Customer Reviews for Illuminating Bronzing Powder

Illuminating Bronzing Powder

Average Customer Rating:
4.809 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(392 Reviews) 386
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (392 reviews)
5 stars
329
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
384 of 392(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Review 1 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: September 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:South East Asia
This product works well for: everyday
This product is: cant't live without

very long lasting, shows beautifully in photographs, good for the skin, very high quality

I have this in the Antigua shade. Initially, when you open it, it just looks like a pretty blush. But when you look at yourself in photos wearing this, you realise that it's totally a bronzer! It translates as a bronzer into photos so well, that you truly, truly look like your cheeks are sun- kissed and your facial features cast in gold! I am very happy with this and I am so glad I bought it blindly online (got this one from SaksFifth)! You've got to take the risk, sometimes! That's life, right? And another thing, is that in photos it looks exactly like what Victoria's Secret supermodels have on their faces in photoshoots! It doesn't wear off, either! I wore this trekking though the jungle and it lasted the whole time! And the best thing about this, which I believe to be the magic of supreme innovation, is the fact that when you wash your brush out with soap and water (the makeup brush that you use to apply this), the brush only needs a single rinsing to be completely clean! Compare that to other blushes/bronzers, that's made of stuff that sticks to your makeup brushes for forever! I believe this means that this bronzer is made out of ingredients that aren't going to sit into your pores and hang onto them and clog them! Skin goodness+excellent performance= highest quality product! I hope the formula and the ingredients never change!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Arizona, USA
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: amazing

This is NOT a blush but actually a beautiful bronzer!

Ok so I want to set the confusion straight on how people are commenting on the pink colors as a "blush". Those reviews almost made me not buy this, and I am so glad that I still did! I cannot live without this product! The pink colors are ACTUALLY bronzers made for a very specific fair complexion with Antigua bringing the lightest of them all. Antigua is for people with complexions up to warm ivory in foundation. I lost a lot of my pigment in my skin, making me the fairest of all Italians out there. I have very dark hair and eyes (almost black) and my skin is so fair that I often felt like a ghost. I have been unable to wear a bronzer. I do not tan at all in the sun so every bronzer was just way too dark. The Antigua bronzer works wonders on my fair, dry complexion. I use the face blender brush to apply a lighter application. I wear Warm Ivory in foundation and have pink and yellow under. The bronzer blends into fair complexions great and looks very natural. My extra dry skin cannot handle powder and I have found that this bronzer sets my foundation nicely. It has a matt finish and does not settle in dry patches or cracks. The shimmer is not over done on this product and it does give my skin a nice glow. My cheeks are naturally pink and my face can get red easily (which can be often in the hot desert). I can still wear blush with the bronzer and my face does not ever appear red or pink. My skin just looks healthy, hydrated, and full of life! Thanks Bobbi for thinking about the fair women out there!
Pros: dry skin, bronzer for fair complexions, lasts all day, provides natural coloring to skin
Cons: will become your favorite product that you cannot go without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 14, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Brooklyn Heights, NY
This product works well for: everyday use
This product is: cant't live without
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Beautiful color, lovely finish, for an everyday healthy glow

This is my second re-order of this blush/bronzer in "Antigua." This soft, natural looking powder goes on smoothly, looks natural and adds a subtle healthy glow.
I have fair skin, and find this never looks yellow or golden, just a nice dusty rosy color.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: August 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Birmingham, AL

Like Product but Not Package

I really like this product and the Antigua color. I use it in the summer as a bronzer and blush and it gives my fair complexion a nice glow. My huge complaint is the packaging - this is my second compact in which the open/close latch has broken internally and now it will not stay shut. I am very gentle with the compact and it only ever stays in my make-up drawer (not banged around in my purse, etc.). Pretty disappointing when this purchase is also fairly new. So all in all I don't know whether or not I would recommend or would buy it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Milton, VT
I am aRegular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to beLong-wearing
My skin feelsOily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone isFair
My eyes areHazel

Beautiful!

I love this Illuminating Bronzing Powder! I got the Antigua (2nd time purchase) and use it every day as my blush. Very flattering and just the right pop of color for my fair skin.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Florence, AL

Antigua is a bronzer!

Just wanted to say there is a reason Antigua is listed as a bronzer & not blush. It's a bronzer for a very specific skin type that regular brown/tan/gold bronzers don't work on. If you are like me with light/fair skin with warm/yellow undertones and pink/rose blushes pull (turn) orange or brown on you, then Antigua might work well for you. Normal brown or gold bronzers always look dirty on my skin nO matter how light. I need a bronzer with a lot of pink in it so that when it blends with my skin tone, it comes out looking like a normal bronzer instead of muddy & orange. Now if pink & rose colored bronzers don't pull orange on you & you can wear normal brown/gold shade bronzers, then Antigua would likely work more as a beautiful, natural blush for you. For those of us who pull orange from pinks in blush & can't wear brown toned bronzers, this is a great option! Doesn't look pink on me at all. Just looks like a pretty golden sunkissed look.
Pros: fair/light with yellow undertone
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Pittsburg, CA
I am aRegular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to beWearable
My skin feelsNormal
My skin tone isOlive
My eyes areBrown

OMG THIS STUFF IS AWESOME!!!!!

I bought this bronzer in the color Maui and its such a pretty coral/pink color. The online color in the picture does not do it justice at all. I use over my blush or sometimes alone as a blush. It has a light shimmer but compliments my face in all lights and gives me a nice subtle glow. It photographs really well and makes you look so healthy and warm looking. The color Maui literally makes you look like you have a Hawaiian glow...I LOVE IT and can't live without it. I also purchased this bronzer in Antigua and its very pretty. Way more subtle than Maui. Antigua is a soft pink with a light simmer that is nice for those day's where you don't want to wear a lot of makeup but want to give you cheeks a soft hint of color, it's very pretty and very feminine....
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:El Lago, TX

Where's the bronze ?

I was very disappointed in Antigua. The shade is too pink and there is not any bronze. The color does glide on the skin and it is best described as a luminous blush and not a bronzer. I would recommend this to a friend as a very good blush, but as for me I will not purchase again. I gave it 3 stars because it does not have any bronze in the color.
Pros: dry dull skin
Cons: too pink
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: July 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Southern CA

Antigua

I tried Antigua and while the product is of excellent quality, I had to return it b/c the color didn't work for me. It made me look too dirty and darkened my overall complexion too much. I choose this color b/c of it's description as a "light pink bronze" and b/c of the high recommendations here from other users and lovers of the Antigua color; but I think I will try one of the pinkier ones next time. I am Sand 02 / Neutral for makeup with green eyes and medium golden brown hair. I'm new to Bobbi Brown, so am still learning my right shades and products, but they are of such high quality and of little allergenic properties, so I'm going to continue trying.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Chicago
This product works well for: everyone
This product is: cant't live without

Please don't ever discontinue "Antigua"

Everywhere I go I am complimented how well I look!
I purchased this item to change up my routine from my regular bronzer (medium). Purchased this color based on the Bobbi Brown video clip with Kate Upton, the one where she talks about Pretty Powerful.
It is AMAZING!
It looks more shimmery than it is when it goes on, I purchased Antigua and it is like a miracle bronzer. I will buy this forever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 3, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Tampa Bay
This product works well for: everyone!
This product is: cant't live without
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Summer Vacation Year-Round

After purchasing Aruba and Maui shades at my Bobbi Brown counter I decided to add Santa Barbara. This is a slightly deeper coral-pink shade. These are truly bronzer blushers that leave a glow without being too frosty. I will sometimes mix shades together and they are very blendable. I am very protective of my skin but who doesn't love a summery highlight? This provides the perfect answer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:San Diego CA
I am aMakeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to beWearable
My skin feelsNormal
My skin tone isFair
My eyes areGreen

Vacation in a Compact

I heard that Bobbi Brown was coming out with a bronzer with shimmer in it over a year ago, and that it was going to be beautiful. I was told to watch for “Antigua”.
I purchased Antigua the first week it premiered without even trying it on. I hurried home and put it right over the blush I was wearing, and I just glowed:) I’ve tried it with my regular bronzer, with pot rouge, with everyone of my six powder blushes (I’m a BB blush addict), and all by itself. It always looks wonderful no matter what, and never looks like I’ve tried to do anything at all. It’s a product that’s reminiscent of several shimmer/bronzer products that came out in 2005, but so much nicer. It doesn’t have that nasty white look if I put on a little too much. It’s finely milled and hard pressed so that I never have to be careful.
Antiqua gives me that sunny, healthy, pretty “I’ve been on a vacation” look. Now…who could ask for more?
Pros: anyone wants a bronzy glow
Cons: Can't live without, makes me look pretty, tightly pressed, quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 17, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Milwaukee, WI, USA
This product works well for: everyday
This product is: cant't live without
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Beautiful hint of pink

I went to Bobbi Brown looking for a blush that would look natural but without too much sparkle. I am Hispanic, and have a medium caramel skin tone. It is very hard for me to find a blush/bronze that is visible with my tone, but also looks natural. When the make up artist tried Santa Barbara on my skin tone, I fell in love. It looked natural when then took me to the "natural" light area. A bit of sparkle, with a hit on pink. I waited until the website had a sale going for 20% off, and jumped at the opportunity. No regrets here! Santa Barbara looks great on darker Hispanic women!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 23, 2016
Customer Avatar
Written By:
This product works well for: everyday use
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contestNo

Exceptional Coverage

Best concealer that works for me for those areas you want to hide.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Washington, D.C.

Stunning!

The best way to describe this product is "stunning." I use the Antigua color and it matches nicely with my fair complexion - adding a look of "pinched cheeks" to my face without looking too over-done. While I have read reviews justifying why this is called a bronzer, it really looks like more of a blush on my skin tone - which is what I like but you should know that ahead of time.
Also, you do not need much of this product so it is likely to last me a LONG time. My only complaint so far is that the case clasp broke on only my second time trying to open it and now the top will not completely close or seal off the product.
Otherwise, it's a keeper. Try it out!
Pros: beautiful
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Dallas, TX
I am aMakeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to beWearable
My skin feelsOily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone isMedium
My eyes areHazel

Just the right amount of shimmer

I bought this product based on the reviews I read here, I must admit.
Since I had a trip to my local "Bobbi" store planned, I was able to consult personally with a Bobbi Representative. He recommended using this product over Bobbi's regular bronzer, which I already use. I had him apply it, and then went to a business meeting. Someone actually commented that I had a really nice healthy glow to my complexion! SOLD, BOBBI!
I have a good bit of red already in my skin, so I bought "Aruba". I may try another as a blush substitute at some point, but I think I really NEED blush.
I'm over 50 and the Shimmer Bricks are just WAY too much glitter for me. This was just right...just a glow.
Pros: anyone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:New Hampshire
I am aMakeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to beHigh Quality
My skin feelsOily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone isFair
My eyes areBrown

Antigua

I saw a lot of reviews for people with fair skin who bought this in Antigua so I thought I'd try it. I use the regular bronzer in Golden Light 1 which is perfect for me (I'm shade Porcelain for ref). This is definitely pink and shimmery, which I like using as blush on top of using the original bronzer. It is a great pop of color and is very glowy not glittery. Even though it is a brighter pink it still looks really natural. I personally think this looks great with a subtle bronze/brown eye, lots of mascara, and a pink/rosey lip. So pretty!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:The South

Healthy Glow-no Shimmer Frost

I've shied away from pink in blushes or even bronzers but this makes me look healthy and ready to face the world.From 1 year out of chemo having color in my face as I was rebuilding my strength was/is important-want outside to match the good feelings inside. Antigua is a perfect pink brown, sheer and easy to apply-I use a kabuki. Compact is good for purse and a good value as well.
Pros: fair/lt./lt-med complexions
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Boise, ID

Stays on All Day

I had been wearing the Medium2 bronzer for like 6 months, even in winter since that is when I bought.. Went to Bobbi Brown counter as they were having Bobbi Brown make up artists there, and I had an Appt.. One of the personal artists that works with Bobbi Brown was there and he started asking the artist working on me why she chose the colors that she had chosen for bronzers.. I was used to wearing the Medium2 bronzer and since I have redish skin when I get nervous, or excited or crying for example, my neck, and chest area breaks out in this redish color, I hate it!! well my skin of course was doing that at the time and he recommended the Illuminating Bronzer in Maui color, to match my skin rather than the "golden look". I like it , I like the medium2 as well, but ever since that day, I have been wearing the Maui, and I use it as my blush too all in 1. And it does match better for me. I am light to medium skin tone, I wear warm sand 2.5 skin foundation. Looks Great! Thank you Bobbi Artists!
Pros: blush/bronzer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:
Location:Atlanta, GA
I am aMakeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to beHigh Quality
My skin feelsDry
My skin tone isFair
My eyes areBrown

wow amazing

I just bought this is Maui and Antigua, really sheer and beautiful. I wear Sand and Warm Ivory foundation/concealer. Antigua for me is like a little flush, really soft and natural; Maui is more of a peachy-pink and the shimmer is very soft but higher than in Antigua. The texture is unreal, soft and super fine milling, you will love this even if you're not a "bronzer" person!
Pros: fair skin, as a blush
Cons: soft, natural, no streaks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>