Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Foundation or

Product Reviews

Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
2.881 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
11
1 star
23
30 of 67(45%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Review 1 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:carlota88
(Edmonton, Alberta)
What happened to the shade range?!?!
Date: February 25, 2014
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: terrible shades, orange, oxidizes
"I went back to the beauty counter to re-purchase my BB "Luminous Moisturizing Foundation" and the beauty consultant told me "Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation" is the new reformulated foundation.
I was pleased to see that this foundation has a pump :), and the packaging is gorgeous.
I picked my usual shade "sand" (I have been using BB for 10 years now, and I have been going back and forth between sand and warm sand, depending on whether my skin is tan or not). Anyways, what is the deal with this foundation????
The color "sand" in this new formula is nothing at all like the old formula, or any of the other foundations!!!! I went back to the counter, and I am retrying other colors, and the closest match is "alabaster"??! Which is the lightest shade.
Honestly, what a disappointment. I know that within a brand colours may run deeper or lighter between foundations, but just by maybe one shade or maybe not even. But this one is outrageous, especially for a brand like BB which is pretty consistent with the coloration of the foundations.
Aside from the fact that this foundation's shades are completely messed up, the foundation itself oxidizes like nuts after a couple of hours (so you must make sure to check your makeup to make sure you do not look like an orange clown).
I will not change my other BB products because I have been using them for years, but now I need to find another foundation...I really hope they fix this mess soon, very disappointed
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Norika
(Los ángeles, ca)
not as good as i hoped
Date: November 6, 2013
"i heard so much about bobbi brown foundation, figured i'll give it a try.
I used make up for ever, laura mercer, bare minerals, benefits, chanel and some other japanese brands… this bobbi brown Luminous moisturizing treatment foundation works the least for me.
I was so excited to try this on this morning since i just got it last night.
By 12:30 in the afternoon, my skin looks dull and like I didn't even put any foundation on this morning.
My job is sitting in front of computer and do design on computer in the temperature controlled room and although i have a big window there was no sun shine right at my face.
I never had foundation disappeared on my face in such a short time before. Sometimes at the end of the day of 8 hours working makeup blend in better, but not like non-exsisting.
I have combination skin with t-zone just a lil oily. My skin is been dryer than normal due to the weather. When I first applied the foundation it felt way more moisturizing/oily than my makeup for ever foundation. I used the BB Brightening Finishing Powder - Nudes to finish after the foundation. It has a nice shin to it, a little too glittery for daily/work use for me. And also it didn't really last for more than 2 hours actually.
Have to exchange the foundation to something less oily unfortunately. Nice coverage though.
Hopefully this review helps."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:MelissaFL
(Largo, FL)
Bring Back the Previous Formula Please!
Date: September 26, 2013
"What happened to the beautiful Warm Sand/Warm Ivory Luminous I used to know? I ordered this new formula first in Sand, and WHOA, way too dark. So, after consulting online (which was a very nice experience, btw) I reordered in Alabaster. I was nervous it would be too light for my fair/ruddy-with golden-undertones skin, but nope, still too dark, and too yellow! It's a double-zero shade, ladies, and still too dark! Bummer! Back it goes, and I think honestly I'll wait on trying another formula until BB irons out the color kinks they are seeming to have for now."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:PorcelainDoll
(Simsbury, CT)
Color is too yellow
Date: September 21, 2013
"What has BB done with their color line. The 00 Alabaster in every line of foundation you have is too yellow and dark. Please come together and come up with a foundation that is more white with some pink. Us irish folks have white skin and need a color to be that light. You used to have a fine color in the Even Finish but you changed the formulation and in doing so changed the color. Had to return."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:dmmr
(Bend, OR)
Big Fail in Color Quality Control First Batch
Date: November 21, 2013
"I've used this BB foundation formula for four plus years and been happy with it for texture and color match for me in warm sand. When the new formula of this was released to retailers a few months ago the colors were completely off across the spectrum and were much darker and it seemed more orange-yellow than the previous formula. A colossal pain in the posterior to return given counter staffs were not advised in advance, it seems, of the "ooops" in color consistency. I'm on my second bottle of "lets try this one until we can get the new ones on the shelf and we've been told the colors will be fixed then". For such a big cosmetics house this unhappy surprise not caught until after product release is unacceptable. I say that as a long time user of BB cosmetics which I use exclusively for skin care and make up. To now at least."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Cathy1962
(Placerville, Ca)
Great for sun damaged 50+ skin
Date: September 26, 2013
Pros: sun damaged skin, 50+ skin, dry & normal skin
Cons: a miracle
"I haven't been able to wear foundation for probably 15 years because it never looked good or natural. Foundations would always just accentuate my flaws. This foundation is awesome. I can use it and it makes my skin look better instead of accentuating lines and flaws and the finish is absolutely amazing. By far the best foundation I have ever tried. It's very easy to apply, it has just enough coverage and gives me a healthy look to my skin. I got online help with picking a color because I use self Tanners and I'm very happy with the warm beige. I'm sure I will go a shade lighter when the dead of winter hits.
I recommend this foundation for anyone who has dry, sun damaged skin with uneven skin tone or sun spots. I'd say one of the most important things is to go in and have your color matched.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Calla
(Anchorage, AK)
What happened?
Date: October 13, 2013
"I've been using this foundation for years and the Warm Sand color was perfect for my coloring. I can not speak highly enough about it and got several of my friends to switch products. This month I received my new shipment and WHOA what happened? It's got a new orange tint :-( In fact, my husband asked me if I was feeling ok..."You look kinda orange, or tan, or something--Is your liver ok?" I don't even drink! Please bring back the old shades or at least give a warning when changing the color etc."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:Pammer
(Huntsville, AL)
Horrible Foundation!
Date: February 16, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: a waste of good money
"This makeup is simply horrid! It is thick and unctuous. It clogged my pores and my face was constantly breaking out. My face rarely breaks out! The color is way off and I constantly looked jaundiced and I am fair-skinned with red/blue undertones. I found out today when I went to my local Bobbi Brown counter there is a serious problem with the pigmentation and it discolors on your skin."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Addicted2MU
(Louisiana)
Simply Amazing!!
Date: September 12, 2013
"This foundation is simply amazing for dry skin. You can apply it to achieve either medium or full coverage. Either way, you will be left with flawless skin. My skin never looks cakey or has that heavy make-up feel with this foundation. A plus for me is that it doesn't cling to or accentuate any dry patches. It just looks healthy and beautiful. Also, I find that I can get a full days wear out of this foundation without fading. That's not normally the case for me with "moisturizing" foundations. There is nothing about this foundation that I don't enjoy. Even my husband has commented on how much better my makeup looks since I've switched to this foundation. This product has made me love foundation again...thank you, Bobbi! Before ordering, I would recommend either seeing or talking with a BB consultant before selecting your shade. My shade in this foundation is a full shade lighter than I would normally buy in other foundations."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:TrishB
(Cincinnati, OH)
Colors are so off and unnatural
Date: November 23, 2013
Pros: no one
Cons: orange, off color
"Wow. What a disappointment! I ordered Porcelain for me and Warm Sand for my sister, as these are the shades we usually wear in Bobbi's foundations. They weren't even close. Warm Sand made my sister look like she was wearing deep dark orange tanner. Porcelain made me look like I was in the middle of a rosacea flare, very dark and very pink/red. Reordered trying Warm Ivory for my sister. It is still hideously orange. My Alabaster is on back order, but given that not one of these shades has any relation to skin tone OR Bobbi's usual shades, I am not hopeful."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:Srwong
(Cincinnati, OH)
Bring Back the Old Formula
Date: August 1, 2014
"Wow. This was absolutely awful. I have never returned a foundation but this had to go back. The old formula was perfection. I was always complimented on my skin. This was not at all luminous and the color was not even close to being a match. I looked washed out. For the cost of this product I expected so much more. The old formula was so perfect I was willing to pay the price. This was drugstore quality."
Review 12 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:KtKoala
(Southern CA)
Sand 02
Date: July 4, 2014
"While I really liked the quality of the product, as well as the way it felt on my skin and how remained consistent in color and texture all day (even in extreme heat), I returned b/c the color wasn't exactly right. As other reviewers have stated, the color did appear darker and dirtier than the same color in other BB foundations. I received a sample in the foundation stick of the Sand color and it matches perfectly, so I may go for that one for my staple. Although, I really really liked the lavender smell and the moisturizing qualities of this formula, so I might go back to their makeup counter and try again with a lighter shade. I also wish it had an SPF; since the formula is so moisturizing I didn't need to add a moisturizer first which quickened my morning routine which I love....but w/o SPF, I don't feel fully covered/protected.
I am Sand 02 / Neutral for makeup with green eyes and medium golden brown hair."
Review 13 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bobbinista
(Murfreesboro, TN)
Better Than Ever!
Date: September 12, 2013
Cons: Can't live without
"I admit, when I first heard that it was being reformulated, I was apprehensive, I loved the original so much. I received mine yesterday, and all I can say is "WOW! It appears lighter in texture on the skin, and even more luminous. I had to lightly powder the original, but not this one. It truly looks like my skin, only much better. I bought Porcelain, my winter color, and it is beyond gorgeous. I look like I have perfect skin, not wearing perfect makeup. Thanks, Bobbi!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:SueZQ
(Chicago, IL)
Change the color names please!
Date: June 28, 2014
Pros: "aging" skin, freckles and dark spots, larger pores
Cons: Can't live without
"I have always used Natural during the summer along with bronzing powder. Now I am using Cool Beige. I have never used "Cool" anything! I tried going back to Moisture Rich, but I like the texture and finish of Luminous much better. I am 53 and I get compliments about my complexion all the time, however, my mother even commented that it didnt look as good when I wasnt using my Luminous. Color is "okay", a little different from Natural, but I use self tanner and am in the sun also, so it will take a little effort to get my shades right! Oh....but I DONT like the pump bottle!"
Review 15 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:SusieToo
(Shawnee,KS)
Loved the OLD formulation
Date: July 9, 2014
"Why was this foundation changed? It was perfect before.... Please bring back the old formulation!!"
Review 16 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Jessemine
color isn't true on skin
Date: February 17, 2014
"I love Bobbi Brown foundation, but this new formulation isn't working! The shade I always wear darkened on my face! I looked orange! I was told by a make up artist to choose a lighter color! I wish someone had told me before I bought one!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:DCMom
(Washington, D.C.)
Color is off
Date: February 2, 2014
"I have used Luminous Moisturizing foundation for years and was surprised when I found this in its place. The color is way off....it reads darker and more olive. I can't comment on the wear or the feel as I immediately washed it off. A huge disappointment from a long-time Bobbi user and fan."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Pjmu
(North Branford, ct)
Bring back original!
Date: February 3, 2014
"I tried two different color samples... Both were not the great color match i've had with Bobbi's other foundations... Also the lavender fragrance is too strong...please bring back the original Luminous moisture foundation (but fragrance-free as well as SPF free)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:tcf931
(NJ)
2 shades darker than previous formula
Date: December 14, 2013
"I like the current formula in that it seems more sheer, like BB's skin foundation, but with a slightly dewy effect. A perfect pairing for my combination skin. The previous formula made my forehead shiny after about 4 hours, but I still loved the initial look and compensated with powdering my forehead. But the shades in the current formula are off from BB's previous formula. I used to wear "beige", but when I tried on beige, it was too dark. I chose "sand" which is about 2 shades lighter but even sand is a hint darker than the previous formula of "beige", I could've probably gone a shade lighter. I would give this formula 5 stars, but have to take a star off b/c it should be explained in the description the shades are 2 shades darker and not the same as previous formula."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:LangtryChicago
(Chicago, IL)
Really not up to Bobbi's par!
Date: December 13, 2013
Pros: oilier skins, darker skin tones
"This foundation really disappointed me. I used to use the Armani Luminous Silk Foundation, but wanted to try this as I am otherwise a 'Bobbi Brown Girl'. The make-up artist at Macy's told me that the company recommended going one to two shades lighter to account for the fact that the foundation "warms" #deepens in color as you wear it#. No kidding. I wear a Warm Ivory 1 shade and it's still too dark, especially at the edges of my face. It doesn't feel moisturizing and dries to a very matte finish, and I often look dry as a result. I didn't have this problem with Armani, which is admittedly a splurge at $20 more than this product. At a $52 price point, I should be loving what I see in the mirror!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>