Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Cleansing Story or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Buffing Grains for Face

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (162 reviews)
5 stars
125
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
152 of 162(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Buffing Grains for Face
Review 1 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:HappyChickadee
(Ann Arbor MI)
I am a Makeup Devotee
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Can't believe it
Date: April 11, 2011
Cons: excessively overrated
"I can't get around saying it -- I just did not like the buffing grains at all. This is the first of Bobbi's skin care products I haven't *loved*. I expected to adore these from the first use! I couldn't wait to try them out!
I used them with the lathering tube soap for my first time. And was so disappointed... I found them sort of mushy; they were not at all particularly gritty. It seemed that moistening them actually softened them beyond the point of use... not what I expected from an exfoliant. These grains are ground adzuki beans and that's exactly what they felt like... ground raw beans. Also -- and another first for me -- I didn't care at ALL for the smell. It was simply unpleasant; as if something organic had "turned" (I suppose that's a possibility).
Other top-rate exfoliating products I've used are of comparable volume and price and sincerely far superior to this one in my opinion... and that is just a personal preference. The two stars are for the pretty product -- it really does look nice in the jar! -- and the adorable little jar (which wasn't nearly as small as I'd been anticipating from reviews here). The packaging itself was actually quite lovely. I thought the shaker top was perfect for dispensing. But from a Bobbi devotee it actually almost hurts to say it -- I will not be using this product again."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
(San Francisco, CA)
Date: January 1, 2014
"So far I have only used the Adzuki Buffing Grains in combination with my facial cleanser, not on their own. I have used a milky, non foaming cleanser and added the grains, making a paste and softly exfoliated my face. The resulting paste is relatively smooth and I like the soft natural scent of the ground beans. It remotely reminds me of oats and I find this smell soothing. I did not find the particles sharp or rough. I have sensitive skin and I have experienced rosacea from time to time years ago and so I try to be gentle to my skin and avoid any irritation. On the other hand, obviously regular exfoliation is a necessary basis for my skin treatments that follow to have their maximum effect.
So far so good, I have used it for two months, once a week, and I have been experimenting a bit with the amount of grains I have used each time. I find that a dime size of the powdered grains poured into my palm and worked into a paste is sufficient to massage my whole face. Therefore, despite the price tag being quite high, I think that the cost of one jar of this product is actually reasonable, given the fact that it should last for a year or longer. I also found that it takes a good amount of rinsing to remove any stray particles, but I didn't find this to be a real issue. My skin has been smooth after using the grains and I have not experienced any issues with redness or irritation. I will continue using this product.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:RoRo1
(Athens Ga)
LOVE!!!!
Date: July 15, 2014
Pros: any skin type
Cons: a good exfoliator to add to your skincare regimen
"I am a BB skincare newbie....I was given a sample of this product along with BB lathering soap while visiting a BB counter. I used this product for two weeks and immediately fell in love! I paired it with my sample of lathering soap, and was extremely pleased with the results. I did not find the grains sharp or rough being that I have sensitive skin. I did not experience any irritation. This product reminds me of oats and I find the smell pleasant. This product left my skin smooth and clearer. I will definitely purchase this product again....I have been told about BB Intensive Skin Supplement Serum; which I am very eager to try and hopefully add to my skincare regimen. The BB counter did not have any samples to give me to try, so I will just continue to read the views and hopefully when I visit the counter again BB will have samples to offer....Or I will continue to watch for BB to offer her Intensive Skin Supplement Serum as On the Go or samples when you purchase a certain amount.....Thanks"
Review 4 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:loveroflife
(Chicago, Il)
a real treat
Date: July 21, 2014
"I enjoy this product on my pampering days, I use it 2 times a week, and I love the results, smooth glowing skin. Just wish it were bigger for the price. Thats why I give 4 stars. Please make this little jar bigger. =)
Thanks"
Review 5 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:MooseMe
(Dallas, Tx)
Works Well
Date: February 23, 2013
Pros: All Skin Types
"I've had this exfoliator for a while and every time I use it I love it! But therein lies the problem...it is an absolute pain to use! The packaging is horrible! It's hard to get the right amount out without over pouring it. I've used this exfoliator about 8 times and the bottle is half empty. For the price the packaging could be a lot better! Now the exfoliator itself is quite nice! It leaves my face smooth and polished and I love that I can add it to my own cleanser! I would have given it 5 stars for sure if the packaging was better because it really is the only thing holding it back! I may consider transferring it to another bottle of some sort. All in all I enjoy it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:PromGal
(Brooklyn Heights, NY)
HIGHLY RECOMMEND WITH EXTRA BALM RINSE
Date: May 19, 2014
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"I love the Buffing Grains for Face, and this is my second bottle. I use it daily with the Extra Balm Rinse, and I have noticed a real difference in my skin. This pumps up the EBR with its luscious citrus scent and creamy water soluble formula to a whole new level of cleansing and easy rinse off. Highly recommend.
I also use it with more grains as a hand treatment, and the difference is remarkable. Thanks a Bobbi for my new favorite product.
"
Review 7 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:EducatedConsumer
(Florida)
Overpriced and Ineffective Gimmick!
Date: November 5, 2013
Pros: gimmick, paying for packaging and name
Cons: overpriced, ineffective
"I had purchased these, as a splurge, because I do like the majority of Bobbi Brown's skin care products (lathering tube soap, etc.).
However, through researching, I found that I can buy actual medical-grade microdermabrasion crystals to use on the face or body for a fraction of the cost, elsewhere, compared to the amazingly overpriced buffing grains, and get better results!
I understand that you are paying for a name brand, but come on - this price is ridiculous for what you get!
You could also grind up your own beans for a fraction of the cost!
What a gimmick!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:PensGirl87
(Williamsburg, PA)
Scrubbing Bubbles
Date: April 17, 2014
Pros: everybody
Cons: Can't live without
"That's what it feels like on my face when I add these little grain bits to my lathering tube soap. It feels sooo good! When I rinse my face, it's a true Ahhh moment! The glass bottle is so attractive. I keep it sitting out on my sink. : )"
Review 9 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:dms09
(LA, CA)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Extra Dry
LOVE THIS! best exfoliator!
Date: March 12, 2010
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Gentle, exfoliating
"i have dry, flaky skin, and i used to use the peeling gels from asian countries. they worked, but even after my skin was peeled, the surface was still not smooth, and i would still have skin peeling from under it.
From a purchase i got from Bobbi Brown, they gave me a sample of this, along with the Lathering Tube Soap, and they told me to mix the two and use it as an exfoliator. I didn't think it would work if peeling gels didn't even work for me, but I tried it out and it works SO WELL! It wasn't even harsh, but it left my skin so smooth and free of flaking skin! I'm definitely going back to buy this!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:FortWorthGeo
(FtWorthTX)
Marvelous Buff
Date: March 2, 2014
"Not sure, but think these Buffing Grains might contain some magic. It could be that they have such a soft yet scrubby feel, I actually cleanse longer. In either case, this product improves my skin treatment results.
To dispense, I roll the bottle along my palm into which I've already put some cleanser (I alternate those-Lathering Tube Soap, Extra Balm Rinse, Soothing Cleansing Oil). Then, scrub gently. Aaaaah. Rinse long and well with warm water. Magic!
"
Review 11 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Lablover
(Hays, KS)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Spa in a Bottle
Date: July 2, 2009
Pros: Combination Skin, Dull Skin
Cons: Gentle
"The message in this bottle is smooth, flawless skin. Combined with a dab of lather tube soap, this product preps the skin for foundation or my personal favorite--night treatment. These little scrubbers gently peel away dull, lifeless skin and reveal a buffed and tone face. The buffing grains are to the face what primer is to a blank artist's canvas."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:bbgrl
(harrisburg, pa)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Normal
softens skin
Date: June 17, 2010
Pros: Normal Skin, Dry Skin
Cons: exfoliating
"my normal/dry skin feels like glass after using buffing grains, however, it smells awful - like dead fish."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Hilofdreams
(SW, MI)
Perfect exfoliator!
Date: January 27, 2013
Pros: Dry Skin, Dull Skin
Cons: Can't live without, Gentle
"I am in love with these buffing grains-they are the perfect balance of gentle and effective. I have tried so many exfoliators, and it seems like you either get a product that is too harsh or not effective at removing dead skin, never both. Until I tried adding buffing grains to my cleanser, that is. I use these about once a week, and my skin is so smooth. I sprinkle just a little bit into my palm and then add some EXTRA rinsing balm, mix them together, and use to clean my face. For me, it's the perfect answer for exfoliating my dry face. A little goes a long way; I have had the same jar of buffing grains for over a year. I can't live without these!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CLC1728
(Port Richey, FL)
OMG it doesn't get any better~
Date: March 28, 2013
"This has to be one of my favorite products that Bobbi has, tied with Vitamin Enriched Face Base. I love the fact that you can add as little as you want or as much as you want....LOVE LOVE LOVE~"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:jenc
(Middle Island, N.Y.)
Great product, not a good dispenser
Date: December 1, 2013
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"The Buffing Grains themselves are great! They are gentle and not to harsh. The container is nice looking but horrible to use. It's so hard to control the amt. of product dispensed and sometimes too much comes out and you can't put it back. If it's mixed with a creamy cleanser, like I do, you run out of grains before cleanser so you should order two containers of grains for every tube of cleanser and the grains are too high priced for that. The top for dispensing the grains should have numerous holes like a salt shaker instead of one big hole and the cap should be removable because after awhile, the grains stick to the sides of the container. The only way to loosen them was to stick a Q-tip through the hole and rub the sides of the container. Please reconsider the packaging for this Great product."
Review 16 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Barbie50
(Des Moines, IA)
Essential renewal
Date: December 23, 2013
Pros: any age
Cons: a basic
"Exfoliating makes everything else that follows more effective. I like to use this product with the cleansing oil, or bobbie's tube soap. Any moisture or repair product can then really "work." This is a great, long-lasting product. A little goes a long way :)"
Review 17 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:jazzy
(Virginia)
a new skin care staple
Date: August 26, 2012
"Even those of us with "mature" skin need to exfoliate so I've tried my share of products. They are either too rough or too messy or too expensive. After reading the favorable reviews, I thought I'd give this version a try. I love the versatility of being able to use it with water or my cleanser. And the results are terrific - clean, soft skin with no irritation. Why did it take me so long to try this?"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:KellymomNJ
(Cherry Hill)
amazing
Date: December 11, 2013
Cons: Can't live without
"After the first time you use this product you will notice a difference! My face has never felt smoother. It's a must have product for your daily routine."
Review 19 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:gina1234
(San Diego, CA)
A good DIY Exfoliator
Date: December 30, 2011
"This is a very good scrub. It does its job of exfoliating well. I have used it with the BB tube soap and a creamy cleanser from another brand. It left my skin smooth, clearer and even a little brighter. It looked and felt better after i used it. I have used it on my hands & elbows too with good results. I do not like the fact that it does not dissolve completely and there are always a few grains left hanging around on your face, no matter how well you rinse. It gave good results despite that and I would buy it again. They also need to get rid of the glass bottle."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:bisou76
(Ohio)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Just ok.
Date: July 15, 2010
Pros: Dull Skin
"I purchased these buffing grains based on all the outstanding reviews. Unfortunately, I didn't have amazing results. I have combination, sensitive skin. I used these several times and didn't notice a change in the texture or appearance of my skin. It didn't affect my skin in a negative way~ just no real change. I also found the glass bottle to be difficult to open and slippery in the shower and the large dispenser area in the top of the jar makes it very likely to pour out way too much and waste the product. I tried them with BB cleansing oil, lathering tube soap and on their own~ with no results. Will not be repurchasing this product."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>