Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Eyes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush

Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(338 Reviews) 327
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (338 reviews)
5 stars
268
4 stars
45
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
7
318 of 338(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Review 1 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:jmeamlp
(Elma, NY)
Precise !
Date: July 11, 2009
Pros: all precision cosmetic applications !
Cons: amazing !, worth every penny !, irreplaceable !
"Well, thinking I could get the liner without the brush to save a few dollars... you know, and buy a less expensive brush, I didn't buy this brush with my first purchase. My second purchase was with 20% off so I 'splurged'... WOW, an amazing difference.
The quality of this brush... the precision is priceless ! Highly, highly recommend this brush. To anyone thinking it's only a brush... you're wrong ! It's worth every penny... even at regular prices :-) .
Thank you Bobbi Brown for not allowing quality to disappear from the cosmetic industry."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:Petuniapotpie
(Portland, OR)
Works great...for a month!
Date: February 23, 2014
"I have gone thru two of these brushes now, using them with the gel liner. At first they are great but after not too long, the bristles start to splay out on the sides, making a fine line impossible. I am very careful when cleaning too. I wish there was another brush for the gel liner because now I can't use mine and I don't want to buy another one of these brushes."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaseyR
(Catonsville, MD)
Precise little Brush
Date: October 12, 2014
Pros: gel eyeliner
Cons: Can't live without, precise
"I am in love, this is the perfect brush for applying Long Wear Gel Eyeliner. I was using another brush, and I decided to try this one out, and haven't been happier. This brush is super precise, I can get my liner right down to the last line! If I wan't it thicker, I can do so without making the line too heavy. I wash my brushes after every use, and have never had an issue with them falling apart."
Review 4 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:linerliterate
(Memphis)
Great Brush
Date: October 9, 2014
"I am not very good at using liner but this brush is awesome."
Review 5 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:Ineedanickname
(Rye, NH)
a shame
Date: March 31, 2014
"Mine has failed by splaying. I was concerned it was something I had done, but I see others reporting the same issue. Perhaps for this price and with this reputation Bobbi Brown cosmetics could look into this? Is it the brush or the gel eyeliner? I washed and dried it with hope of it returning to the fine point, but no."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:aec484
(Belmont, MA)
Excellent brush
Date: August 17, 2014
"I ordered this brush based on customer reviews. It really is terrific! I can get right into the lash line, and then create a thin or thick line, whichever I want!"
Review 7 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:Bance
(Baltimore, MD)
Same issue as others...
Date: July 29, 2014
"I loved this brush at first, but as others have said, it's splayed, even after cleaning, and will no longer create that clean, crisp line it used to. Too expensive to keep replacing. Will look elsewhere... (still LOVE the gel eyeliner, though - the staying power is amazing!)"
Review 8 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:DesertGypsy
(Desert)
Must have for gel eyeliner!
Date: May 31, 2014
Pros: makeup novices, mature eyes
Cons: Can't live without, must have with gel long lasting eyeliner
"I purchased this eye liner brush several months ago and like to use products for awhile before I review. I can say after daily use, I have had no problems at all with the brush splaying. I usually clean it by gently rubbing off any extra product onto tissue after each use. I also try to wash all of my brushes weekly.
I use the gel long lasting eyeliners: espresso ink, black or shimmery plum daily and could not apply them without this brush. I have never used gel eyeliner before because I found pencils easier to use, because I am kind of a clumsy dork with my hands! A BB MUA was the first one that showed me how to apply the liner and used this brush. I realized I had to have the brush and bought it with the eyeliner that day.
I am 50 and have some crepiness to my eyes. I take a small amount of the liner on the brush, and put it on the back of my hand. Then I run the brush thru the eyeliner to pick up a smooth amount of the eyeliner. Working fairly quickly, I line the top part of my lash line, going into my sparse, fine eyelashes. This really makes my lashes look much fuller.
The brush allows me to be precise and apply more, thicker amount of eyeliner, on the outsides edges of my eyes, and thinner line on the inner eyelash area. All the time enabling me to push the color down onto the lash area to give the illusion of thicker eyelashes.
If I wear only one product, it is usually eyeliner. I know, it should probably be blush! But, with literally baby fine, sparse eyelashes, dark hair and eyes and very fair skin, I look really tired if my eyes are not somehow defined.
One final thing, I am very natural in my makeup approach...gee I wonder why I've become such a fan of BB makeup?! This brush and the eyeliner allows me to create a natural, more awake and brighter eye. 'Nuff said."
Review 9 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:aseliah
(Washington, DC)
Failed after 2 months
Date: July 17, 2014
"I loved this brush during the first month or so but as others mentioned the bristles started splaying. I tried washing and reshaping but no - it did not work. So i am not sure if this brush is worth $27."
Review 10 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ChicagoMUA
(Chicago, Il)
A very underrated eyeliner brush
Date: March 18, 2013
Pros: cat eye
Cons: Can't live without
"As a makeup artist I have tried numerous brushes to create a perfect line on the lid. But nothing creates exactly what I need like this one. A simple high flick for a cat eye, dramatic thick cat eye, doe eye's, you name it. This brush is the best ive used!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:coolbabe377
(San Diego CA)
When You Want the Finest
Date: August 25, 2009
Pros: gel eyeliner, eye shadow
Cons: is a must when you want a really fine line
"For many of us…There’s a learning curve with this brush. I found it difficult to use with the Gel Eyeliner when I first received it, and then a Bobbi Brown makeup artist showed me how she did it. It worked for me. I won’t go into the technique because what’s right for me may not be good for you. That being said, if you’re having difficulty applying gel liner with it (not an ace right from the get-go like some), you do need to wipe off any excess and work with a smaller amount than you normally would with other gel or cream eyeliners…unless you love a really heavy line. That way you have control. BB’s Gel Eyeliner really stays put, but there’s less play time…a small price to pay.
I use this brush a lot now because I found that it works with any eye-lining product except liquid. Thick, dark eyeliner is not a good look on me, so when I’m in a hurry and want a quick fine line, I use this brush with powder eye shadow wet or dry. I can line both eyes in less than a minute. Wish I was that talented with the gel liner, but I’m not.
When time is available…this is hands down the best brush to use with the BB’s Gel Eyeliner. The brush and liner together make my eyes look as though they’ve been lifted. Now that’s a good thing:)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:indychic
(Anywhere, IN)
Different than other liner brushes . . .
Date: August 11, 2009
"I purchased this along with the gel liners when they first came out because at the time I only had the slanted eye liner brush. I find it perfect to use for that purpose and have occasionally used it damp with powder liner as well.
I think this is good starter liner brush. The bristles are stiffer, shorter and thicker than a liquid liner style brush even though it is called 'ultra fine' so if you are used to the baby-fine liquid liner brushes you may find this one a bit too thick. I am still able to get a thin, precise line at the root of my lashes for that lash-enhancing, no liner look but it takes more patience than using a flat 'push' liner brush. I also wipe the sides down on the edge of my liner pot or back of my hand prior to applying as you only need a little gel liner (much easier to add more than take away excess). For those who have a hard time drawing a smooth, one stroke line, try dotting small dashes along the lash line & then blending together.
I do wish they had the short handle version when I bought mine - I ended up sawing & sanding the end to make mine short enough that it doesn't hit the mirror while applying. Even though I collect makeup brushes and have many, I haven’t seen another one just like this one – although my passion is for the big, fluffy face brushes more so than detailed eye brushes.
As with all of Bobbi's brushes, I haven't had any issues with quality - no shedding or coming loose from the base."
Review 13 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:SeattleCow
(Seattle, WA)
Short life
Date: December 11, 2009
Pros: when new
"I do LOVE the brush - well that's before it started fraying after only 3 months of low frequency use - 2X/week at most - and a thorough cleansing after each use. It's great with the gel liner but the fraying and curling makes it now almost impossible to apply the liner properly.
I emailed Customer Service with this concern and have not as yet received a response. I would buy it again if I'm told that I got a defective brush and that this is not normal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:TXLAOKCA
2nd one
Date: May 19, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"Love this brush so much this is my second one. This is the best brush for tightlining. It is precise and so easy to work with, not too thick or thin."
Review 15 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Treebs
Date: May 19, 2014
"Great, precise tool for getting that perfect line near your lashes!"
Review 16 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Hjane
LOVE this unique brush!
Date: April 6, 2014
"This brush is wonderful! Makes applying eyeliner easy to control amount and width desired. Love it!"
Review 17 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Carolito
(Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic)
Holy grail
Date: April 1, 2014
Pros: everyone
Cons: Can't live without
"To me, there isn't any other liner brush. Period. This takes just the right amount of product and makes it virtually impossible to mess up. No tugging, no pulling, just straight, beautiful lining. Love it!"
Review 18 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Precious53
(Augusta, Georgia)
Fabulous Brush
Date: March 19, 2014
"I purchased this brush when I decided to try the gel eyeliner, which I love. I lost the brush so I went to the drug store and purchased a store brand to use thinking it wouldn't really make a difference. Was I wrong! Just received my replacement brush from Bobbi Brown. Try it, you will love it."
Review 19 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:tuddie54
(Bloomington, Indiana)
Another great one!
Date: January 24, 2013
Pros: anyone who wants a slim smooth line
Cons: Can't live without
"I guess if I had to choose I would choose this Liner brush and the gel liner in the jar you use this brush with (like the gel pencil also). Be sure you wash your brush as soon as you use it or it will harden and you will poke into your gel, plus you need it soft to make a smooth line. Love all your eye liners! They Stay on forever even of a morning after you I have taken off makeup nite before it is still there! Maybe a little smeared but its there!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra Fine Eye Liner Brush
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:eclecticsage
(Kansas City, Missouri USA)
It's a Fine Line
Date: March 17, 2014
Cons: the best i've used...
"This brush offers control for drawing a fine, fine line close to edge of lid. Finally a super brush for what I need..."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>