Customer Reviews for Buffing Grains for Face

Buffing Grains for Face

Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (169 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
159 of 169(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Buffing Grains for Face
Review 1 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date: April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Ann Arbor MI
I am a Makeup Devotee
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others

Can't believe it

I can't get around saying it -- I just did not like the buffing grains at all. This is the first of Bobbi's skin care products I haven't *loved*. I expected to adore these from the first use! I couldn't wait to try them out!
I used them with the lathering tube soap for my first time. And was so disappointed... I found them sort of mushy; they were not at all particularly gritty. It seemed that moistening them actually softened them beyond the point of use... not what I expected from an exfoliant. These grains are ground adzuki beans and that's exactly what they felt like... ground raw beans. Also -- and another first for me -- I didn't care at ALL for the smell. It was simply unpleasant; as if something organic had "turned" (I suppose that's a possibility).
Other top-rate exfoliating products I've used are of comparable volume and price and sincerely far superior to this one in my opinion... and that is just a personal preference. The two stars are for the pretty product -- it really does look nice in the jar! -- and the adorable little jar (which wasn't nearly as small as I'd been anticipating from reviews here). The packaging itself was actually quite lovely. I thought the shaker top was perfect for dispensing. But from a Bobbi devotee it actually almost hurts to say it -- I will not be using this product again.
Cons: excessively overrated
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: June 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: amazing

Fantastic!

These greens are fantastic. Gentle exfoliation, yet very effective. My skin is smooth, flawless, cleansed, pores are very clean. My makeup goes on very smooth. My serums andand moisturizers are absorbed much better. You will not be disappointed with this product. Well worth the price. You can mix it with water or your cleanser. I use it with water. Love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:CA
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: amazing

first time use, it is amazing

I just bought this product by reviews. It was first time to use it. When I used it, I feel a little bit itchy. But It was not hurt, and you will see your skin get clean skin. After use it, I saw my skin became clean and bright. It is good product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: December 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Denver, CO

Luxury Product / Suggest Different Packaging

I love this product. Like the other reviewers, I love how my skin feels after using this with a cleanser. You can mix a small amount with any type of cleanser. I use it once or twice a week to gently exfoliate(I use Retin-A =small flakes on my forehead and cheeks). I wish the bottle was not made of glass - it does get slippery and is hard to manage in the shower (accident waiting to happen!). I also have sensitive skin and this product does not irritate (I was a bit worried about that when I purchased). Overall great product, but removed one star due to packaging. Bobbi, please use plastic instead of glass!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:San Francisco, CA

So far I have only used the Adzuki Buffing Grains in combination with my facial cleanser, not on their own. I have used a milky, non foaming cleanser and added the grains, making a paste and softly exfoliated my face. The resulting paste is relatively smooth and I like the soft natural scent of the ground beans. It remotely reminds me of oats and I find this smell soothing. I did not find the particles sharp or rough. I have sensitive skin and I have experienced rosacea from time to time years ago and so I try to be gentle to my skin and avoid any irritation. On the other hand, obviously regular exfoliation is a necessary basis for my skin treatments that follow to have their maximum effect.
So far so good, I have used it for two months, once a week, and I have been experimenting a bit with the amount of grains I have used each time. I find that a dime size of the powdered grains poured into my palm and worked into a paste is sufficient to massage my whole face. Therefore, despite the price tag being quite high, I think that the cost of one jar of this product is actually reasonable, given the fact that it should last for a year or longer. I also found that it takes a good amount of rinsing to remove any stray particles, but I didn't find this to be a real issue. My skin has been smooth after using the grains and I have not experienced any issues with redness or irritation. I will continue using this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:West Hartford, CT
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Normal

Gentle exfoliation

This is the first time I have used this product and it makes my skin feel smooth. If you don't have the time or money for a monthly facial, this product goes a long way to filling that void.
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Gentle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Austin,Tx
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: cant't live without

Glowing results!

I absolutely love bobbi brown. From the makeup to skin care i have used it for years. This is one of my favs! I add a little of this to the cleansing balm and its a wonderful aromatherapy facial just like a spa. My skin feels nourished and silky smooth. I use the cleansing oil also and hydrating face cream. I have sensitive skin that is on the dry side. Occasional break outs but none with these products!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Dallas, Tx

Works Well

I've had this exfoliator for a while and every time I use it I love it! But therein lies the problem...it is an absolute pain to use! The packaging is horrible! It's hard to get the right amount out without over pouring it. I've used this exfoliator about 8 times and the bottle is half empty. For the price the packaging could be a lot better! Now the exfoliator itself is quite nice! It leaves my face smooth and polished and I love that I can add it to my own cleanser! I would have given it 5 stars for sure if the packaging was better because it really is the only thing holding it back! I may consider transferring it to another bottle of some sort. All in all I enjoy it.
Pros: All Skin Types
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Athens Ga

LOVE!!!!

I am a BB skincare newbie....I was given a sample of this product along with BB lathering soap while visiting a BB counter. I used this product for two weeks and immediately fell in love! I paired it with my sample of lathering soap, and was extremely pleased with the results. I did not find the grains sharp or rough being that I have sensitive skin. I did not experience any irritation. This product reminds me of oats and I find the smell pleasant. This product left my skin smooth and clearer. I will definitely purchase this product again....I have been told about BB Intensive Skin Supplement Serum; which I am very eager to try and hopefully add to my skincare regimen. The BB counter did not have any samples to give me to try, so I will just continue to read the views and hopefully when I visit the counter again BB will have samples to offer....Or I will continue to watch for BB to offer her Intensive Skin Supplement Serum as On the Go or samples when you purchase a certain amount.....Thanks
Pros: any skin type
Cons: a good exfoliator to add to your skincare regimen
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Stamford, CT

I glow !

Not only does this pretty bottle look great on my counter, the grains are easy to use and leave my skin glowing. Now, I can stick to one exfoliating product instead of trying one after another.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Chicago, Il

a real treat

I enjoy this product on my pampering days, I use it 2 times a week, and I love the results, smooth glowing skin. Just wish it were bigger for the price. Thats why I give 4 stars. Please make this little jar bigger. =)
Thanks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:SW, MI

Perfect exfoliator!

I am in love with these buffing grains-they are the perfect balance of gentle and effective. I have tried so many exfoliators, and it seems like you either get a product that is too harsh or not effective at removing dead skin, never both. Until I tried adding buffing grains to my cleanser, that is. I use these about once a week, and my skin is so smooth. I sprinkle just a little bit into my palm and then add some EXTRA rinsing balm, mix them together, and use to clean my face. For me, it's the perfect answer for exfoliating my dry face. A little goes a long way; I have had the same jar of buffing grains for over a year. I can't live without these!
Pros: Dry Skin, Dull Skin
Cons: Can't live without, Gentle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:LA, CA
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Extra Dry

LOVE THIS! best exfoliator!

i have dry, flaky skin, and i used to use the peeling gels from asian countries. they worked, but even after my skin was peeled, the surface was still not smooth, and i would still have skin peeling from under it.
From a purchase i got from Bobbi Brown, they gave me a sample of this, along with the Lathering Tube Soap, and they told me to mix the two and use it as an exfoliator. I didn't think it would work if peeling gels didn't even work for me, but I tried it out and it works SO WELL! It wasn't even harsh, but it left my skin so smooth and free of flaking skin! I'm definitely going back to buy this!
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Gentle, exfoliating
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Virginia

a new skin care staple

Even those of us with "mature" skin need to exfoliate so I've tried my share of products. They are either too rough or too messy or too expensive. After reading the favorable reviews, I thought I'd give this version a try. I love the versatility of being able to use it with water or my cleanser. And the results are terrific - clean, soft skin with no irritation. Why did it take me so long to try this?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: July 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Hays, KS
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others

Spa in a Bottle

The message in this bottle is smooth, flawless skin. Combined with a dab of lather tube soap, this product preps the skin for foundation or my personal favorite--night treatment. These little scrubbers gently peel away dull, lifeless skin and reveal a buffed and tone face. The buffing grains are to the face what primer is to a blank artist's canvas.
Pros: Combination Skin, Dull Skin
Cons: Gentle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:harrisburg, pa
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Normal

softens skin

my normal/dry skin feels like glass after using buffing grains, however, it smells awful - like dead fish.
Pros: Normal Skin, Dry Skin
Cons: exfoliating
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date: November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Florida

Overpriced and Ineffective Gimmick!

I had purchased these, as a splurge, because I do like the majority of Bobbi Brown's skin care products (lathering tube soap, etc.).
However, through researching, I found that I can buy actual medical-grade microdermabrasion crystals to use on the face or body for a fraction of the cost, elsewhere, compared to the amazingly overpriced buffing grains, and get better results!
I understand that you are paying for a name brand, but come on - this price is ridiculous for what you get!
You could also grind up your own beans for a fraction of the cost!
What a gimmick!
Pros: gimmick, paying for packaging and name
Cons: overpriced, ineffective
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Des Moines, IA

Essential renewal

Exfoliating makes everything else that follows more effective. I like to use this product with the cleansing oil, or bobbie's tube soap. Any moisture or repair product can then really "work." This is a great, long-lasting product. A little goes a long way :)
Pros: any age
Cons: a basic
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Cherry Hill

amazing

After the first time you use this product you will notice a difference! My face has never felt smoother. It's a must have product for your daily routine.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buffing Grains for Face
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Milwaukee, WI

Control over the grain!

Like that you can control how much of this product you use by the dispense of the bottle. It's nice to control the amount especially if sometimes exfoliators make me dry. I like to use this item mainly in certain areas that are bothersome, so the item will probably last a while. I just don't like the packaging. It's annoying. Not easy at all. Too much sometimes comes out and vice versa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>