Customer Reviews for Art Stick

Art Stick

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
68 of 75(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Art Stick
Review 1 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: July 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
This product works well for: everyone
This product is: creamy

Love it, but hope you introduce more colors!

I got the dusty pink which they describe as a neutral, and I think it's gorgeous! But I feel it's a tad more to the cool tone than the warm! I think it would look great on my blond daughter, but for me- brown hair with golden highlights and green eyes, would like to see more warm (but not all bright) colors.
The texture, feel, and precision I get with this is great, though! Could highly recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: June 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:México
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: creamy

The only con: Not so many everyday colors

I own two of them: dusty pink and rose brown, love them, they are matte but not drying at all, their staying power is OK, nothing incredible. My only complaint is the lack of a more natural, everyday shade in their range. I will repurchase in the future.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: March 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:SW, MI

So glad these are back, better than before!

Most pencil-type lip products are a nightmare on the lips, so drying and with patchy color application. Bobbi's art sticks reinvent the category, with smooth, beautiful color that glides on and is comfortable for hours of wear. I love having these in my bag to line my lips and also fill them in. Dusty Pink is my "my lips but better color", but I also love Cherrywood and Harlow Red. I plan to get at least one from the "Hot" collection. I deduct one star, only because I hate that I have to sharpen these pencils. It's very inconvenient, and the size of the pencil demands only the sharpener that comes with the product. Since one of my favorite uses for these crayons is on-the-go, it makes it that much less convenient if I forget to toss the sharpener in my bag as well as the pencil. Really, though, this is not anything to stop me from purchasing more of these sticks, and don't let it stop you, either. You will NOT be disappointed!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:San Francisco, CA, USA

My new favorite lip color!

I bought this in Cassis and Cherrywood. Cherrywood is very muted on my Asian skin. It looks so natural, it's like I'm not wearing anything at all. Cassis, however, is the perfect shade. It's bright but not too overwhelming. With a bit of gloss, it's perfect for evening. W/o gloss, it's a lovely daytime look. I love the control you have with crayons like this. My only lament is that you lose so much product when you sharpen the pencil! I actually save the color part of the shavings. We'll see how long that lasts. But I do completely love both the color and texture. Perfectly bright and not too drying. Great staying power. Easy to carry. I'm stocking up!
Pros: daytime
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Florence, AL

New & improved!!!

My obsession with lip crayons began 20 years ago with the original "chubby pencil" by another brand. I ordered 5 of these new BB art sticks & adore them! This new formula is better than the previous BB lip crayons bc these have a better consistency to be used as both liner & lipstick. The prior version was too creamy to use for precise lip lines. I still have 2 of the old version so I compared the difference. These colors are also more saturated & they last on the lips far longer. I bought 1.)cassis (darker medium warm red brown), 2.)cherrywood (a medium, neutral toned brown wine/rose color. I thought this would be the darkest I ordered but it actually goes on lighter than cassis & a lot lighter than rose brown), 3.)rose brown ( darker medium brown rose warm color. Has more brown than cherrywood & cassis & goes on darker than both. Would be great to line with this & fill in with cherrywood or dusty pink), 4.)dusty pink ( the lightest of the bunch. A neutral/cool lighter medium Mauve pink. A "my lips but better" color for many.), 5.)sunset orange (the brightest color I ordered. Comes out a bright, medium/medium dark orange/orange-coral shade that I will probably use a lot during spring/summer. This color seems to lean a little cooler than the typical warmer oranges on the market. This will work great as a lip color or liner for light beige, coral or peach shades. This color will likely work well as a blush, as will dusty pink & maybe cherrywood.) These formulas & color concentration remind me of the other famous brand's award winning "velvet matte lip pencils" except BB has better medium & dark shades & comes with .2 oz of product where the other brand is only .083 oz!! Try these, you will love them! I love that bobbi brown includes sharpeners with these art sticks bc a lot of brands don't & it's hard to find an appropriate size. So with the huge size (2-3 x larger than most lip crayons on market)& included sharpener, this is a great deal on lip crayons. I just hope they come out with more shades. Hopefully a light/pale beige and other light nudes. Highly recommend!!!
Pros: everyone, all lip crayon lovers!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Metairie, La (2 minutes from New Orleans)
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: classic

Looks & feels fantastic on my lips

I have olive skin color & at first bought 3 colors that I thoughts I would like & wear.....boy do I wear them. In turn bought 4 more colors because I love the way they glide on the lips, last a long time & the color is so true. Well now I can say I own every color even the ones in the orange family which are not a bright orange so now Bobbi will have to come out with more colors maybe a mauve color or whatever she likes. I know I will like the colors too. This is by far in the top 5 Bobbi Brown makeup products well maybe top 3. Thanks Bobbi for creating this product for us. I remember back many years ago you may have had something like these art sticks before so PLEASE keep these in your makeup line. You are the Best!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Calif

Almost but not quite

Formula is great; colors ain't.
Can't understand what happened here but the colors are very much lower in warmth than the great majority of BBrown's palette. Odd since Bobbi is the doyenne of warm golden undertones - and for brunettes especially, those warm golden undertones in bright deep reds in particular are what really flatter.
The formula, however, is a winner. There seems to be a movement a foot at BB to cut down on or maybe even eliminate altogether (!!!!!???) the yellow undertone so characteristic of her products (and the primary reason I and other artists favor them).
Whoever made that decision or is cutting corners on the warmer undertones of color in BB stuff, please stop that. If you're doing it because of cost of manufacturing, this kind of corner cutting is what makes many companies begin to lose marketshare. Please return to the power of the warm undertone.
What we need is a truly warm DEEP red in this formula - and the Harlow color isn't it and neither is the coral. Nobody yet has come up with one of these types of formulas with sufficient warmth. Bobbi should be the one to do it but this one fails so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Louisville, KY
This product works well for: everyone
This product is: classic

Super Fun and Travel Friendly

Gigantic crayola type lipstick in great colors. Glides on smoothly and evenly. Non-drying, mostly matte finish. Using a lip pencil with this really isn't necessary but if your lipstick has a tendency to bleed (which happens as we age) using a foundation as a base is a must. I found that this lipstick did not transfer very much however which is a plus. I got the hot pink and it is a super bright color, so if you use this color do not go overboard on the eye makeup. Hot pink is one of my best colors so for me it didn't feel "loud" at all. It looks great with a top that picks up the color. I will be buying other colors -- as usual Bobbi Brown delivers!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:San Francisco
This product works well for: everyone

A Lipstick Lover's Dream!!!

I just purchased this in HOT PINK and all I can say is WOW! If you love a strong bold lip that really makes a statement, this is the product for you! The color is a very bright pink which is great with my blue eyes and fair skin. It makes the eyes really pop! I have been wearing this with BB Tinted Moisturizer, No Smudge Mascara and a touch of Bronzer and that's it. Not even eyeliner is needed. The lipstick is the statement, which is a look I love.
In addition, I have had mixed experiences with lip pencils. They are either too drying or too sheer without much staying power. BB Art Stick is both creamy and matte and just glides on. No lip prep is needed and no other liner. It is quick and easy and fun to apply because it is like a giant crayola crayon. Because of the size it is easy to retrieve at the bottom of my purse!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Ewing, NJ
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: amazing

Perfect Smooth Texture

This is the best lip product out of all BB's choices. I just hope for more, warmer colors especially "Bobbi" which comes in tube lipstick and thin pencil liner. An art stick would be great!
Even the sharpener works well.
Thanks!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Dalton, GA, USA
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: long-lasting

Truly amazing

Very impressed in how long they last and the texture is amazing I love how simple they are definitely my new fav
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Tulsa, OK

Ahhhhh-mazing!!

This product is even better than I expected. It is literally like having a liner and lipstick in one. I bought the Cherrywood which is a little too dark for me after it's first applied but within no time it tones down a little and looks perfect. I will certainly be purchasing in other colors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:San Francisco, CA

Crayons are back!

As longtime BB fans will remember, years ago there were crayons in the line that were really fabulous - nice shades with great lasting power and and now they are back. In a bigger size than previously, in more shades and the formula lasts for hours without being drying. Really nice product, also great for on the go and a sharpener is included.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:New York, NY
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: long-lasting

great product!

stays on forever and i always get compliments. i have a few shades and plan on getting more!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: October 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:New London, CT

A little disappointed

The color goes on great but ends up disappearing quickly looking odd. I purchased cherrywood perhaps it is because this is a darker color. I did not find it very moisturizing.
Cons: could live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Charleston, SC

The PERFECT lip color!

Bobbi Brown hit the jackpot with these art sticks- I was hooked from the first time I tried them... A co worker was wearing Bright Raspberry and offered for me to try it. Amazing! As a busy professional woman on the go- these are perfect. I line my lips and entire lip with the stick after a base of lip balm. Then finish with a lip gloss. Seriously stays on all day! I keep adding colors...I have purchased Bright Raspberry (a fun pink color with a slight purple tint), Harlow Red (a bold orange-based red), Dusty Rose (a subtle light pink), Sunset Coral (fun and bright summery hue) and I just got Cherrywood which is a rose wine color.... Definitely a new go-to fall lip color. Don't hesitate to grab a couple of these!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:New York

Nice formula. 1-for-2 on colors.

I bought Bright Raspberry and Sunset Orange. I love the raspberry - it's like my standby pinky-purple pumped up just enough to make a statement yet stay everyday-wearable. Plays better with my fair/slightly warm skin tone than the Cosmic Raspberry Rich Lip Color, which leans too red for me. Fellow pale brunettes, you need this! I'm still trying to figure out how to make the orange one work, or whether it's worth it. It shows up a neon red-coral on me - with some orange, but not the rich, warm hue I was expecting. This one might be better on a blond, or someone with a more-golden skin tone. I'm pretty happy with the texture: not as waxy as a traditional lipstick, softer and less draggy than most pencils, yet not so creamy that it slips and bleeds. My lips tend to be extremely dry so I need a bit of balm underneath. Sharpening is necessary, but that's a plus because it means you control the degree of precision. I use my mom's old trick for reducing sharpening waste and put the crayons in the freezer beforehand. It works!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: October 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:NJ

dusty pink

This is a fabulous product! It is a matte/semi matte finish, but very comfortable and non drying on my lips. Convenient lip pencil and lipstick in one! This dusty pink color reminds me of bobbi's "pink" lip color, but a more fresh version. It has a nuance of a dusty-ness at certain angles. very lovely wearable every day color.
I'm looking forward to trying more colors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:The South

Long Wearing and Pretty

The Art Stick in Dusty Pink is my perfect choice for a daytime professional lip. I teach school so I have no time for touching up-what you see is what you get. With the Art Stick what you get is comfortable long wear; love that I can line my lips and color. Thanks Bobbi for including the special sharpener. Now, I've got the Raspberry for my next choice for a bright, light summer lip.
Pros: everone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Helmetta NJ

Art Stick-stays on and doesn't bleed

Love the color which lasts a long time, it also does not bleed around your lips.
Pros: mature lips
Cons: long lasting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>