'm rather disappointed with this lipstick. I'm a fan of sheer lipsticks and this isn't sheer at all. It feels (and wears) like regular ol' lipstick to me. It doesn't have that silky glide that sheer lipsticks typically do. Instead it "grabs" at the lip a bit when applied. I didn't find Ballet Pink to be neutral at all--it has a touch of apricot in it that just didn't work on my fair skin tone. Again, so disappointed by this lipstick."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bopip
Best Lipstick!
Date: October 7, 2014
"Soft!
It is perfect for dry lips.
Very satisfied ^ ^
"
Review 6 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:cheddarbaysusan
(Ohio)
my lips like it!
Date: September 21, 2014
"While I am happy with the consistency of this lipstick and that my lips do not peel or dry out from it like they do with other lipsticks I own, I am disappointed that the color is not as pictured. I don't know if they put the wrong color in my tube or what, but my lipstick is definitely a coral/nude. I hate bothering sending things back, so I've kept it. I will definitely get use out of it in the summertime."
Review 7 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:zengirl
(Lincoln, NE)
Try Black Plum!
Date: September 16, 2014
Pros: people who don't want a heavy lip color
Cons: easy to apply and wear
"The sheer lip color is light and moist. Feels great! Consider trying the color Black Plum. It looks dark in the tube - but isn't dark when it goes on."
Review 8 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:SarasotaGirl
(Sarasota, FL)
Sheer?
Date: April 27, 2013
"These are nice lipsticks but they are not sheer colors. As a matter of fact there is more color to the ballet pink in this "sheer formula" than in the creamy lip color "pink ballet" that I also own. The title on these lipsticks are really misleading and think they may have just wanted to make new colors and should have left them in the category of the creamy lips colors instead."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:manini
(Greenwich, CT)
Great lipstick, but not that sheer!
Date: April 12, 2013
"This lipstick formula is terrific. I purchased the shade "Bobbi." But it's not all that sheer. It is fairly opaque, and has a creamy texture with a natural matte finish. Typically when I think sheer lipstick I am expecting something more transparent and much glossier in finish. This formula might be misnamed, but that's the only problem. It is a very nice lipstick and will be a staple for me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Misia
(Montreal QC)
Intense colour, creamy texture.
Date: September 1, 2014
"Very nice, light formula. The colour is very intense for me, so I mix it with a more neutral lipstick.
Last quite. Long time.
"
Review 11 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:MissKris
(Boston, MA)
Goes on smoothly and stays put!
Date: August 18, 2014
Pros: sunmer sheer coverage that keeps lips moist
"Lovely creaminess, color is sheer, but matted, so it stays put. Highly moisturizing, an essential nude. Recommend trying color at the store, the shade was not quite what I expected ordering online without trying first, but am satisfied with the color, but would have gone a bit darker than what I ordered. (Ballet Pink). Recommend online purchase if you already know what the color looks like on you!"
Review 12 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Kauaigirl
(Lihue, Hawaii)
Love this!
Date: August 21, 2014
"I love every color of this that I have tried. Goes on soft and creamy and leaves my lips soft and hydrated. Love the sheers for work days."
Review 13 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaseyR
(Catonsville, MD)
Misleading, but AMAZING
Date: August 12, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"The name is misleading. They have a lot of pigment and they are not sheer. Very lightweight. I got this with the Modern Classic Kit. I'm so glad this came with it as it is now one of my staples! The color lasts a lot longer than I thought it would, given the name."
Review 14 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:LadyTee
(Florida)
Lovely Color
Date: August 8, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"Stays on quite a while. Lovely, sheer color great for all year."
Review 15 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:augie
(Alliance, Ohio)
Perfect color
Date: July 23, 2014
"I bought the sheer lip color in "Bobbi" and love it! The shade is perfect for me...very natural looking.
It feels great on my lips. Could last a bit longer, but I love it anyway.
"
Review 16 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Winston
(Arcadia CA)
Smooth and Shear
Date: July 23, 2014
Pros: easy for light summer look.
Cons: very handy.
"Very sheer but still lots of color - very nice!! Decently priced as well."
Review 17 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Anonymous
(Phoenix, AZ)
Nice colors, not as sheer as hoped
Date: April 13, 2013
"I was so excited to get these I ordered online. I am slightly disappointed the color is not very sheer. Cherry Pink and Blossom Pink are great colors though."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Skippy
(Eden Prairie, MN)
Sheer Beauty
Date: December 23, 2013
"Was looking for new color to fill blanks in my lip arsenal and opted for Bobbi and Carolina just seeing the swatches online. Turns out I love them both - formula and color. Very easy to wear. I agree with points to all positive reviews. For reference my coloring is light skin with brown hair and eyes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:MUjunkie
(Parsippany, NJ)
I like it.
Date: June 21, 2014
"I bought this lipstick because of the raves i've been hearing about it.. It's got a nice texture. It isn't drying. It's definitely not sheer for me. It's a brighter shade which is why I only gave it 4 stars. I guess it's not for me. I lean more towards nude and natural shades. If I was in to brighter colors, i would recommend this. I can probably wear it during the spring and summer months. What i have been doing is putting a nude lip gloss over this to kind of tone it down and voila, solve my problem!"
Review 20 for Sheer Lip Color
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
(San Francisco, CA)
They are back!
Date: April 18, 2013
"I am pleased to see that the Sheer Lipsticks are back and that they are now offered in a broader range of shades, even some shimmery shades. After sampling a few colors at the BB counter I commented to the associate that to me they appear to be the same formula as the previous sheers that were discontinued a few years ago - in a sleeker, updated packaging. She confirmed that indeed it is the same formula, so I am glad to see some more bright shades in addition to the tried and true staples. I agree with the previous reviewers that these sheer lipsticks have some color payoff, but by no means did they give me opaque coverage like the regular Lip Color line or the Rich Color shades. I have very pigmented lips so in my case the fact that these sheers give me some color payoff and still let my natural lip color show through is a major plus and therefore the formula works perfectly for me. Many other sheer formulas that I have tried were too sheer, or just too greasy for my liking, the result was that I saw basically no impact on my lips and the little color that was there was gone within an hour of wear. So far I have purchased Bobbi and Nude Beige and both look good against my cool toned light skin. I use these shades as a very subtle enhancement when I want a low key look, for instance on weekends. Wear time of the sheers is obviously shorter than a regular full coverage lipstick but on me they last a good two hours, and the feel on my lips is comfortable, the formula is non drying. Highly recommended for ladies with pigmented lips for a natural look. The packaging is elegant and sturdy, and I like the slanted opening which makes application on the go a breeze, even without a mirror."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>