Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Get Marie Clare's Look or
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bobbi Brown.

Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base

Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
43 of 46(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Review 1 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:tebi
I am a Makeup Novice
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
honestly brightening
Date: August 10, 2011
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: evens out skin tone
"i purchased this product after a makeup counter consultation. i was advised to use it as a sun protector and base pre concealer and powder. i noticed a strong sunblock smell, but as one reviewer put it, it goes away immediately, thankfully. the texture is not exactly light, especially since i have an oily t-zone and i live in a tropical country. i'm glad though, that i was taught by the makeup artist on the proper application - to put just a little, rub vigorously using your fingertips then gently pat (don't rub) on the cheeks first (since they are the least oily) using an outward motion, then whatever's left on your fingertips you pat on your forehead and nose. ensures complete absorption and optimal amount of coverage everytime. i still get oily in the t-zone during midday, but nothing blotting can't fix. what surprised me though was after 4 or 5 weeks of using this product daily, my complexion cleared up (a feat, since i deal with monthly breakouts), my skin tone evened out and my cheeks, nose and undereye area literally looked brighter - fairer and more radiant. i don't remember ever having skin this good. plus, i'm happy to be getting a high level of sun protection daily, something i have had to sacrifice prior due to the heaviness and greasiness of almost all sunblocks for my skin type and our climate. highly recommended!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:tiff101103
(Minneapolis, MN)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Finally...SPF for oily skin!
Date: April 2, 2010
Pros: Normal Skin, Oily Skin, Combination Skin
Cons: Hydrating
"I am in love with this product...I have been looking for a day lotion with SPF for 10 years and could not find one that didn't make my face an oil slick or wasn't pasty or didn't clog my pores. This one is fantastic. It absorbs in minutes, is light and doesn't make my make-up slide off!!! LOVE, LOVE IT!!!!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:yes0502
(Cary, NC)
I am a Makeup Devotee
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Great Protection
Date: May 17, 2010
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Gentle, Hydrating
"After a recent diagnosis of melanoma, I had to get very serious about sunscreen. My dermatologist and oncologist recommended 50 SPF for my face. I was ecstatic when I discovered Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base. I use all Bobbie skin care and makeup, so I knew this would work well with my regimen. Not only does it provide me with the SPF protection, it goes on with a light smooth feel; no greasiness as with many high SPF lotions. I can't say enough good things about this product! Thank you, Bobbie!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:mariahus
(Sacramento, CA)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
A MUST HAVE!!!!
Date: March 27, 2010
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Gentle
"I am so glad to have found a good sunblock that has a high enough SPF and does not leave my overly shiny. This works very nice under foundations as well as on its own. Normally most sunblocks smell bad and make your face look wet but this one does not! I personally think the price on this is very fair and totally worth it! SPF is so important every woman should be wearing it to prevent premature aging and wrinkles!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:leo85
(New York)
I am a Makeup Novice
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Very light and quickly absorbed!
Date: March 25, 2010
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Gentle
"I have tried lots of different brands SPF products and this one by far became my favorite! It gives SPF50 which is high enough to make me feel protected but the texture is very light and quickly absorbed. I have sensitive + combination skin and this product suits my skin perfectly. Although i do not put makeup often, when i do it holds my make up just fine. I highly recommend this to my friends."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:Anonymous
(malaysia)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Dry
Bring Back the old One
Date: June 11, 2010
Pros: Normal Skin
"hello guys, i'm from Asia. before this maybe u guys don't know that in Asia, the spf50 with make up base had already existed. the difference between the old and new one are: first, the old one is a silver package in a pump form, it gives secure to the product so it won't gets out, the new one is just pressing it, and the product comes out. the old one is silver package n the new one is white. i dislike the new packaging bcoz i'm afraid it can spilled when travel. second: texture, the texture of the old one is creamy n glides super smoothly on to skin n absorbs very quickly, the new one however is water base n i have dry skin. when i apply its greasy n remnants of the old one i compared n it is so different. sometimes it stings my face.. i don't care much about the package but the texture is very disappointing n i am not a fan of brightening products. my powder foundation doesn't glides smoothly as before when i wore the old one.. its veryhard to say that i hate this product, but how i am gonna replace it? there are no other product out there that have spf and face base 2 in 1. i'm disappointed, very2 disappointed. i wish when they introduce new product they won't discontinue the old product.. sighhhh"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Archie
(Fremont, CA)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
The best SPF I ever used
Date: August 25, 2010
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Gentle, Hydrating
"I am extra careful about sunscreens and NEVER leave the door with out sunscreen on. Obviously, I tried different sunscreens - even organic ones. If SPF is 50 or above, it either makes my skin very oily (organic ones) or makeup does not go on very well, or it does just that - sun protection but NOT moisturize. I fell in love with this product - it feels light, my skin is moisturized, makeup goes on smooth, and my skin actually feels much softer. I am surprised how well it worked. Also, I have acne prone skin, it doesnt make me break out!!!! I have NOTHING negative to say about this one. Hope this product stays forever!! Thank you Bobbi!!!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:suzayanne
(maryland)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Normal
i think i'm brighter
Date: March 6, 2011
Pros: Normal Skin
Cons: Smells Great, Gentle, Hydrating, creates a glow
"i'm 59 and obviously so is my skin. i've been using the brightening line for a few months. i like the whole line because it is so light, clean and fresh feeling. i resisted using the face base because it seemed like a duplication but now that i've tried it, i think it adds a nice finishing touch to the texture of my skin before i add foundation. after several hours, my skin still feels and looks as if i just finished my morning routine. it would be difficult to say which part of the process i like the best. i wouldn't leave any step out."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:kb1975
(Austin, TX)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Date: April 17, 2010
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Gentle, Hydrating
"Have a history of melanoma in my family and I am always on the look out for a great moisturizer that protects from the sun. Tried this base and was thrilled with the results. With such a high SPF I was sure that it would make my face pale or mess up my foundation-did not do either. It goes on sheer and absorbs quickly. I have combination/sensitive skin and have had no reactions/breakouts since beginning this product. I highly recommend it to all of my family/friends."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:littlecec
(Northern California)
I am a Makeup Devotee
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Love It!
Date: April 9, 2010
Pros: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"I love the fact that it has an SPF of 50. I love that it doesn't smell funny like a lot of sunscreens. I love the fact that for me it doubles as a moisturizer under foundation. I love that it comes in a convenient tube for re-applying, if necessary. I really like the brightening glow you get and not a white, pasty look as with other high SPF sunscreens. I not only recommend it for others, I purchase it for others!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CityChic6
(Chicago, IL)
I am a Makeup Devotee
My skin feels Extra Dry
Great Primer
Date: March 5, 2011
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Smells Great, Gentle, Hydrating
"I received a sample with other products that I had purchased. I have tried other moisturizers and they left would either dry my skin out more or dry up within a few hours. This product went on smoothly and kept my face/makeup looking great for over 8 hours. I will definitely purchase this product. Very happy that it is SPF as well. Love it Bobbi!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:antipodean
(Redding, CT)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Normal
Wearable anywhere...
Date: March 28, 2010
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Smells Great
"I love this product. I've searched for years for a high SPF, that doesn't end up in my eyes, and can work under makeup. This does it all. Lovely texture, non greasy for under makeup, yet powerful SPF. I wear it everyday now, and it's very effective for long hours outdoors."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:KristinS
(Baton Rouge, LA)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Dry
Dermatologist Recommended
Date: March 3, 2011
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Gentle, effective
"I love this lotion! Even my dermatologist agreed that I should be using it. Very light weight and it does not have a strong sunscreen smell."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:GolfingSharon
(New Bern, NC)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Delightful Protection
Date: April 19, 2010
Pros: Normal Skin, Oily Skin, Dull Skin, Combination Skin
Cons: Gentle
"This sunscreen moisture lotion feels light going on and leaves no residue or tightness. Makeup goes on great with it, skin feels wonderful and you're sun protected."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CascoGirl
(South Carolina)
VERY Disappointing News!
Date: June 18, 2012
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"As someone who has had skin cancer three times on her face, this product is a God-send! SPF 15's in my moisturizer and foundation weren't enough. Once I learned "less is more" with this product, I was ecstatic to have an SPF 50 I could rely on to work and not affect my other makeup products. And to learn it will not be back until 2013 is ridiculous!!! I agree with CleoLasVegas, what are we supposed to use between now and then???? Using a regular SPF 50 sunscreen does NOT work the same for my skin and makeup - believe me when I tell you I have tried them all this way. NOTHING comes close to this product. To the BB powers that be, it would be much wiser if you intend to discontinue a product, have the replacement product READY and AVAILABLE for purchase! So very disappointed with Bobbi Brown Cosmetics right now - and ALL my cosmetics are Bobbi Brown. Please reconsider..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:skinjunkie
(Hartford, Ct)
I like it
Date: March 25, 2012
"I use this over my daily moisturizer. I like that I don't have a white cast on my face after applying. It absorbs well. A little goes along way so the tube will last me awhile. I apply foundation over it and it goes on smooth and seems to last all day. It doesn't irritate my sensitive skin. I spent a lot of time in the sun on vacation in Fla and my face didn't really tan(I tan very easiy) and I was happy about that! Sometimes I squeezed out too much but I just rubbed it in somewhere else. Its a little runny so be careful when you squeeze it out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:pep618
(Marion, IL)
love!
Date: May 11, 2012
Cons: Can't live without
"i used to use the spf 15 protective lotion and loved it but i needed a higher spf because i'm out in the sun so much. This product is so awesome. Doesn't break me out (which I am prone to with moisturizers) doesn't have that "spf smell" and blends in nicely. No white streaks. my only concern is... its been sold out for over two weeks! :(
i highly recommend for all skin types. Its amazing!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CleoLasVegas
(Chicago, IL)
Discontinued!!!
Date: June 14, 2012
"I cannot believe this proudct has been discontinued and will be reformulated and brought back in Spring 2013.
I have no idea what to buy now.....very upset!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:becca28
(ma,boston)
I am a Makeup Devotee
My skin feels Normal
Best Sun Protection Ever!
Date: April 30, 2010
Pros: Dry Skin
Cons: Smells Great, Gentle, Hydrating
"A must have for summer! I love this product and use it every day. I enjoy the moisturizing qualities and the crazy amount of SPF that it contains! It doesn’t leave your face feeling oily either which is great and truly difficult to find in any product that contains such a marvelous amount of SPF. It smells absolutely amazing and refreshing. The super sleek packaging is also a plus, I really enjoy this product. This product also give a brighter, healthier appearance to your skin."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brightening SPF 50 UV Protective Face Base
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Aaliyah
(Caldwell, Idaho)
I am a Regular Makeup User
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Controlling the sun spots
Date: June 14, 2011
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Gentle, Hydrating
"I have too many brown spots on my face and elsewhere. A few years ago I had a treatment to reduce the spots. Since then I've been using sunblock on my face. I just switched to Bobbie Brown and am happy. It takes less for the job and works better with foundation. I wish there wasn't a sunblock smell when it first comes out of the tube but the smell dissipates almost immediately."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>