Customer Reviews for Art Stick

Art Stick

Average Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
64 of 71(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Art Stick
Review 1 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: March 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:Hilofdreams
Location:SW, MI

So glad these are back, better than before!

Most pencil-type lip products are a nightmare on the lips, so drying and with patchy color application. Bobbi's art sticks reinvent the category, with smooth, beautiful color that glides on and is comfortable for hours of wear. I love having these in my bag to line my lips and also fill them in. Dusty Pink is my "my lips but better color", but I also love Cherrywood and Harlow Red. I plan to get at least one from the "Hot" collection. I deduct one star, only because I hate that I have to sharpen these pencils. It's very inconvenient, and the size of the pencil demands only the sharpener that comes with the product. Since one of my favorite uses for these crayons is on-the-go, it makes it that much less convenient if I forget to toss the sharpener in my bag as well as the pencil. Really, though, this is not anything to stop me from purchasing more of these sticks, and don't let it stop you, either. You will NOT be disappointed!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:AnnieSFBay
Location:San Francisco, CA, USA

My new favorite lip color!

I bought this in Cassis and Cherrywood. Cherrywood is very muted on my Asian skin. It looks so natural, it's like I'm not wearing anything at all. Cassis, however, is the perfect shade. It's bright but not too overwhelming. With a bit of gloss, it's perfect for evening. W/o gloss, it's a lovely daytime look. I love the control you have with crayons like this. My only lament is that you lose so much product when you sharpen the pencil! I actually save the color part of the shavings. We'll see how long that lasts. But I do completely love both the color and texture. Perfectly bright and not too drying. Great staying power. Easy to carry. I'm stocking up!
Pros: daytime
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:ALLAWGAL38
Location:Florence, AL

New & improved!!!

My obsession with lip crayons began 20 years ago with the original "chubby pencil" by another brand. I ordered 5 of these new BB art sticks & adore them! This new formula is better than the previous BB lip crayons bc these have a better consistency to be used as both liner & lipstick. The prior version was too creamy to use for precise lip lines. I still have 2 of the old version so I compared the difference. These colors are also more saturated & they last on the lips far longer. I bought 1.)cassis (darker medium warm red brown), 2.)cherrywood (a medium, neutral toned brown wine/rose color. I thought this would be the darkest I ordered but it actually goes on lighter than cassis & a lot lighter than rose brown), 3.)rose brown ( darker medium brown rose warm color. Has more brown than cherrywood & cassis & goes on darker than both. Would be great to line with this & fill in with cherrywood or dusty pink), 4.)dusty pink ( the lightest of the bunch. A neutral/cool lighter medium Mauve pink. A "my lips but better" color for many.), 5.)sunset orange (the brightest color I ordered. Comes out a bright, medium/medium dark orange/orange-coral shade that I will probably use a lot during spring/summer. This color seems to lean a little cooler than the typical warmer oranges on the market. This will work great as a lip color or liner for light beige, coral or peach shades. This color will likely work well as a blush, as will dusty pink & maybe cherrywood.) These formulas & color concentration remind me of the other famous brand's award winning "velvet matte lip pencils" except BB has better medium & dark shades & comes with .2 oz of product where the other brand is only .083 oz!! Try these, you will love them! I love that bobbi brown includes sharpeners with these art sticks bc a lot of brands don't & it's hard to find an appropriate size. So with the huge size (2-3 x larger than most lip crayons on market)& included sharpener, this is a great deal on lip crayons. I just hope they come out with more shades. Hopefully a light/pale beige and other light nudes. Highly recommend!!!
Pros: everyone, all lip crayon lovers!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:Avila1125
Location:Dalton, GA, USA
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: long-lasting

Truly amazing

Very impressed in how long they last and the texture is amazing I love how simple they are definitely my new fav
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:GigiThorn
Location:Tulsa, OK

Ahhhhh-mazing!!

This product is even better than I expected. It is literally like having a liner and lipstick in one. I bought the Cherrywood which is a little too dark for me after it's first applied but within no time it tones down a little and looks perfect. I will certainly be purchasing in other colors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:wen dee
Location:New York, NY
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: long-lasting

great product!

stays on forever and i always get compliments. i have a few shades and plan on getting more!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Anonyms
Location:Calif

Almost but not quite

Formula is great; colors ain't.
Can't understand what happened here but the colors are very much lower in warmth than the great majority of BBrown's palette. Odd since Bobbi is the doyenne of warm golden undertones - and for brunettes especially, those warm golden undertones in bright deep reds in particular are what really flatter.
The formula, however, is a winner. There seems to be a movement a foot at BB to cut down on or maybe even eliminate altogether (!!!!!???) the yellow undertone so characteristic of her products (and the primary reason I and other artists favor them).
Whoever made that decision or is cutting corners on the warmer undertones of color in BB stuff, please stop that. If you're doing it because of cost of manufacturing, this kind of corner cutting is what makes many companies begin to lose marketshare. Please return to the power of the warm undertone.
What we need is a truly warm DEEP red in this formula - and the Harlow color isn't it and neither is the coral. Nobody yet has come up with one of these types of formulas with sufficient warmth. Bobbi should be the one to do it but this one fails so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
Location:San Francisco, CA

Crayons are back!

As longtime BB fans will remember, years ago there were crayons in the line that were really fabulous - nice shades with great lasting power and and now they are back. In a bigger size than previously, in more shades and the formula lasts for hours without being drying. Really nice product, also great for on the go and a sharpener is included.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Tiff54
Location:Charleston, SC

The PERFECT lip color!

Bobbi Brown hit the jackpot with these art sticks- I was hooked from the first time I tried them... A co worker was wearing Bright Raspberry and offered for me to try it. Amazing! As a busy professional woman on the go- these are perfect. I line my lips and entire lip with the stick after a base of lip balm. Then finish with a lip gloss. Seriously stays on all day! I keep adding colors...I have purchased Bright Raspberry (a fun pink color with a slight purple tint), Harlow Red (a bold orange-based red), Dusty Rose (a subtle light pink), Sunset Coral (fun and bright summery hue) and I just got Cherrywood which is a rose wine color.... Definitely a new go-to fall lip color. Don't hesitate to grab a couple of these!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:ClassyMom
Location:Louisville, KY
This product works well for: everyone
This product is: classic

Super Fun and Travel Friendly

Gigantic crayola type lipstick in great colors. Glides on smoothly and evenly. Non-drying, mostly matte finish. Using a lip pencil with this really isn't necessary but if your lipstick has a tendency to bleed (which happens as we age) using a foundation as a base is a must. I found that this lipstick did not transfer very much however which is a plus. I got the hot pink and it is a super bright color, so if you use this color do not go overboard on the eye makeup. Hot pink is one of my best colors so for me it didn't feel "loud" at all. It looks great with a top that picks up the color. I will be buying other colors -- as usual Bobbi Brown delivers!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: October 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:MalissaPlum
Location:New London, CT

A little disappointed

The color goes on great but ends up disappearing quickly looking odd. I purchased cherrywood perhaps it is because this is a darker color. I did not find it very moisturizing.
Cons: could live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: October 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:tcf931
Location:NJ

dusty pink

This is a fabulous product! It is a matte/semi matte finish, but very comfortable and non drying on my lips. Convenient lip pencil and lipstick in one! This dusty pink color reminds me of bobbi's "pink" lip color, but a more fresh version. It has a nuance of a dusty-ness at certain angles. very lovely wearable every day color.
I'm looking forward to trying more colors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:lucienne
Location:San Francisco
This product works well for: everyone

A Lipstick Lover's Dream!!!

I just purchased this in HOT PINK and all I can say is WOW! If you love a strong bold lip that really makes a statement, this is the product for you! The color is a very bright pink which is great with my blue eyes and fair skin. It makes the eyes really pop! I have been wearing this with BB Tinted Moisturizer, No Smudge Mascara and a touch of Bronzer and that's it. Not even eyeliner is needed. The lipstick is the statement, which is a look I love.
In addition, I have had mixed experiences with lip pencils. They are either too drying or too sheer without much staying power. BB Art Stick is both creamy and matte and just glides on. No lip prep is needed and no other liner. It is quick and easy and fun to apply because it is like a giant crayola crayon. Because of the size it is easy to retrieve at the bottom of my purse!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Dahle53
Location:Helmetta NJ

Art Stick-stays on and doesn't bleed

Love the color which lasts a long time, it also does not bleed around your lips.
Pros: mature lips
Cons: long lasting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:ASONGIRL
Location:Brooklyn, NY

The Art of The Art Stick

I was expecting a hard pencil and instead was pleasantly surprised with a soft crayon-like pencil that could both line my lips and color them with soft, pretty color. I like the convenience of these and intend to go back and buy more.
Pros: everyone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:casandracox
Location:Boston Ma

Great mult-tasking product

I'm getting close to 30 and decided that I need to start using a lip pencil. I really love that these serve as both pencil and lip color. I got the rose brown shade and I think it will be really nice for fall. My only suggestion or wish is that these came in more shades, especially more nude tones for everyday wear. I would love to see one in brownie pink hint hint : )
Pros: everyone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:maestra
Location:The South

Long Wearing and Pretty

The Art Stick in Dusty Pink is my perfect choice for a daytime professional lip. I teach school so I have no time for touching up-what you see is what you get. With the Art Stick what you get is comfortable long wear; love that I can line my lips and color. Thanks Bobbi for including the special sharpener. Now, I've got the Raspberry for my next choice for a bright, light summer lip.
Pros: everone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: July 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Krissi
Location:Chicago, IL

Love Love Love!!!

This product is amazing!! It comes with a great sharpener and the ease of getting a nice fine line for as liner is effortless. It's also super moisturizing and stays on forever!! It's all I brought with me on vacation and I came home and ordered two more!!! Hope these stay around for a long time!!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Orange
Location:New York, NY

Orange or not?

I love orange. So Sunset Orange says it all, and the pictured color, at least on my computer screen, is warm deep orange. But perhaps the give away to my disappointment is the description as orange-guava, which is actually a red-orange, tending towards hot-pink, at least on me. True, my skin tone tends to yellow and yes, I do not usually wear an intense lipstick, but I would if it were orange! Goes on nicely though.
Cons: if you love orange...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Art Stick
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Silverlining
Location:New York

Nice formula. 1-for-2 on colors.

I bought Bright Raspberry and Sunset Orange. I love the raspberry - it's like my standby pinky-purple pumped up just enough to make a statement yet stay everyday-wearable. Plays better with my fair/slightly warm skin tone than the Cosmic Raspberry Rich Lip Color, which leans too red for me. Fellow pale brunettes, you need this! I'm still trying to figure out how to make the orange one work, or whether it's worth it. It shows up a neon red-coral on me - with some orange, but not the rich, warm hue I was expecting. This one might be better on a blond, or someone with a more-golden skin tone. I'm pretty happy with the texture: not as waxy as a traditional lipstick, softer and less draggy than most pencils, yet not so creamy that it slips and bleeds. My lips tend to be extremely dry so I need a bit of balm underneath. Sharpening is necessary, but that's a plus because it means you control the degree of precision. I use my mom's old trick for reducing sharpening waste and put the crayons in the freezer beforehand. It works!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>