Customer Reviews for Art Stick

Art Stick

Average Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
60 of 67(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Art Stick
Review 1 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:ALLAWGAL38
Location:Florence, AL

New & improved!!!

My obsession with lip crayons began 20 years ago with the original "chubby pencil" by another brand. I ordered 5 of these new BB art sticks & adore them! This new formula is better than the previous BB lip crayons bc these have a better consistency to be used as both liner & lipstick. The prior version was too creamy to use for precise lip lines. I still have 2 of the old version so I compared the difference. These colors are also more saturated & they last on the lips far longer. I bought 1.)cassis (darker medium warm red brown), 2.)cherrywood (a medium, neutral toned brown wine/rose color. I thought this would be the darkest I ordered but it actually goes on lighter than cassis & a lot lighter than rose brown), 3.)rose brown ( darker medium brown rose warm color. Has more brown than cherrywood & cassis & goes on darker than both. Would be great to line with this & fill in with cherrywood or dusty pink), 4.)dusty pink ( the lightest of the bunch. A neutral/cool lighter medium Mauve pink. A "my lips but better" color for many.), 5.)sunset orange (the brightest color I ordered. Comes out a bright, medium/medium dark orange/orange-coral shade that I will probably use a lot during spring/summer. This color seems to lean a little cooler than the typical warmer oranges on the market. This will work great as a lip color or liner for light beige, coral or peach shades. This color will likely work well as a blush, as will dusty pink & maybe cherrywood.) These formulas & color concentration remind me of the other famous brand's award winning "velvet matte lip pencils" except BB has better medium & dark shades & comes with .2 oz of product where the other brand is only .083 oz!! Try these, you will love them! I love that bobbi brown includes sharpeners with these art sticks bc a lot of brands don't & it's hard to find an appropriate size. So with the huge size (2-3 x larger than most lip crayons on market)& included sharpener, this is a great deal on lip crayons. I just hope they come out with more shades. Hopefully a light/pale beige and other light nudes. Highly recommend!!!
Pros: everyone, all lip crayon lovers!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Anonyms
Location:Calif

Almost but not quite

Formula is great; colors ain't.
Can't understand what happened here but the colors are very much lower in warmth than the great majority of BBrown's palette. Odd since Bobbi is the doyenne of warm golden undertones - and for brunettes especially, those warm golden undertones in bright deep reds in particular are what really flatter.
The formula, however, is a winner. There seems to be a movement a foot at BB to cut down on or maybe even eliminate altogether (!!!!!???) the yellow undertone so characteristic of her products (and the primary reason I and other artists favor them).
Whoever made that decision or is cutting corners on the warmer undertones of color in BB stuff, please stop that. If you're doing it because of cost of manufacturing, this kind of corner cutting is what makes many companies begin to lose marketshare. Please return to the power of the warm undertone.
What we need is a truly warm DEEP red in this formula - and the Harlow color isn't it and neither is the coral. Nobody yet has come up with one of these types of formulas with sufficient warmth. Bobbi should be the one to do it but this one fails so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:AnnieSFBay
Location:San Francisco, CA, USA

My new favorite lip color!

I bought this in Cassis and Cherrywood. Cherrywood is very muted on my Asian skin. It looks so natural, it's like I'm not wearing anything at all. Cassis, however, is the perfect shade. It's bright but not too overwhelming. With a bit of gloss, it's perfect for evening. W/o gloss, it's a lovely daytime look. I love the control you have with crayons like this. My only lament is that you lose so much product when you sharpen the pencil! I actually save the color part of the shavings. We'll see how long that lasts. But I do completely love both the color and texture. Perfectly bright and not too drying. Great staying power. Easy to carry. I'm stocking up!
Pros: daytime
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
Location:San Francisco, CA

Crayons are back!

As longtime BB fans will remember, years ago there were crayons in the line that were really fabulous - nice shades with great lasting power and and now they are back. In a bigger size than previously, in more shades and the formula lasts for hours without being drying. Really nice product, also great for on the go and a sharpener is included.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:GigiThorn
Location:Tulsa, OK

Ahhhhh-mazing!!

This product is even better than I expected. It is literally like having a liner and lipstick in one. I bought the Cherrywood which is a little too dark for me after it's first applied but within no time it tones down a little and looks perfect. I will certainly be purchasing in other colors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: October 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:tcf931
Location:NJ

dusty pink

This is a fabulous product! It is a matte/semi matte finish, but very comfortable and non drying on my lips. Convenient lip pencil and lipstick in one! This dusty pink color reminds me of bobbi's "pink" lip color, but a more fresh version. It has a nuance of a dusty-ness at certain angles. very lovely wearable every day color.
I'm looking forward to trying more colors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:wen dee
Location:New York, NY
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: long-lasting

great product!

stays on forever and i always get compliments. i have a few shades and plan on getting more!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:maestra
Location:The South

Long Wearing and Pretty

The Art Stick in Dusty Pink is my perfect choice for a daytime professional lip. I teach school so I have no time for touching up-what you see is what you get. With the Art Stick what you get is comfortable long wear; love that I can line my lips and color. Thanks Bobbi for including the special sharpener. Now, I've got the Raspberry for my next choice for a bright, light summer lip.
Pros: everone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: October 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:MalissaPlum
Location:New London, CT

A little disappointed

The color goes on great but ends up disappearing quickly looking odd. I purchased cherrywood perhaps it is because this is a darker color. I did not find it very moisturizing.
Cons: could live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Dahle53
Location:Helmetta NJ

Art Stick-stays on and doesn't bleed

Love the color which lasts a long time, it also does not bleed around your lips.
Pros: mature lips
Cons: long lasting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Orange
Location:New York, NY

Orange or not?

I love orange. So Sunset Orange says it all, and the pictured color, at least on my computer screen, is warm deep orange. But perhaps the give away to my disappointment is the description as orange-guava, which is actually a red-orange, tending towards hot-pink, at least on me. True, my skin tone tends to yellow and yes, I do not usually wear an intense lipstick, but I would if it were orange! Goes on nicely though.
Cons: if you love orange...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:gorgeous
Location:wa

amazing....and i hate hate hate lipstick

I always hated lipstick...it makes you look older ( or so I thought) and I always thought it made my face look funny. Then on a whim i tried dusty pink and the coral ( both are cool tones....and they look stunning. I have yellow orange undertones but have blue eyes and ash hair and my veins under the skin look blue and not green...so that equals cool . They are stunning as blushes, and stunning as lipstick! Yes, what others have written is .....color lasts, amazing pigmentation, and quite cool undertones. Do not buy the coral though if you are brown haired and olive toned ( so warm)..as the coral pink will be too cool for your skin tone. The dusty pink you can get away with whether you are cool or warm.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Fergy
Location:Melrose, MA

Fabulous

I bought one and loved it bought another a few days later. Love the colors, the way it applies and is the first color stick I find that does not
weep into the lines some of us have do to aging.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:SilverBelle
Location:Jacksonville, FL

Yay!!!

I remember this being around years ago as well but now they are back and better than ever before. I picked up Electric Pink today in-store and the pigmentation is on point along with the moisturizing texture is awesome. I couldn't contain myself so I put it on immediately upon getiing into my car. That was back around 11am. Its still going strong with some slight fading at 6pm as I write this but it still looks even and my lips do not feel dry or tight. I can see this pencil even doubling up as a nice blush when in a fix while out and about. Another plus is that this comes with its own sharpner that is included with the purchase of the lip color so that is quite nice. I look forward to collecting the rest of the pencil.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Jloh
Location:PA

Thay Are Back- and Are Much Bigger!

These are terrific! I missed them so much and am glad they are back! These pencils are much, much bigger than the pencils that were available in the pack a few years ago. The colors are great and they feel great on the lips and last all day! I love bright colors, and have the Harlow Red, Bright Raspberry (perfect raspberry shade for my fair skin), and a bright pink (cannot think of the name) I love chubby pencils, but prefer these because they can be sharpened, the others on the market can not be, and I like to have the point. I love the name "Art Stick!" Way to go Bobbi! I hope they "stick" around!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:LittleT1
Location:Boston, MA

Great lip product

I bought the raspberry and dusty pink colors. The raspberry looks great on my fair skin and while I do like the dusty pink color I would not describe it as soft neutral pink, it is brighter than that. These art sticks have a lot of pigment and last quite a long time. I use a little lip balm and then apply the stick for a bit lighter application and color. I am thinking of purchasing more!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Tiff54
Location:Charleston, SC

The PERFECT lip color!

Bobbi Brown hit the jackpot with these art sticks- I was hooked from the first time I tried them... A co worker was wearing Bright Raspberry and offered for me to try it. Amazing! As a busy professional woman on the go- these are perfect. I line my lips and entire lip with the stick after a base of lip balm. Then finish with a lip gloss. Seriously stays on all day! I keep adding colors...I have purchased Bright Raspberry (a fun pink color with a slight purple tint), Harlow Red (a bold orange-based red), Dusty Rose (a subtle light pink), Sunset Coral (fun and bright summery hue) and I just got Cherrywood which is a rose wine color.... Definitely a new go-to fall lip color. Don't hesitate to grab a couple of these!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:cheddarbaysusan
Location:Ohio

Love these!

I've bought two of these so far and really like them. They are great to wear alone, or wear under your favorite lipstick. I'm hoping to buy a few more- so easy and convenient!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Silverlining
Location:New York

Nice formula. 1-for-2 on colors.

I bought Bright Raspberry and Sunset Orange. I love the raspberry - it's like my standby pinky-purple pumped up just enough to make a statement yet stay everyday-wearable. Plays better with my fair/slightly warm skin tone than the Cosmic Raspberry Rich Lip Color, which leans too red for me. Fellow pale brunettes, you need this! I'm still trying to figure out how to make the orange one work, or whether it's worth it. It shows up a neon red-coral on me - with some orange, but not the rich, warm hue I was expecting. This one might be better on a blond, or someone with a more-golden skin tone. I'm pretty happy with the texture: not as waxy as a traditional lipstick, softer and less draggy than most pencils, yet not so creamy that it slips and bleeds. My lips tend to be extremely dry so I need a bit of balm underneath. Sharpening is necessary, but that's a plus because it means you control the degree of precision. I use my mom's old trick for reducing sharpening waste and put the crayons in the freezer beforehand. It works!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:WillsGrandma
Location:Paducah, KY

Fabulous Lipstick

This lipstick is fabulous and it stays on forever!! This is the second time I've purchased this lipstick. Buy it...you won't be sorry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>