Customer Reviews for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bobbi Brown.

Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
26
36 of 77(47%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Review 1 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:carlota88
Location:Edmonton, Alberta

What happened to the shade range?!?!

I went back to the beauty counter to re-purchase my BB "Luminous Moisturizing Foundation" and the beauty consultant told me "Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation" is the new reformulated foundation.
I was pleased to see that this foundation has a pump :), and the packaging is gorgeous.
I picked my usual shade "sand" (I have been using BB for 10 years now, and I have been going back and forth between sand and warm sand, depending on whether my skin is tan or not). Anyways, what is the deal with this foundation????
The color "sand" in this new formula is nothing at all like the old formula, or any of the other foundations!!!! I went back to the counter, and I am retrying other colors, and the closest match is "alabaster"??! Which is the lightest shade.
Honestly, what a disappointment. I know that within a brand colours may run deeper or lighter between foundations, but just by maybe one shade or maybe not even. But this one is outrageous, especially for a brand like BB which is pretty consistent with the coloration of the foundations.
Aside from the fact that this foundation's shades are completely messed up, the foundation itself oxidizes like nuts after a couple of hours (so you must make sure to check your makeup to make sure you do not look like an orange clown).
I will not change my other BB products because I have been using them for years, but now I need to find another foundation...I really hope they fix this mess soon, very disappointed
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: terrible shades, orange, oxidizes
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: February 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:K5352
Location:Orange County, CA, USA

What happened to this foundation in 2 years?

I love Bobbi, and I am a devoted Bobbi fan I use all their products. However my favorite foundation was all gone which prompted me to order a new one. New indeed...the bottle design changed, the texture, as well as the color, and even the smell. I'm sorry I am a warm ivory in pretty much everything foundation stick, touch up stick, and this foundation until now. Bobbi you said your self your foundations are yellow based, so why is this pale color orange even after shaking it for 3-4 mins? As your other reviewers and fans keep telling you fix your formula it was perfect before.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date: November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Norika
Location:Los ángeles, ca

not as good as i hoped

i heard so much about bobbi brown foundation, figured i'll give it a try.
I used make up for ever, laura mercer, bare minerals, benefits, chanel and some other japanese brands… this bobbi brown Luminous moisturizing treatment foundation works the least for me.
I was so excited to try this on this morning since i just got it last night.
By 12:30 in the afternoon, my skin looks dull and like I didn't even put any foundation on this morning.
My job is sitting in front of computer and do design on computer in the temperature controlled room and although i have a big window there was no sun shine right at my face.
I never had foundation disappeared on my face in such a short time before. Sometimes at the end of the day of 8 hours working makeup blend in better, but not like non-exsisting.
I have combination skin with t-zone just a lil oily. My skin is been dryer than normal due to the weather. When I first applied the foundation it felt way more moisturizing/oily than my makeup for ever foundation. I used the BB Brightening Finishing Powder - Nudes to finish after the foundation. It has a nice shin to it, a little too glittery for daily/work use for me. And also it didn't really last for more than 2 hours actually.
Have to exchange the foundation to something less oily unfortunately. Nice coverage though.
Hopefully this review helps.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:MelissaFL
Location:Largo, FL

Bring Back the Previous Formula Please!

What happened to the beautiful Warm Sand/Warm Ivory Luminous I used to know? I ordered this new formula first in Sand, and WHOA, way too dark. So, after consulting online (which was a very nice experience, btw) I reordered in Alabaster. I was nervous it would be too light for my fair/ruddy-with golden-undertones skin, but nope, still too dark, and too yellow! It's a double-zero shade, ladies, and still too dark! Bummer! Back it goes, and I think honestly I'll wait on trying another formula until BB irons out the color kinks they are seeming to have for now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Cathy1962
Location:Placerville, Ca

Great for sun damaged 50+ skin

I haven't been able to wear foundation for probably 15 years because it never looked good or natural. Foundations would always just accentuate my flaws. This foundation is awesome. I can use it and it makes my skin look better instead of accentuating lines and flaws and the finish is absolutely amazing. By far the best foundation I have ever tried. It's very easy to apply, it has just enough coverage and gives me a healthy look to my skin. I got online help with picking a color because I use self Tanners and I'm very happy with the warm beige. I'm sure I will go a shade lighter when the dead of winter hits.
I recommend this foundation for anyone who has dry, sun damaged skin with uneven skin tone or sun spots. I'd say one of the most important things is to go in and have your color matched.
Pros: sun damaged skin, 50+ skin, dry & normal skin
Cons: a miracle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: August 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Srwong
Location:Cincinnati, OH

Bring Back the Old Formula

Wow. This was absolutely awful. I have never returned a foundation but this had to go back. The old formula was perfection. I was always complimented on my skin. This was not at all luminous and the color was not even close to being a match. I looked washed out. For the cost of this product I expected so much more. The old formula was so perfect I was willing to pay the price. This was drugstore quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: October 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Perfecto
Location:New York, NY

I want my old Luminous back !

I used to buy this foundation in Sand and the stick foundation in Sand and was happy as a clam with the texture and hue. It seems there has been a major glitch in production. I am now using Alabaster to get closer to my usual Luminous Moisturizing shade and skin tone match but it's been months and store stock is not any better. Why hasn't this issue been addressed on the site since there are so many Luminous fans with so many complaints ? Let's get Bobbi back in the lab please ! And ASAP !
Cons: a former favorite
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: July 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:SusieToo
Location:Shawnee,KS

Loved the OLD formulation

Why was this foundation changed? It was perfect before.... Please bring back the old formulation!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Birdlady
Location:Olathe, KS

Skeptical, but oh so impressed!

As a long-time user of the old formula, I was not a "happy camper" to find it had been changed. Was hesitant to purchase, reading the unusually low ratings/reviews. While I respect other's experiences, I could not be more pleased. If I had one criticism of the old formula it was perhaps not enough coverage for me. However, this solves that problem beautifully while still imparting that dewy glow. Had worn 2 or 2.5 previously; the artist advised me to go with Alabaster. Thought it sounded awfully light, but decided to trust her. Looks light when first applied, however, after blending - perfect!
Pros: anyone wanting a dewy finish
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date: September 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:PorcelainDoll
Location:Simsbury, CT

Color is too yellow

What has BB done with their color line. The 00 Alabaster in every line of foundation you have is too yellow and dark. Please come together and come up with a foundation that is more white with some pink. Us irish folks have white skin and need a color to be that light. You used to have a fine color in the Even Finish but you changed the formulation and in doing so changed the color. Had to return.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:OpheliaS
Location:Edmonton, Canada

Great for dry or dehydrated skin

My skin tends to be dehydrated - living in a dry, cold climate in Canada just exasperates this. Natural finish foundations can look "matte" and zombie here. (I firmly believe you have to choose a foundation that fits your climate as well as your skin condition).
This foundation is it! With more coverage than a tinted moisturizer, my skin still looks like my skin but I have a subtle glow without looking like a disco ball.
Make sure to apply after a proper skin care routine. cleanse/tone/moisturize routine I apply this with a foundation brush and a light hand and build as needed. It lasts all day (and all night).
NOTE: get colour matched at a counter!! This foundation tends to run dark. No problem though as there's such an array of shades, you'll find something to suit you. I'm usually a Warm Honey 5.5 in another Bobbi foundation but in this Luminous one I'm a 5.0 Honey.
Pros: Dry Skin, dehydrated skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Revert
Location:Newtown, PA

I have always used the Luminous Moisturizing Foundation in Warm Sand and it was perfect for my skin tone. When my foundaton ran out I went to the BB counter and discovered this new formula. My best match was alabaster. This new formula was really awful for my skintone. Please bring back the original Luminous Moisturizing Foundation
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Mart
Location:New Braunfels, TX

Light and Lovely!

I was skeptical about this new foundation after having read some of the reviews. However, after using it for about two weeks, I prefer it over the other foundation - at least for the summer. It goes on smoothly and does have a bright quality about it, even for a 72-year-old! i
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: September 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:95Spencer
Location:Boston, MA

Bobbi needs a "Do Over" on this one.

I have to agree with some of the other reviews. I honestly have never met a BB product that I didnt love, but this foundation is a definite miss. The color is way off- I have been using Sand in every other formula, but with this particular foundation, "Sand" is about 2-3 shades darker than "Sand" in other products. The consistency is chalky and did not go on smootly or blend easily like other BB foundations. My face looked blotchy and "dirty." The only thing I did like about it is the pump. While I am generally always happy with Bobbi Brown products and have been using them exclusively for 15+ years, Bobbi needs a "do over" on this one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:Addicted2MU
Location:Louisiana

Simply Amazing!!

This foundation is simply amazing for dry skin. You can apply it to achieve either medium or full coverage. Either way, you will be left with flawless skin. My skin never looks cakey or has that heavy make-up feel with this foundation. A plus for me is that it doesn't cling to or accentuate any dry patches. It just looks healthy and beautiful. Also, I find that I can get a full days wear out of this foundation without fading. That's not normally the case for me with "moisturizing" foundations. There is nothing about this foundation that I don't enjoy. Even my husband has commented on how much better my makeup looks since I've switched to this foundation. This product has made me love foundation again...thank you, Bobbi! Before ordering, I would recommend either seeing or talking with a BB consultant before selecting your shade. My shade in this foundation is a full shade lighter than I would normally buy in other foundations.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: September 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:zodiac73
Location:Lindenhurst, NY

The best for my aging sun damaged skin.

Yes it does go on darker than other BB foundations in the same shade (beige 3) however, I've found a way to make it work for me: A foundation brush! It makes a big difference from a sponge or fingers. No longer goes on dark orange! I finish it with the mineral foundation in the same shade and my skin looks and feels great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:bobbinista
Location:Murfreesboro, TN

Better Than Ever!

I admit, when I first heard that it was being reformulated, I was apprehensive, I loved the original so much. I received mine yesterday, and all I can say is "WOW! It appears lighter in texture on the skin, and even more luminous. I had to lightly powder the original, but not this one. It truly looks like my skin, only much better. I bought Porcelain, my winter color, and it is beyond gorgeous. I look like I have perfect skin, not wearing perfect makeup. Thanks, Bobbi!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date: November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:dmmr
Location:Bend, OR

Big Fail in Color Quality Control First Batch

I've used this BB foundation formula for four plus years and been happy with it for texture and color match for me in warm sand. When the new formula of this was released to retailers a few months ago the colors were completely off across the spectrum and were much darker and it seemed more orange-yellow than the previous formula. A colossal pain in the posterior to return given counter staffs were not advised in advance, it seems, of the "ooops" in color consistency. I'm on my second bottle of "lets try this one until we can get the new ones on the shelf and we've been told the colors will be fixed then". For such a big cosmetics house this unhappy surprise not caught until after product release is unacceptable. I say that as a long time user of BB cosmetics which I use exclusively for skin care and make up. To now at least.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Oceangal
Location:Winthrop, MA

Great foundation!

This is my perfect foundation. My skin looks healthy and glows. It comes out of the bottle with a strong orange tint, but once it's blended well, it's the perfect shade. I have fair skin and use the sand "family" for all my BB foundations. It's not heavy and looks natural.
Pros: oily combination skin
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Leni
Location:Houston, Tx

Completely wrong color?

I decided to switch to the Luminous Moisturizing Treatment foundation because Bobbi Brown foundation is all I use, so making the switch seemed like a no-risk choice. Warm Sand? Check. No problem.
I waited for about a week and forgot all about it. Finally, my bottle arrives.. I run to try it on and my face is completely orange. Two shades darker than my neck. Warm Sand used to wear on me like second skin. No one even knew I had make-up on. I've worn this out twice and have gotten tons of comments on my fake tan. I don't use self-tanner - this is ridiculous!
Now, I have to go return this in person - a nearly two hour waste of time for me. What gives, BB?
Pros: oompa loompas
Cons: the wrong color
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>