Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Mascara or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Smokey Eye Mascara

Average Customer Rating:
4.537 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
7
98 of 108(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Smokey Eye Mascara
Review 1 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Hilofdreams
(SW, MI)
Fabulous!
Date: October 4, 2013
" I received a sample of this mascara with an order, and I loved it so much that I made another order just to get another sample-the product is not available for purchase just yet. This mascara is not only my favorite Bobbi mascara, but possibly my favorite mascara of all I've tried, and believe there have been many. Smokey eye mascara is a great volume-builder, without clumping or flaking. My lashes looked so full and defined, and they had a nice glossy finish with Smokey. I simply cannot wait until this mascara is available for purchase; I'll probably use auto-replenish to be sure I always have it on hand! "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:WenWen82
(New York NY)
Great Mascara!!!
Date: December 18, 2014
Pros: everyone!
Cons: Can't live without
" I absolutely love this mascara. It lengthens without clumps!!! As awesome as this is my favorite part is that it spreads eyelashes given it a natural yet noticeable look. Just ordered my second one!! "
Review 3 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:shellymj
(New York, NY)
Natural, full feathery lashes
Date: December 15, 2014
" Love this mascara because it makes my blonde thin lashes look feathery, fuller and longer. Plus it comes off easily and I don't need to scrape it off. "
Review 4 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:lovemakeup52
(Burbank, California)
Good For Sensitive Eyes Too
Date: December 5, 2014
" I have trouble with many mascaras because my eyes tend to be sensitive. I was hesitant in trying this because it said "smoky eye" and I was afraid it would bee too heavy, etc. I was wrong! Great mascara! It doesn't clump, and makes my lashes look fantastic with just one coat. And best of all, it doesn't irritate my eyes. So happy I tried it. "
Review 5 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bornabeautyaddict
(Freehold, NJ)
Finally - Long, Dramatic Lashes w/out clumps!
Date: November 13, 2014
Pros: adding drama - length & thickness
Cons: Can't live without, long wearing
" I am very picky about mascara. I like it to be bold and dramatic, but not clumpy, and I have issues with mascara smudging under my eyes. I wasn't quite sure what to expect with this one, but I was pleasantly surprised when I applied. I have used a few other Bobbi mascaras - Intensifying, Everything, and although they had their merits, they were no where near dramatic enough for me. Smokey hits all the marks for me - long, thickened lashes, practically no clumping, and seems to be long wearing. Over the course of two weeks, I've only had one day where I had some smudging under eye, and it wasn't too bad. I would recommend an eye makeup remover, as this one is a little stubborn to completely remove with just cleanser. "
Review 6 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:BBgirl75
Disappointing
Date: November 13, 2014
" Based on the reviews, I expected this mascara to be life changing. Alas, clumps galore and uneven application. Rare fail, BB. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Chazeecat
(New Sharon, ME)
Great Product!!
Date: October 30, 2014
Pros: everyone, volume, long lasting
Cons: long lasting
" I love this mascara!
I have several of Bobbi's mascaras. This one is one of my favorites. It is a great deep black color, and really brings out my lashes. It is perfect for day or night looks. It lasts all day.
My favorite day look with this mascara to put concealer all over my lid, then a taupe eyeshadow in my crease (blended well), then this mascara! It is the perfect eye opening look. Great for days I have been up all night with my kiddos :)
"
Review 8 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:Rebamjr
(Wash DC)
When am I going to learn?
Date: October 27, 2014
Pros: people with naturally curled lashes
Cons: nice brush
" I've been wearing mascara since 1963. When am I going to learn that the only mascara that keeps my lashes curled is waterproof formulas? I have very straight lashes, poker straight. Some even grow downward so I have to use a curler then apply mascara. If I use a non waterproof formula my lashes go straight and down again. So if you have straight lashes like mine this formula probably will not work for you. I had such high hopes b/c of all of the positive reviews. . . sigh "
Review 9 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:AnchoredPearle
(Texas)
Favorite High-end Mascara - Hands Down!
Date: October 27, 2014
Pros: sensitive eyes
Cons: amazing
" I have really sensitive eyes and I always hesitate getting mascara, especially expensive high-end ones because I don't want to "waste" my money on something that won't work for me. Well, I got this as a sample and tried it on and it worked for me! I wasn't trying to rub it off in a few hours either. My sensitive eyes could tolerate it. I've since bought 2 full sized ones and still love it. It builds nicely and makes my lashes super thick and long. "
Review 10 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:annieb226
(southlake tx)
nice chunky lashes
Date: October 30, 2014
" I compared the smokey eye and the lengthening mascara side by side. The lengthening gives you thinner longer lashes (I use it to get definition on my lower lashes), and the smokey eye gives you a thicker, false eyelashey look, which I prefer for my upper lashes. For me, the Lengthening one is too thin of a look for my uppers. "
Review 11 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:missdallas
(Dallas, TX)
WOW!!! Doesn't come off! Stays on all day!
Date: October 29, 2014
" I love this mascara. It' snot only the blackest black but, it separates, thickens and lengthens and it does NOT rub off or smudge until you take it off! Very easy to apply and with only few coats you get full, jet black lashes! "
Review 12 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:FreddysMum
(Boston MA)
Pops your eyes!
Date: October 22, 2014
Pros: good for small eyes, good for light eyelashes
Cons: Can't live without
" I have very light, sparse eyelashes which are nearly invisible. I also have small eyes. The first time I used this - people commented on how great my eyes looked! The mascara makes my eyes dramatic without looking dark or recessed. A must! "
Review 13 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:MC963
(Boston, MA)
Disappointed!!
Date: December 2, 2013
" My go to mascara is Extreme Party, as it is the absolute BEST! I had high expectaions for the Smokey Eye but it failed to deliver. It went on very wet, took way too long to dry and bothered my eyes all night long (they watered all night). I'll be sending it back and sticking to Extreme Party!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:zizzie
(Metrowest Boston)
Very, very nice
Date: September 15, 2014
" Goes on without clumps or problems, stays on all day without smudging or afternoon under-eye drearies. As dark 12 hours later as the moment I applied it. Very nice product. "
Review 15 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:shorty
(New City, NY)
stays on all day
Date: September 14, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
" Best mascara I've ever used. I don't
think it can be improved upon. I've been using it since it came out. I have very short eyelashes and the Smokey Eye Mascara actually makes my lashes look very long and thick.
"
Review 16 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:PLCPHL
(Philadelphia, PA)
The Best Ever
Date: August 23, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
" This mascara is my favorite of all time. It does a better job of highlighting my eyelashes than any other mascara I have used. The consistency is perfect, it lengthens lashes significantly and it separates lashes effectively. What more could I ask for! "
Review 17 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:mothernurse
(Panama City, Florida)
Date: August 26, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
" This mascara makes my eyelashes so long and beautiful. It is the best! "
Review 18 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:CaseyR
(Catonsville, MD)
Great
Date: August 12, 2014
" This is not my favorite by Bobbi Brown, but it is a great Mascara! I think the reason I don't absolutely love this mascara is because I am not the biggest fan of the brush. "
Review 19 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:Suesings
(Pittsburgh, PA)
Nice but not outstanding
Date: October 3, 2013
" This mascara is nice, but it doesn't coat so well on the 1st application that you don't have to reapply. It's just average, as far as that goes... I always curl my lashes 1st, then put 2 coats of mascara on and wanted to try to skip the 2nd coat, so I tried this. But unfortunately, this mascara was not different. In fact, it took out the curl and I had to re-curl the lashes after application. Also, it did make them stick together afterward, but didn't clump, so I guess that's good. I'm glad I just got the sample instead of splurging on a regular size, because the drug store brands work just as well for much less the cost. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smokey Eye Mascara
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:PowderSno
(New York, NY)
Disappointing.
Date: July 8, 2014
" I have been ordering Bobbi for many years, now, and with each passing year, her mascaras get worse and worse. This one was dry before I even opened it. There isn't a lot of it, and what there is barely does the job. Takes several coats, and it still doesn't live up to the description. At all. Bobbi, please bring back your older formulations. This one is all hype. "
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>