Customer Reviews for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm

Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm

Average Customer Rating:
4.745 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(408 Reviews) 400
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (408 reviews)
5 stars
344
4 stars
42
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
6
392 of 408(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Review 1 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:DutchGirl
Location:Napa, CA

Amazing!!!

This tinted moisterizer has exceeded my expectations. I have always used regular foundations, the last one being Bobbi Brown's Luminous Moisterizing Foundation, but when I tried this tinted moisterzer for the first time, I could not believe how it gave me this "inner glow" that has always eluded me with other foundations.
I have had 3 compliments today from coworkers who noticed and asked what make-up I was using, because it made me look so healthy and glowing.
I am 50 years old and have always heard, that as you get older, you should use less foundation or switch to a tinted moisterizer.
The medium shade that the Boobi Brown customer service girl recommended on the live chat after I told which Bobbi Brown foundation color I was using until now, worked perfect for me.
I am completely sold on this tinted moisterizer and will never ever go back to standard foundation. I finally got my "healthy glow" that I tried to previously get by putting "highlighting" products over my foundation.
All I do now is put on the tinted moisterizer, and some blush, and my eye make up and I am good to go.
I truly love love love this stuff!!!!
It does even out my complexion without looking like a mask, as other foundations can.
This is the way to go for the maturing skin, not to mention the fact you get SPF25 and moisterizing benefits at the same time...
Again, LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: December 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:AlyM
Location:Spokane, WA, USA

Great tinted moisturizer for winter!

I have sensitive combination skin, which has made it tricky to find skin care and foundation that I really like. I've been using Bobbi Brown's Vitamin Enriched Face Base in combination with her Long-Wear foundation, because my skin has had some unevenness and I wanted plenty of coverage. That combination has worked fairly well for me in the summer, but as the weather was getting colder and more dry, I noticed that the texture on some areas on my face were looking and feeling a bit rough. I was nervous to try this product because it's recommended primarily for dry skin, but I'm glad I decided to go for it.
The first time I used this product, I hated it. My face looked very greasy and I thought for sure that I'd have to return it. I wanted to give it a fair chance before I took it back, so I tried it again the next day. It was a completely different experience. Perhaps I just used too much the first day, or maybe my skin just had a brief freak-out to the change of product, but as I've continued to use this tinted balm, I've been very pleased with the way my skin looks. The texture and evenness have improved, and my skin has a glow that's been lacking in the past few months. I've been using it as a moisturizer and light foundation in one, which has been very convenient. I do sometimes use a bit of foundation or concealer around my eye area, or to cover the occasional blemish, but most days I haven't felt like it was necessary. I think my skin has improved enough that I don't feel like I require as much coverage as I did before, which is pretty amazing.
I deducted one star because you have to be extra careful using it around your eyes (more careful than I ever was with my previous products), otherwise your eyes may burn a bit throughout the day. The other issue is that I find the scent pretty off-putting. It smells very herbal, almost medicinal. There are moments where I find it reminds me of calamine lotion, which is unfortunate. On the bright side, the smell is short lived, so I only really notice it during application.
Overall I quite like it, and I plan to use it throughout the winter or whenever my skin needs a bit of extra moisture. We'll see how it does once things start to warm up again.
Pros: winter skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: December 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:loubear
Location:rockland, de

tinted moisturizing balm

I love the moisturizing benefits of this product. I have very dry skin and it really helped to blur the fine lines. I ordered the medium which is the color I use in other makeup lines, however this has more yellow in it than I like. The lighter color would be too pale for me. I would love love to order this again however I'm concerned about the color.
Pros: Dry Skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:clippie
Location:hamden, ct

Great for more mature woman in their 60's

I watched Lisa Eldridge's video on make-up for mature women. She suggested this product so I tried it. It does not settle into wrinkles, it keeps me moisturized for hours, and it just makes my skin look great with a nice glow. Reading other reviews someone complained of a smell, I am very sensitive to scents this one does not bother me. I love this product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Amy1977
Location:Austin

Lovely dewy natural glow

LOVE this product. Please never take it away, Bobbi! It blends so well with my skin, moisturizers, has SPF, and gives me that glow and naturalooking color. If I want more coverage, I use a foundation in some areas. Works very well for my "mature and wise" skin.(It's dry.) I use it all year round, even in the hot Texas summer.
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:flnative07
Location:Orlando, FL.

The Search Is Over...Finally.

To combat my over 40 dry, sensitive skin, I used to put sunscreen, an additional moisturizer and primer on my face before foundation, only to look in the mirror and see that my face still didn't look right. Maybe it's the primer? Try another. Maybe it's the moisturizer? Try another. Maybe it's the foundation? Try another. Then, I saw a video where Bobbi used the EXTRA TM Balm on a model, and decided to try it. WOW. Instead of dry, chalky and cakey looking, my face looks natural, even-toned, glowing. I am a 3.0 in Bobbi's foundations and the Light-Medium color is perfect. Not only that, I no longer need additional SPF and primer products. This takes care of everything. It won't completely cover redness or hyperpigmentation, but if you let the balm sink in, it will provide the perfect canvas for spot-coverage. I especially like this Balm paired with the foundation stick. I apply the Balm with a foundation brush on clean, bare skin and let it sink in for about 10 minutes. Then, I apply the foundation stick on my nose and chin, and FINALLY, my face looks like ME. To keep the dewey glow, I use powder only in the tzone. Perfect look stays all day. I will never be without Bobbi's EXTRA TM Balm.
Pros: Dry Skin, sheer coverage
Cons: Can't live without, desert island pick
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Sherilynn
Location:Colorado

This is for those who are undecided...

I really struggled with making yet another foundation purchase after trying numerous products over the years. I am completely thrilled with the results. At 54 years I have some noticeable changes to my skin: fine lines, redness, hyper pigmentation from the sun and an overall loss of glow- this product was amazing and I truly mean that. It provided light to medium coverage (I applied with a damp, good quality sponge# and evened out my skin tone without settling into a single fine line. There is absolutely no powdery, cakey, or gloppy cream finish- no exaggeration of lines/wrinkles. Instead my skin looks truly fresh and dewy- not shiny; no unrealistic glittery components in the finish- just bright, youthful looking skin. I know I sound like a commercial for this product but I'm writing with passion for all of you, who- like me- thought I could never feel comfortable in my own skin again. I have some areas of redness in the creases of my nose which require more coverage- for that I used the BB foundation stick #also applied with a damp, good quality sponge# for beautiful coverage. These two products combined gave me a light, dewy complexion all over #from the moisturizing balm# and beautiful coverage of my redness -precisely and ONLY where needed #from the foundation stick#. The two products blended together beautifully- no kidding, seamlessly. I was also concerned about getting a good color match shopping online. As a young woman my complexion was very fair #almost porcelain) with age and sun exposure it has darkened substantially in some areas. Finding a good match has been impossible. The Light to Medium Tinted Moisturizing Balm was perfect- how it works across the multiple shades of my skin- I don't understand- but it does! It is worth every penny- it takes just a small amount to get my whole face, neck, deco looking beautiful without a trace of looking like I'm wearing makeup. For the foundation stick I took a chance and tried Sand. Again perfect! Most foundations I have tried made red areas look even redder and still didn't cover and made the rest of my complexion too orange. These two products cooled down my complexion. I am so happy I tried these products! I am a Bobbi Brown convert. I once again have the lovely complexion of my past- and am getting compliments once again. Try it, if it somehow does not work for you return it- taking a chance was a gift to myself. I have such confidence now- especially in bright daylight- nothing to hide anymore!
Pros: aging skin fine lines/wrinkles
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:MereBear
Location:Washington, D.C.

Incredible Foundation/Moisturizer Hybrid

For my dry, sensitive skin - this is absolutely perfect! I love the sheer application and dewey finish. It brings just the right amount of coverage and glow to your skin.
Just a few notes to new users - I noticed dry flaking of my skin when I first used this product over my usual Cetaphil moisturizer. Therefore, I recommend using one of the BB moisturizers because this fixed the problem perfectly! Secondly, I just started using the CC cream underneath this product and after my moisturizer, and it is ahhhh-mazing! The CC cream allows the balm to glide on more smoothly and provides slightly more coverage over any redness in the cheeks or forehead.
These are two facts that I wish I had known prior to my first use, so hopefully this helps you enjoy the product as much as I do now!
Pros: Dry Skin, sensitive skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:Ladymorri
Location:Los Angeles, CA

Where have you been all my life??

I'm not one prone to exaggeration nor do I write reviews very often, but in this case I must share how incredible I have found this product to be. So you know where I'm coming from: I'm 35 years old, very fair, blue-eyed. I have recently struggled with adult acne (but thankfully have just about won that battle *fingers crossed*) and I have combination skin. I don't need heavy coverage at this point I would simply like something that "enhances" my own skin. I have bounced around with various foundations my whole life - mineral powders, regular cream products, etc. All I want is a product that provides decent coverage without making me look like I'm actually wearing something. I hate looking dry or cakey, but I don't want to look greasy either. Well, OH MY GOODNESS! This product is MIRACULOUS! I waited for a week before I wrote this to be sure I didn't break out or I wasn't having some kind of honeymoon phase with it. I'm not! It is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I've never tried any kind of tinted moisturizer before so I can't compare, but it goes on like silk. It blends, moisturizes, makes my complexion look smooth and dewy. I can build it in the areas that need a tad more coverage, it lasts all day and I don't feel like I am wearing a thing on my face. I have never, in my entire life, felt this beautiful wearing make-up. And THAT is a statement I think every woman longs to make!!! I see no reason that I won't be wearing this for the rest of my life. I only weep a little inside for the fact that I didn't know about it 20 years ago. *sob* Thank you, Bobbi Brown, for truly making me feel like a beautiful woman for the FIRST TIME in my life when I'm wearing 'foundation'. I can look in the mirror and see ME and not the make-up on my skin. What freedom!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:charleylinda
Location:Asheville, NC

Wonderful !

Since I am over 65, I find that less is best! I've been using tinted moisturizers for a few years but never found the correct tone for my skin. I read about this online and decided to give it a try. I chatted with a rep and she recommended I try 'Light'..it arrived and it is perfect. Not too light and not too yellow or dark. Others have said this makes their skin glow and I think it does!
Not heavy but giving the skin a fresh look.
Does NOT highlight lines or wrinkles. #I was concerned about this#...just a slight sheen that especially at my age, I love to see. It feels wonderful combined w/the EXTRA moisturizer. I wear Beige in the color stick and Light in this moisturizer was just right for me. I think you will like it...a LOT!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:keepitsimple
Location:Small Town, OH

fantastic product

This is a three-in-one product that does not shortcut on any of its three functions which are light attractive coverage, effective sunscreen, and all purpose moisurizer. Product goes on smootly, lasts all day, and will prevent sunburn even under grueling conditions. I use it year round, with a lighter shade in the cold months and a slightly darker for the sunkissed look in summer.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:gapnyc
Location:Rochester, NY

Great for dry skin...

I'm returning to using this product so I'm still learning how to blend it into my skin. All the BB products I've purchased in the past ( and there are many!) always earn five stars and this one does also. As I become more familiar with it, I'll get better and faster at applying it Right now I like it because it lasts all day and gives a natural looking finish. This BB foundation leaves my dry skin feeling soft and moist all day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Hummerlvr
Location:Buffalo Grove, IL

A terrific product!

I just love this product. My skin has been extremely dry since the weather turned cold, and I've had frustration finding a moisturizer that works and a foundation that blends well with it. I've used BB's Moisture Rich Foundation for several years, but it just wasn't working for me. I use Warm Sand, so I ordered Light in the Tinted Moisturizing Balm and it's perfect! I love how easily it blends and how light it feels on my skin. Thank you, Bobbi!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:dvonkrauland
Location:Miami, Florida

Everyday staple!

I'm on my third or fourth jar of this beautiful Tinted Moisturizing Balm. It hydrates all day, evens skin tone and has SPF! I apply it with Bobbi's Foundation Brush to spread a thin layer over my face. Il leaves my skin looking radiant and glowing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:keny
Location:cedar rapids, IA

Love it!

For cold weather (right now) this is the best! My skin is very sensitive and dry, and this works better than anything to keep it hydrated & dewy looking. The tint is perfectly matched to my skin tone. I highly recommend this product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Written By:GDGL
Location:Lake Forest, IL

Outstanding produce

I have used this product for years and will use no other foundation. It is actually a tinted luscious moisturizer. Goes on smoothly and leaves no streaking or lines on your face.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: November 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Daydreamer
Location:Bahama, NC

Soothing Balm

This balm is soothing and lasts all day. I use it in combination with the foundation stick and it is perfect! Coverage is not quite as good as other tinted moisturizers I have tried, but, I have trouble with redness/sensitivity and the soothing quality makes the trade off worth it.
Pros: dry/sensitive skin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:gypsysmom
Location:Randleman NC

Great for Dry Skin!

This is a nice moisturizing balm with sheer coverage. It has enough coverage to even out slight redness and overall skintone. I have cool toned light/medium skin and the extra light is a good match. It stays put and lasts 7 hours with no problem. It keeps my very dry skin hydrated throughout the day. I took off one star because there is a strong smell that does last all day. It does not bother me but someone who is sensitive may not enjoy it.
Pros: Dry Skin, added spf, mature skin
Cons: definitely a repurchase
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:Yari
Location:Washinton DC

Most moisturizing cream I've ever tried!

This is the best tinted/SPF moisturizer I've ever tried and I've tried them all...I was very skeptical about paying $50.00 but would do it again without a second thought (and I'm cheap!).
First I have to say that this product is "EXTRA" moisturizing therefore DO NOT buy this if you don't have "EXTRA" dry skin. I have extremely dry skin (specially in the winter) almost to the point of eczema and this has done wonders!! My skin looks supple, the coverage is just enough and it looks dewey versus greasy all day! You Do NOT (and should not) have to use very much which guarantees that it will last long and the added bonus of it being 25 SPF has made this product my best find and buy of 2011!!!
NOTE: Since I have dry patches versus completely dry skin, I DO have to use a translucent powder on top. Most people in my opinion will too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:ABBB
Location:Mobie, AL

Nice, but not a color match for me

I really wanted to love this, unfortunately, the shade (Alabaster) was way too dark. Although this is a very sheer tint it left my face darker than my natural skin color. I wear Alabaster in the Foundation Stick and in Skin Foundation and these match my skin perfectly. This balm did feel great on my skin, however. I really wish I could have made this work for me. I would recommend this for people with dry skin that are not extremely fair like myself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>