Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Extra Balm Rinse

Average Customer Rating:
4.816 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (147 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
143 of 147(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Extra Balm Rinse
Review 1 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Addicted2MU
(Louisiana)
Dream Come True for Dry Skin
Date: September 24, 2013
"Summer or Winter, I have very dry skin. Even though I take excellent care of my skin, I still battle with dry patches. I have read lately that balm cleansers are best for dry skin. Being an avid Bobbi fan, I picked up a sample and decided to give this one a try. For me, it was love at first use. The texture of this balm is a thick, rich gel. I scoop a bit out of the jar, massage it all over my face and watch my makeup instantly melt away . (A little goes a long way!) Even though this is a thick cleanser, I was quite surprised to find that my face rinsed clean with just a few splashes of water. All that is left is soft, plump, hydrated skin without the usual dry stripped feeling I've experienced with most other cleansers. A plus for me is the incredible citrus scent. It is a nice change from the medicinal scent other cleanser have. Now, I actually look forward to cleansing my face at night, and that's not something I've ever been able to say before. I have tried using this cleanser to remove my eye makeup, as well. It did a decent job, but I found I still needed a few swipes of an eye makeup remover to clean up left behind mascara. Since I normally use a separate eye makeup remover anyhow, this was not a deal beaker for me. I also think it is a pretty good value considering how much product you get versus other cleansers at this price point."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:dmmr
(Bend, OR)
Perfect cleanser for dry, mature skin
Date: September 9, 2010
Pros: mature skin, fragile skn, Dry Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"Mature. Don't you love that descriptive word for the skin of we who are 55 plus...as opposed to aging as example? But whatever we call it, most of us face (no pun intended) the challenges of skin that is more dry and more fragile as it ages. This is a great cleansing option for anyone with that kind of skin, at any age, and I'm so glad to have it available to me at age 56.
I was pretty happy with the BB lathering tube soap, which is a great product, but decided to try the Balm Rinse for a little extra moisture. This Balm has so many great features...it goes on easily (just rub some between your fingers and then apply to your face - wet your fingers and massage it a bit to emulsify), rinses off completely with water (using your hands or a washcloth - whatever you like best), and it smells refreshing (like a breeze wafting through a citrus grove). But the "real deal' is in the result - the Balm Rinse leaves your skin feeling clean, soft and moisture-aaaaaahhhhhh-ized.
Whether finishing your night time routine with a night time moisturizer alone or with intensive serum followed by moisturizer, the Balm Rinse cleanser is a good starting point. I think I've found the perfect fit cleanser for me for a long time."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:bohemiandoc
(Minneapolis, MN)
Change in packaging ruins a great thing!
Date: April 28, 2010
"I used to love, love, LOVE the balm rinse! Fantastic for sensitive dry fair skin. My complaint is that they changed the packaging. It used to come in a tube- easy to use, came through TSA with no problem (when you travel every week that's a HUGE thing), very sanitary (never had to put my finger back into the same pot). I can't buy it anymore because 1) I travel for work and the pot is too large to pass through security-- and I really don't want to spend the time glopping it into a smaller container over and over , and 2) I don't use any product where I have to put my finger over and over into the same container- stuff gets under your fingernails, and skin bacteria can contaminate the container. Then you have to start using a paddle to scoop out the stuff, and there's another thing to get dropped or contaminated in the shower. This is so sad-- the product really is fantastic, but whoever made the decision to change the packaging just lost a customer."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:gvenice
(mils river, NC)
Date: March 29, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"my go to cleanser morning and night. love it, love it, love it!!!"
Review 5 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:maryboo
(virginia beach, va)
Date: March 15, 2014
"Okay, I know this is just a face cleanser but it is so lush and comforting it feels like a spa treatment. The scent is relaxing and refreshing. Skin is left clean but not taut. A very nice experience."
Review 6 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Bozismydog
(Richmond, VA)
Amazing Cleanser!!
Date: February 25, 2014
"This cleanser is awesome!! It is thick and rich and smells beautiful. Surprisingly, for its richness and texture, it rinses clean and leaves your skin nice and soft. This product exceeded my expectations!!"
Review 7 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:empress
(los angeles, ca)
Please label your products clearly
Date: July 6, 2010
"I received a sample of this item. "Extra Balm Rinse" is a bit confusing. It is a lip balm? A lip rinse? A facial rinse? From its consistency, it looked like a lip balm to me. I had to check the website to realize it was a skin cleanser. I'm glad I checked first because I almost used it as a lip balm."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:arabrider
(Arizona)
Extra Balm Rinse - Heaven!
Date: March 21, 2012
Cons: Can't live without
"I love this cleanser, leaves my 57 yr old skin soft and supple, I use this at night and one of the Nordstrom ladies showed me how to use with the Buffing Grains, mixed together for exfoliating so I keep this concoction in the shower and use it twice a week on face and chest area. After about a month of using it both ways, my skin has never looked better. Along with the serum and the rest of the extra line, I am sold!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:fjlanders9
(Huntsville, AL)
Soothing
Date: January 30, 2014
"Warm, soothing, smells great. I'm on my second jar and really enjoying the pleasure of this nighttime treat."
Review 10 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:BusyRN
(Gilbert, AZ)
Extremely gentile
Date: March 8, 2010
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Can't live without
"This product is extremely easy to use and just washes off with warm water with no residue. All you need to do is get a little on your fingers, warm it up by rubbing it between your other fingers, then gently apply to your face. Here is where you have a choice. You could either rinse it off easily now with warm water or leave it on for 10-15 minutes then rinse it off with the warm water and it works as a hydrating mask. I really like the orange blossom smell too. I have had no facial breakouts since using this product too. Not too shabby!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Opplbonnie
(Orland Park, IL)
Makes you want to clean your face!
Date: January 1, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"I love this Extra Balm Rinse. The aroma when you're using it is simply amazing. I actually look forward to cleansing my face. It glides on easily and rinses off well with just a little warm water added to it. Makeup just rinses off with no need for scrubbing or pulling on your skin. It's an exceptional product."
Review 12 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:riley
(Tarpon Springs, FL)
Please bring back the creamy facial cleanser!
Date: December 7, 2009
"Although I can see how this product is good for some people, my skin is not dry enough for the balm and too dry for the foaming facial cleanser. I absolutely LOVED the creamy facial cleanser and it has been discontinued!!! Bobbi...please bring it back!! The balm rinse might be a good night wash for me, but is way too heavy to use morning and night. Also, the packaging is not good for wet hands or use in the shower. I also don't like the fact that I have to dip my fingers into it. I much prefer a squeeze tube. Please Bobbi, I miss my creamy cleanser!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ddrn
(Ocala, Florida)
Great relief for dry skin!
Date: February 21, 2012
"I purchased this product after trying many others for dry, irritated red skin. This is an amazing product and with the first wash I could tell a difference. Soothing, but a very thorough cleaning. I do wish they included a small spatula to remove the product from the jar.
I have used Bobbi's products for many years and have never been disappointed. I have sensitive skin and heavily scented products irritate my eyes, but I did not have any problems with this product. Finally, I do not feel that every time I smile my face is cracking!!
I am 60 years young with a youthful appearance thanks to Bobbi Brown."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:TravelingGal
(Denver, CO)
On my second pot and going strong!
Date: December 3, 2013
Cons: Can't live without
"I've seen this cleanser for years, but never tried it until I received a small sample. It smells delicious making washing my face more exciting each night. The cleanser removes all my makeup and leaves me skin feeling soft, plump, and hydrated, which is saying a lot for living in Denver. My only drama with this product (and so minor i'm still giving it five stars) is that when your fingers are wet and you put them back in the pot for more product, the water sits on top of the product so ideally it would come with a little spoon. Otherwise, love!"
Review 15 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:RLAA
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Great winter product.
Date: June 11, 2011
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Smells Great, Gentle, Hydrating
"I finally got around to reviewing this balm. I have oily skin and would never have tried this if I didn't receive a sample. I later bought the full size. I love the smell and the texture. I use this in the winter, I love the outdoors in the winter but with the dry air and heat indoors my face gets a little on the drier side. If I get too dry, I start producing excess oil and then break out. This balm cleans without stripping and without being too heavy thus causing breakouts. I don't use it in the summer since my skin isn't dry all year long. If you are oily don't be mislead into thinking it isn't for you, unless you spend your winters in the tropics, this is a great winter product for keeping skin balanced."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:EVsMom
(Houston, TX)
Nice treat for dehydrated skin
Date: December 6, 2013
Pros: dehydrated
Cons: splurge
"I've used the BB cleansing cream and oil for years. I've always enjoyed samples of the balm rinse from my local Nordstroms counter...after a trip to London for a week my skin was so dehydrated that I went straight to get this balm. I like it a lot and there is a ton of product, I just wish the price was a bit lower hence the 4 stars."
Review 17 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Hilofdreams
(SW, MI)
Dry skin essential
Date: February 8, 2013
Pros: makeup removal, Dry Skin, deep cleaning
Cons: Can't live without, Gentle
"I love the entire EXTRA line, and EXTRA Balm Rinse is an essential part of my skin care routine. I use this cleanser in the evening to take off my makeup and prepare my skin for moisturizer. The balm melts the makeup away, and after rinsing it away, my skin feels incredibly soft, unlike with any other cleansers I have ever used. The jar is huge, and only a little is necessary each time, so one jar lasts me the better part of six months. I also like to sprinkle a little buffing grains into the balm once or twice a week, and I have an amazing exfoliator. If you have dry skin and have had trouble finding a cleanser that deeply cleans your skin yet doesn't dry it out, EXTRA balm rinse is the answer. I don't think I'll ever be able to use anything else, particularly in the winter when the air is so dry and destructive to my dry skin."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:JUCA
Amazing!
Date: October 31, 2013
"This is the best make up remover I've used so far. It smells delicious and comes in a thick balm gel texture. The balm turns warm instantly when I put it on my dry face. The warmness calms the face. Makeup comes off very easily after gently massaging the whole face and cleanse it with a few splashes of warm water. The balm becomes white foamy texture when it touches the water. I have very dry skin. This product makes my skin very clean, smooth, supple and moisturized. I can't wait to take off my makeup everyday since it is such an enjoyment using this product. It seems expensive but actually not since one jar can last for a looooonnnnnng time. I don't mind scooping the product from the jar, however I do prefer a squeezing tube which is more sanitary."
Review 19 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:indychic
(Anywhere, IN)
Fantastic orangey goo . . .
Date: August 3, 2009
"I received this in an 'Extra to Go' kit a few years back when my usually normal-to-oily skin was drier. It's my favorite of the Extra line & I purchased a full size once the "to go" one was finished.
This is like zingy-orange scented vaseline, however, after massaging into skin & adding water it turns to a milky lotion & rinses clean - taking all my makeup with it. It's a splurge but lasts forever. I use this when my skin is feeling drier and have not had breakout issues."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:foster
(Medford, Minnesota)
Finally !!!!!
Date: March 30, 2010
Pros: people with dry skin
Cons: Can't live without
"Winter in the Midwest has been brutal on my face. My skin is dry to begin with and in the bitter cold dry air my cheeks were always red, it was almost painful. My co-workers assumed I had rosacea. This winter I used EXTRA Balm Rinse and my face was beautiful! No more painful red dry cheeks.
The balm is so thick and nurishing. Thanks Bobbi
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>