Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Limited Editions or
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Art Stick

Average Customer Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
52 of 58(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Art Stick
Review 1 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ALLAWGAL38
(Florence, AL)
New & improved!!!
Date: March 4, 2014
Pros: everyone, all lip crayon lovers!
Cons: Can't live without
"My obsession with lip crayons began 20 years ago with the original "chubby pencil" by another brand. I ordered 5 of these new BB art sticks & adore them! This new formula is better than the previous BB lip crayons bc these have a better consistency to be used as both liner & lipstick. The prior version was too creamy to use for precise lip lines. I still have 2 of the old version so I compared the difference. These colors are also more saturated & they last on the lips far longer. I bought 1.)cassis (darker medium warm red brown), 2.)cherrywood (a medium, neutral toned brown wine/rose color. I thought this would be the darkest I ordered but it actually goes on lighter than cassis & a lot lighter than rose brown), 3.)rose brown ( darker medium brown rose warm color. Has more brown than cherrywood & cassis & goes on darker than both. Would be great to line with this & fill in with cherrywood or dusty pink), 4.)dusty pink ( the lightest of the bunch. A neutral/cool lighter medium Mauve pink. A "my lips but better" color for many.), 5.)sunset orange (the brightest color I ordered. Comes out a bright, medium/medium dark orange/orange-coral shade that I will probably use a lot during spring/summer. This color seems to lean a little cooler than the typical warmer oranges on the market. This will work great as a lip color or liner for light beige, coral or peach shades. This color will likely work well as a blush, as will dusty pink & maybe cherrywood.) These formulas & color concentration remind me of the other famous brand's award winning "velvet matte lip pencils" except BB has better medium & dark shades & comes with .2 oz of product where the other brand is only .083 oz!! Try these, you will love them! I love that bobbi brown includes sharpeners with these art sticks bc a lot of brands don't & it's hard to find an appropriate size. So with the huge size (2-3 x larger than most lip crayons on market)& included sharpener, this is a great deal on lip crayons. I just hope they come out with more shades. Hopefully a light/pale beige and other light nudes. Highly recommend!!!"
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:Anonyms
(Calif)
Almost but not quite
Date: March 30, 2014
"Formula is great; colors ain't.
Can't understand what happened here but the colors are very much lower in warmth than the great majority of BBrown's palette. Odd since Bobbi is the doyenne of warm golden undertones - and for brunettes especially, those warm golden undertones in bright deep reds in particular are what really flatter.
The formula, however, is a winner. There seems to be a movement a foot at BB to cut down on or maybe even eliminate altogether (!!!!!???) the yellow undertone so characteristic of her products (and the primary reason I and other artists favor them).
Whoever made that decision or is cutting corners on the warmer undertones of color in BB stuff, please stop that. If you're doing it because of cost of manufacturing, this kind of corner cutting is what makes many companies begin to lose marketshare. Please return to the power of the warm undertone.
What we need is a truly warm DEEP red in this formula - and the Harlow color isn't it and neither is the coral. Nobody yet has come up with one of these types of formulas with sufficient warmth. Bobbi should be the one to do it but this one fails so far."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
(San Francisco, CA)
Crayons are back!
Date: February 21, 2014
"As longtime BB fans will remember, years ago there were crayons in the line that were really fabulous - nice shades with great lasting power and and now they are back. In a bigger size than previously, in more shades and the formula lasts for hours without being drying. Really nice product, also great for on the go and a sharpener is included."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:Orange
(New York, NY)
Orange or not?
Date: March 26, 2014
Cons: if you love orange...
"I love orange. So Sunset Orange says it all, and the pictured color, at least on my computer screen, is warm deep orange. But perhaps the give away to my disappointment is the description as orange-guava, which is actually a red-orange, tending towards hot-pink, at least on me. True, my skin tone tends to yellow and yes, I do not usually wear an intense lipstick, but I would if it were orange! Goes on nicely though."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:maestra
(The South)
Long Wearing and Pretty
Date: March 7, 2014
Pros: everone
"The Art Stick in Dusty Pink is my perfect choice for a daytime professional lip. I teach school so I have no time for touching up-what you see is what you get. With the Art Stick what you get is comfortable long wear; love that I can line my lips and color. Thanks Bobbi for including the special sharpener. Now, I've got the Raspberry for my next choice for a bright, light summer lip."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ASONGIRL
(Brooklyn, NY)
The Art of The Art Stick
Date: August 28, 2014
Pros: everyone
"I was expecting a hard pencil and instead was pleasantly surprised with a soft crayon-like pencil that could both line my lips and color them with soft, pretty color. I like the convenience of these and intend to go back and buy more."
Review 7 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:gorgeous
(wa)
amazing....and i hate hate hate lipstick
Date: April 2, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"I always hated lipstick...it makes you look older ( or so I thought) and I always thought it made my face look funny. Then on a whim i tried dusty pink and the coral ( both are cool tones....and they look stunning. I have yellow orange undertones but have blue eyes and ash hair and my veins under the skin look blue and not green...so that equals cool . They are stunning as blushes, and stunning as lipstick! Yes, what others have written is .....color lasts, amazing pigmentation, and quite cool undertones. Do not buy the coral though if you are brown haired and olive toned ( so warm)..as the coral pink will be too cool for your skin tone. The dusty pink you can get away with whether you are cool or warm."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaseyR
(Catonsville, MD)
Fabulous!
Date: August 12, 2014
"Two in one! I can use it as a liner or as a lip color. I don't use this everyday, but it is my go to on a night out. It is very creamy and just glides right on!"
Review 9 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:casandracox
(Boston Ma)
Great mult-tasking product
Date: August 7, 2014
Pros: everyone
"I'm getting close to 30 and decided that I need to start using a lip pencil. I really love that these serve as both pencil and lip color. I got the rose brown shade and I think it will be really nice for fall. My only suggestion or wish is that these came in more shades, especially more nude tones for everyday wear. I would love to see one in brownie pink hint hint : )"
Review 10 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Silverlining
(New York)
Nice formula. 1-for-2 on colors.
Date: June 20, 2014
"I bought Bright Raspberry and Sunset Orange. I love the raspberry - it's like my standby pinky-purple pumped up just enough to make a statement yet stay everyday-wearable. Plays better with my fair/slightly warm skin tone than the Cosmic Raspberry Rich Lip Color, which leans too red for me. Fellow pale brunettes, you need this! I'm still trying to figure out how to make the orange one work, or whether it's worth it. It shows up a neon red-coral on me - with some orange, but not the rich, warm hue I was expecting. This one might be better on a blond, or someone with a more-golden skin tone. I'm pretty happy with the texture: not as waxy as a traditional lipstick, softer and less draggy than most pencils, yet not so creamy that it slips and bleeds. My lips tend to be extremely dry so I need a bit of balm underneath. Sharpening is necessary, but that's a plus because it means you control the degree of precision. I use my mom's old trick for reducing sharpening waste and put the crayons in the freezer beforehand. It works!"
Review 11 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:JDancy
(Los Angeles, CA)
Date: July 31, 2014
"I was a little disappointed in this product. I expected something more opaque, more matte. It's not quite thick enough to be a balm and too light to be a gloss... On the plus side, the color is fantastic and lasted all day - like a lip stain but more moisturizing."
Review 12 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ClassyJen
(New York, NY)
AMAZING!
Date: July 10, 2014
Pros: natural bright look
Cons: Can't live without
"These art sticks are the best thing to ever happen to makeup! They apply as lip liner better than an average pencil, then the thicker part of the stick applies to the lip like smooth butter. The matte is so wonderful, non-drying and very sophisticated looking. The colors and formula together make for a very polished natural look, even if you choose a bold/bright color. Lasted for hours, more than an average lipstick. No drying here! Most importantly, the formula felt very light on my lips. I purchased Electric Pink and Harlow Red and those colors are amazing, bright yet very natural looking. BB is one of the few brands where her makeup colors and formulas don't make you look like a rodeo clown. Definitely a must buy! No regrets. The included sharpener is also a great bonus!! BB please don't discontinue!!"
Review 13 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:SilverBelle
(Jacksonville, FL)
Yay!!!
Date: March 4, 2014
"I remember this being around years ago as well but now they are back and better than ever before. I picked up Electric Pink today in-store and the pigmentation is on point along with the moisturizing texture is awesome. I couldn't contain myself so I put it on immediately upon getiing into my car. That was back around 11am. Its still going strong with some slight fading at 6pm as I write this but it still looks even and my lips do not feel dry or tight. I can see this pencil even doubling up as a nice blush when in a fix while out and about. Another plus is that this comes with its own sharpner that is included with the purchase of the lip color so that is quite nice. I look forward to collecting the rest of the pencil."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:aec484
(Belmont, MA)
Lovely lipstick!
Date: July 30, 2014
"I love this lipstick. Great texture, moisturizing, easy to use, completely lovely!"
Review 15 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:conwat
(Abilene, TX)
So Easy
Date: July 29, 2014
"I LOVE this lip liner & color all in one! I am always in a hurry & love the ease of applying my Art Stick!"
Review 16 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Krissi
(Chicago, IL)
Love Love Love!!!
Date: July 23, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"This product is amazing!! It comes with a great sharpener and the ease of getting a nice fine line for as liner is effortless. It's also super moisturizing and stays on forever!! It's all I brought with me on vacation and I came home and ordered two more!!! Hope these stay around for a long time!!"
Review 17 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Jloh
(PA)
Thay Are Back- and Are Much Bigger!
Date: February 27, 2014
"These are terrific! I missed them so much and am glad they are back! These pencils are much, much bigger than the pencils that were available in the pack a few years ago. The colors are great and they feel great on the lips and last all day! I love bright colors, and have the Harlow Red, Bright Raspberry (perfect raspberry shade for my fair skin), and a bright pink (cannot think of the name) I love chubby pencils, but prefer these because they can be sharpened, the others on the market can not be, and I like to have the point. I love the name "Art Stick!" Way to go Bobbi! I hope they "stick" around!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:lolalady2010
(New Jersey)
love the color
Date: July 22, 2014
"love love love!!! It is great to throw in your bag for the work week or a night out :)"
Review 19 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:LittleT1
(Boston, MA)
Great lip product
Date: March 4, 2014
"I bought the raspberry and dusty pink colors. The raspberry looks great on my fair skin and while I do like the dusty pink color I would not describe it as soft neutral pink, it is brighter than that. These art sticks have a lot of pigment and last quite a long time. I use a little lip balm and then apply the stick for a bit lighter application and color. I am thinking of purchasing more!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Art Stick
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:OldHippie52
(Houston, Texas)
Art Stick - Red
Date: July 18, 2014
Pros: fair pink-toned skin
Cons: Can't live without
"I have tried and spent a fortune on SO many red lipsticks that went hot pink when I put them on. This one goes on as a true cherry red that is flattering to my fair, pink-toned skin. Yay, Bobbi! Thanks!"
1 2 3 next>>