Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Cleansing Story or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Extra Balm Rinse

Average Customer Rating:
4.82 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (156 reviews)
5 stars
135
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
152 of 156(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Extra Balm Rinse
Review 1 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Addicted2MU
(Louisiana)
Dream Come True for Dry Skin
Date: September 24, 2013
" Summer or Winter, I have very dry skin. Even though I take excellent care of my skin, I still battle with dry patches. I have read lately that balm cleansers are best for dry skin. Being an avid Bobbi fan, I picked up a sample and decided to give this one a try. For me, it was love at first use. The texture of this balm is a thick, rich gel. I scoop a bit out of the jar, massage it all over my face and watch my makeup instantly melt away . (A little goes a long way!) Even though this is a thick cleanser, I was quite surprised to find that my face rinsed clean with just a few splashes of water. All that is left is soft, plump, hydrated skin without the usual dry stripped feeling I've experienced with most other cleansers. A plus for me is the incredible citrus scent. It is a nice change from the medicinal scent other cleanser have. Now, I actually look forward to cleansing my face at night, and that's not something I've ever been able to say before. I have tried using this cleanser to remove my eye makeup, as well. It did a decent job, but I found I still needed a few swipes of an eye makeup remover to clean up left behind mascara. Since I normally use a separate eye makeup remover anyhow, this was not a deal beaker for me. I also think it is a pretty good value considering how much product you get versus other cleansers at this price point. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:dmmr
(Bend, OR)
Perfect cleanser for dry, mature skin
Date: September 9, 2010
Pros: mature skin, fragile skn, Dry Skin
Cons: Can't live without
" Mature. Don't you love that descriptive word for the skin of we who are 55 plus...as opposed to aging as example? But whatever we call it, most of us face (no pun intended) the challenges of skin that is more dry and more fragile as it ages. This is a great cleansing option for anyone with that kind of skin, at any age, and I'm so glad to have it available to me at age 56.
I was pretty happy with the BB lathering tube soap, which is a great product, but decided to try the Balm Rinse for a little extra moisture. This Balm has so many great features...it goes on easily (just rub some between your fingers and then apply to your face - wet your fingers and massage it a bit to emulsify), rinses off completely with water (using your hands or a washcloth - whatever you like best), and it smells refreshing (like a breeze wafting through a citrus grove). But the "real deal' is in the result - the Balm Rinse leaves your skin feeling clean, soft and moisture-aaaaaahhhhhh-ized.
Whether finishing your night time routine with a night time moisturizer alone or with intensive serum followed by moisturizer, the Balm Rinse cleanser is a good starting point. I think I've found the perfect fit cleanser for me for a long time. "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Marm
(Dallas, Texas)
Luv it
Date: December 17, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
" I received a sample of this and after using it decided I couldn't live w/o it. I have dry, sensitive, mature skin. It is soothing and leaves my skin feeling soft, refreshed and plumped. "
Review 4 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Bgso
great product
Date: December 8, 2014
" love how this completely cleans and leaves my face feeling refreshed and moisturized "
Review 5 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Nachan
(Las Vegas, NV)
Love It!
Date: November 24, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
" I love this product! It feels warm first and cleans everything. It is amazing!! "
Review 6 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaseyR
(Catonsville, MD)
Do you have Dry Skin?
Date: October 12, 2014
Pros: Dry Skin, sensitive skin
Cons: Can't live without, Gentle, Hydrating
" If you answered yes, then this is a great cleanser for you! I received a sample of this product and I instantly fell in love. You only need a little bit, and simply massage it into your skin. You make up will easily come off, and a few splashes of water removes the balm from your face. This cleanser left my face feeling hydrated, which is all I ever want. "
Review 7 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:bohemiandoc
(Minneapolis, MN)
Change in packaging ruins a great thing!
Date: April 28, 2010
" I used to love, love, LOVE the balm rinse! Fantastic for sensitive dry fair skin. My complaint is that they changed the packaging. It used to come in a tube- easy to use, came through TSA with no problem (when you travel every week that's a HUGE thing), very sanitary (never had to put my finger back into the same pot). I can't buy it anymore because 1) I travel for work and the pot is too large to pass through security-- and I really don't want to spend the time glopping it into a smaller container over and over , and 2) I don't use any product where I have to put my finger over and over into the same container- stuff gets under your fingernails, and skin bacteria can contaminate the container. Then you have to start using a paddle to scoop out the stuff, and there's another thing to get dropped or contaminated in the shower. This is so sad-- the product really is fantastic, but whoever made the decision to change the packaging just lost a customer. "
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:arabrider
(Arizona)
Extra Balm Rinse - Heaven!
Date: March 21, 2012
Cons: Can't live without
" I love this cleanser, leaves my 57 yr old skin soft and supple, I use this at night and one of the Nordstrom ladies showed me how to use with the Buffing Grains, mixed together for exfoliating so I keep this concoction in the shower and use it twice a week on face and chest area. After about a month of using it both ways, my skin has never looked better. Along with the serum and the rest of the extra line, I am sold!!! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:BusyRN
(Gilbert, AZ)
Extremely gentile
Date: March 8, 2010
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Can't live without
" This product is extremely easy to use and just washes off with warm water with no residue. All you need to do is get a little on your fingers, warm it up by rubbing it between your other fingers, then gently apply to your face. Here is where you have a choice. You could either rinse it off easily now with warm water or leave it on for 10-15 minutes then rinse it off with the warm water and it works as a hydrating mask. I really like the orange blossom smell too. I have had no facial breakouts since using this product too. Not too shabby! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:gvenice
(mils river, NC)
Date: March 29, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
" my go to cleanser morning and night. love it, love it, love it!!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:empress
(los angeles, ca)
Please label your products clearly
Date: July 6, 2010
" I received a sample of this item. "Extra Balm Rinse" is a bit confusing. It is a lip balm? A lip rinse? A facial rinse? From its consistency, it looked like a lip balm to me. I had to check the website to realize it was a skin cleanser. I'm glad I checked first because I almost used it as a lip balm. "
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:riley
(Tarpon Springs, FL)
Please bring back the creamy facial cleanser!
Date: December 7, 2009
" Although I can see how this product is good for some people, my skin is not dry enough for the balm and too dry for the foaming facial cleanser. I absolutely LOVED the creamy facial cleanser and it has been discontinued!!! Bobbi...please bring it back!! The balm rinse might be a good night wash for me, but is way too heavy to use morning and night. Also, the packaging is not good for wet hands or use in the shower. I also don't like the fact that I have to dip my fingers into it. I much prefer a squeeze tube. Please Bobbi, I miss my creamy cleanser! "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:RLAA
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
Great winter product.
Date: June 11, 2011
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Smells Great, Gentle, Hydrating
" I finally got around to reviewing this balm. I have oily skin and would never have tried this if I didn't receive a sample. I later bought the full size. I love the smell and the texture. I use this in the winter, I love the outdoors in the winter but with the dry air and heat indoors my face gets a little on the drier side. If I get too dry, I start producing excess oil and then break out. This balm cleans without stripping and without being too heavy thus causing breakouts. I don't use it in the summer since my skin isn't dry all year long. If you are oily don't be mislead into thinking it isn't for you, unless you spend your winters in the tropics, this is a great winter product for keeping skin balanced. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ddrn
(Ocala, Florida)
Great relief for dry skin!
Date: February 21, 2012
" I purchased this product after trying many others for dry, irritated red skin. This is an amazing product and with the first wash I could tell a difference. Soothing, but a very thorough cleaning. I do wish they included a small spatula to remove the product from the jar.
I have used Bobbi's products for many years and have never been disappointed. I have sensitive skin and heavily scented products irritate my eyes, but I did not have any problems with this product. Finally, I do not feel that every time I smile my face is cracking!!
I am 60 years young with a youthful appearance thanks to Bobbi Brown. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:indychic
(Anywhere, IN)
Fantastic orangey goo . . .
Date: August 3, 2009
" I received this in an 'Extra to Go' kit a few years back when my usually normal-to-oily skin was drier. It's my favorite of the Extra line & I purchased a full size once the "to go" one was finished.
This is like zingy-orange scented vaseline, however, after massaging into skin & adding water it turns to a milky lotion & rinses clean - taking all my makeup with it. It's a splurge but lasts forever. I use this when my skin is feeling drier and have not had breakout issues. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:foster
(Medford, Minnesota)
Finally !!!!!
Date: March 30, 2010
Pros: people with dry skin
Cons: Can't live without
" Winter in the Midwest has been brutal on my face. My skin is dry to begin with and in the bitter cold dry air my cheeks were always red, it was almost painful. My co-workers assumed I had rosacea. This winter I used EXTRA Balm Rinse and my face was beautiful! No more painful red dry cheeks.
The balm is so thick and nurishing. Thanks Bobbi
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:janld
(Birmingham, AL)
Date: August 3, 2010
" the extra blam rinse is absolutely the only cleanser I would ever use. I am 77 and and have dry skin--no other cleanser (and I have tried them all) works as well for me. It is worth every penny I pay and really last a long time. Great product. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:MereBear
(Washington, D.C.)
Surprise treat for dry, sensitive skin
Date: May 19, 2014
Pros: Dry Skin
" It's hard to believe this is a face cleanser when you see this product for the first time - it is very gooey and super thick. The online consultant recommended applying to dry skin (also unusual) which creates a weird paste on your face at first. The magic of this product, to me, begins when you then wet your fingers and create an emulsion on your face before rinsing it off. This is the first face wash that hasn't left my face screaming for moisture immediately. I subtracted one star for the smell- it smells like orange soda or sunny delight - not exactly the smell I'm looking for in a face wash. Overall though it's a nice product and will last a long time. "
Review 19 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Hilofdreams
(SW, MI)
Dry skin essential
Date: February 8, 2013
Pros: makeup removal, Dry Skin, deep cleaning
Cons: Can't live without, Gentle
" I love the entire EXTRA line, and EXTRA Balm Rinse is an essential part of my skin care routine. I use this cleanser in the evening to take off my makeup and prepare my skin for moisturizer. The balm melts the makeup away, and after rinsing it away, my skin feels incredibly soft, unlike with any other cleansers I have ever used. The jar is huge, and only a little is necessary each time, so one jar lasts me the better part of six months. I also like to sprinkle a little buffing grains into the balm once or twice a week, and I have an amazing exfoliator. If you have dry skin and have had trouble finding a cleanser that deeply cleans your skin yet doesn't dry it out, EXTRA balm rinse is the answer. I don't think I'll ever be able to use anything else, particularly in the winter when the air is so dry and destructive to my dry skin. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Extra Balm Rinse
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:christianne
(Chicago, IL)
Lovely for my dry, stressed skin!
Date: January 28, 2011
" Being a flight attendant and spending endless hours in a dry cabin can make my skin look awful by the time I get to my layover hotel. I adore Bobbi's makeup and got a sample of the EXTRA Balm Rinse with one of my purchases, and immediately bought the full size after trying it out.
I use this only at night before I go to sleep, and I only have to use a quarter size amount so a little goes a long way. I warm it in my hands and apply it to my dry face. The smell is divine...like fresh citrus! After rubbing in in my skin for a few minutes I add a little warm water and rinse off. Beautiful, soft, moisturized skin!It takes off every trace of makeup I have on and leaves my skin perfectly clean and glowing.
My only complaint is the glass jar is a little bit bulky and heavy to travel with, but I just transferred some into a smaller plastic container so it was an easy fix.
Also, it may seem a bit pricey but the large jar lasts forever and you only have to use a small amount each time.
I definitely recommend this!!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>