Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Foundation or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
2.907 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
12
1 star
25
35 of 75(47%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Review 1 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:carlota88
(Edmonton, Alberta)
What happened to the shade range?!?!
Date: February 25, 2014
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: terrible shades, orange, oxidizes
" I went back to the beauty counter to re-purchase my BB "Luminous Moisturizing Foundation" and the beauty consultant told me "Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation" is the new reformulated foundation.
I was pleased to see that this foundation has a pump :), and the packaging is gorgeous.
I picked my usual shade "sand" (I have been using BB for 10 years now, and I have been going back and forth between sand and warm sand, depending on whether my skin is tan or not). Anyways, what is the deal with this foundation????
The color "sand" in this new formula is nothing at all like the old formula, or any of the other foundations!!!! I went back to the counter, and I am retrying other colors, and the closest match is "alabaster"??! Which is the lightest shade.
Honestly, what a disappointment. I know that within a brand colours may run deeper or lighter between foundations, but just by maybe one shade or maybe not even. But this one is outrageous, especially for a brand like BB which is pretty consistent with the coloration of the foundations.
Aside from the fact that this foundation's shades are completely messed up, the foundation itself oxidizes like nuts after a couple of hours (so you must make sure to check your makeup to make sure you do not look like an orange clown).
I will not change my other BB products because I have been using them for years, but now I need to find another foundation...I really hope they fix this mess soon, very disappointed
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Norika
(Los ángeles, ca)
not as good as i hoped
Date: November 6, 2013
" i heard so much about bobbi brown foundation, figured i'll give it a try.
I used make up for ever, laura mercer, bare minerals, benefits, chanel and some other japanese brands… this bobbi brown Luminous moisturizing treatment foundation works the least for me.
I was so excited to try this on this morning since i just got it last night.
By 12:30 in the afternoon, my skin looks dull and like I didn't even put any foundation on this morning.
My job is sitting in front of computer and do design on computer in the temperature controlled room and although i have a big window there was no sun shine right at my face.
I never had foundation disappeared on my face in such a short time before. Sometimes at the end of the day of 8 hours working makeup blend in better, but not like non-exsisting.
I have combination skin with t-zone just a lil oily. My skin is been dryer than normal due to the weather. When I first applied the foundation it felt way more moisturizing/oily than my makeup for ever foundation. I used the BB Brightening Finishing Powder - Nudes to finish after the foundation. It has a nice shin to it, a little too glittery for daily/work use for me. And also it didn't really last for more than 2 hours actually.
Have to exchange the foundation to something less oily unfortunately. Nice coverage though.
Hopefully this review helps. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:MelissaFL
(Largo, FL)
Bring Back the Previous Formula Please!
Date: September 26, 2013
" What happened to the beautiful Warm Sand/Warm Ivory Luminous I used to know? I ordered this new formula first in Sand, and WHOA, way too dark. So, after consulting online (which was a very nice experience, btw) I reordered in Alabaster. I was nervous it would be too light for my fair/ruddy-with golden-undertones skin, but nope, still too dark, and too yellow! It's a double-zero shade, ladies, and still too dark! Bummer! Back it goes, and I think honestly I'll wait on trying another formula until BB irons out the color kinks they are seeming to have for now. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:PorcelainDoll
(Simsbury, CT)
Color is too yellow
Date: September 21, 2013
" What has BB done with their color line. The 00 Alabaster in every line of foundation you have is too yellow and dark. Please come together and come up with a foundation that is more white with some pink. Us irish folks have white skin and need a color to be that light. You used to have a fine color in the Even Finish but you changed the formulation and in doing so changed the color. Had to return. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Cathy1962
(Placerville, Ca)
Great for sun damaged 50+ skin
Date: September 26, 2013
Pros: sun damaged skin, 50+ skin, dry & normal skin
Cons: a miracle
" I haven't been able to wear foundation for probably 15 years because it never looked good or natural. Foundations would always just accentuate my flaws. This foundation is awesome. I can use it and it makes my skin look better instead of accentuating lines and flaws and the finish is absolutely amazing. By far the best foundation I have ever tried. It's very easy to apply, it has just enough coverage and gives me a healthy look to my skin. I got online help with picking a color because I use self Tanners and I'm very happy with the warm beige. I'm sure I will go a shade lighter when the dead of winter hits.
I recommend this foundation for anyone who has dry, sun damaged skin with uneven skin tone or sun spots. I'd say one of the most important things is to go in and have your color matched.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:dmmr
(Bend, OR)
Big Fail in Color Quality Control First Batch
Date: November 21, 2013
" I've used this BB foundation formula for four plus years and been happy with it for texture and color match for me in warm sand. When the new formula of this was released to retailers a few months ago the colors were completely off across the spectrum and were much darker and it seemed more orange-yellow than the previous formula. A colossal pain in the posterior to return given counter staffs were not advised in advance, it seems, of the "ooops" in color consistency. I'm on my second bottle of "lets try this one until we can get the new ones on the shelf and we've been told the colors will be fixed then". For such a big cosmetics house this unhappy surprise not caught until after product release is unacceptable. I say that as a long time user of BB cosmetics which I use exclusively for skin care and make up. To now at least. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Calla
(Anchorage, AK)
What happened?
Date: October 13, 2013
" I've been using this foundation for years and the Warm Sand color was perfect for my coloring. I can not speak highly enough about it and got several of my friends to switch products. This month I received my new shipment and WHOA what happened? It's got a new orange tint :-( In fact, my husband asked me if I was feeling ok..."You look kinda orange, or tan, or something--Is your liver ok?" I don't even drink! Please bring back the old shades or at least give a warning when changing the color etc. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Addicted2MU
(Louisiana)
Simply Amazing!!
Date: September 12, 2013
" This foundation is simply amazing for dry skin. You can apply it to achieve either medium or full coverage. Either way, you will be left with flawless skin. My skin never looks cakey or has that heavy make-up feel with this foundation. A plus for me is that it doesn't cling to or accentuate any dry patches. It just looks healthy and beautiful. Also, I find that I can get a full days wear out of this foundation without fading. That's not normally the case for me with "moisturizing" foundations. There is nothing about this foundation that I don't enjoy. Even my husband has commented on how much better my makeup looks since I've switched to this foundation. This product has made me love foundation again...thank you, Bobbi! Before ordering, I would recommend either seeing or talking with a BB consultant before selecting your shade. My shade in this foundation is a full shade lighter than I would normally buy in other foundations. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:Pammer
(Huntsville, AL)
Horrible Foundation!
Date: February 16, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: a waste of good money
" This makeup is simply horrid! It is thick and unctuous. It clogged my pores and my face was constantly breaking out. My face rarely breaks out! The color is way off and I constantly looked jaundiced and I am fair-skinned with red/blue undertones. I found out today when I went to my local Bobbi Brown counter there is a serious problem with the pigmentation and it discolors on your skin. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:daring
I like it!
Date: November 1, 2014
" I have been using Bobbi Brown cosmetics for over 13 years and I decided to try this foundation when it first came out. I really liked it - it blended better for me than the other foundations and really gave me a youthful glow. I am reordering it! "
Review 11 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:MEASURINGnoses
(The big city)
100 % blue collar Hispanic
Date: November 1, 2014
Pros: people who have noses
Cons: Can't live without
" Gives my skin a really nice non-oily cover and shines just how i love it. "
Review 12 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:OpheliaS
(Edmonton, Canada)
Great for dry or dehydrated skin
Date: September 28, 2014
Pros: Dry Skin, dehydrated skin
" My skin tends to be dehydrated - living in a dry, cold climate in Canada just exasperates this. Natural finish foundations can look "matte" and zombie here. (I firmly believe you have to choose a foundation that fits your climate as well as your skin condition).
This foundation is it! With more coverage than a tinted moisturizer, my skin still looks like my skin but I have a subtle glow without looking like a disco ball.
Make sure to apply after a proper skin care routine. cleanse/tone/moisturize routine I apply this with a foundation brush and a light hand and build as needed. It lasts all day (and all night).
NOTE: get colour matched at a counter!! This foundation tends to run dark. No problem though as there's such an array of shades, you'll find something to suit you. I'm usually a Warm Honey 5.5 in another Bobbi foundation but in this Luminous one I'm a 5.0 Honey. "
Review 13 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:Perfecto
(New York, NY)
I want my old Luminous back !
Date: October 16, 2014
Cons: a former favorite
" I used to buy this foundation in Sand and the stick foundation in Sand and was happy as a clam with the texture and hue. It seems there has been a major glitch in production. I am now using Alabaster to get closer to my usual Luminous Moisturizing shade and skin tone match but it's been months and store stock is not any better. Why hasn't this issue been addressed on the site since there are so many Luminous fans with so many complaints ? Let's get Bobbi back in the lab please ! And ASAP ! "
Review 14 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:TrishB
(Cincinnati, OH)
Colors are so off and unnatural
Date: November 23, 2013
Pros: no one
Cons: orange, off color
" Wow. What a disappointment! I ordered Porcelain for me and Warm Sand for my sister, as these are the shades we usually wear in Bobbi's foundations. They weren't even close. Warm Sand made my sister look like she was wearing deep dark orange tanner. Porcelain made me look like I was in the middle of a rosacea flare, very dark and very pink/red. Reordered trying Warm Ivory for my sister. It is still hideously orange. My Alabaster is on back order, but given that not one of these shades has any relation to skin tone OR Bobbi's usual shades, I am not hopeful. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:RedShoes6
Colour too pale
Date: October 16, 2014
" Unfortunately, I read the other reviews for this product and chose the colour based on them. For me the Alabaster is far too pale. I have very pale skin already and was hoping for more colour. But several reviews said that Alabaster was too dark. I do like the product so far, just wish it had more coverage in regards to colour. "
Review 16 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:Ingraham
(Lethbridge Alberta)
moisturizing treatment foundation
Date: October 15, 2014
" I'm not sure it is the correct color for my complexion. I went to Holt Renfrew to get them to tell me the right color and when they didn't have the product to sell I bought it online....used it once and felt that I looked very pale.
Nothing against the product just that buying online like I did I'm not able to sample colors and/or return the product.
"
Review 17 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bobbinista
(Murfreesboro, TN)
Better Than Ever!
Date: September 12, 2013
Cons: Can't live without
" I admit, when I first heard that it was being reformulated, I was apprehensive, I loved the original so much. I received mine yesterday, and all I can say is "WOW! It appears lighter in texture on the skin, and even more luminous. I had to lightly powder the original, but not this one. It truly looks like my skin, only much better. I bought Porcelain, my winter color, and it is beyond gorgeous. I look like I have perfect skin, not wearing perfect makeup. Thanks, Bobbi! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:95Spencer
(Boston, MA)
Bobbi needs a "Do Over" on this one.
Date: September 5, 2014
" I have to agree with some of the other reviews. I honestly have never met a BB product that I didnt love, but this foundation is a definite miss. The color is way off- I have been using Sand in every other formula, but with this particular foundation, "Sand" is about 2-3 shades darker than "Sand" in other products. The consistency is chalky and did not go on smootly or blend easily like other BB foundations. My face looked blotchy and "dirty." The only thing I did like about it is the pump. While I am generally always happy with Bobbi Brown products and have been using them exclusively for 15+ years, Bobbi needs a "do over" on this one! "
Review 19 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:zodiac73
(Lindenhurst, NY)
The best for my aging sun damaged skin.
Date: September 4, 2014
" Yes it does go on darker than other BB foundations in the same shade (beige 3) however, I've found a way to make it work for me: A foundation brush! It makes a big difference from a sponge or fingers. No longer goes on dark orange! I finish it with the mineral foundation in the same shade and my skin looks and feels great! "
Review 20 for Luminous Moisturizing Treatment Foundation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Jessemine
color isn't true on skin
Date: February 17, 2014
" I love Bobbi Brown foundation, but this new formulation isn't working! The shade I always wear darkened on my face! I looked orange! I was told by a make up artist to choose a lighter color! I wish someone had told me before I bought one! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>