Customer Reviews for Illuminating Bronzing Powder

Illuminating Bronzing Powder

Average Customer Rating:
4.805 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(385 Reviews) 379
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (385 reviews)
5 stars
322
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
377 of 385(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Review 1 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: August 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:apuck
Location:Birmingham, AL

Like Product but Not Package

I really like this product and the Antigua color. I use it in the summer as a bronzer and blush and it gives my fair complexion a nice glow. My huge complaint is the packaging - this is my second compact in which the open/close latch has broken internally and now it will not stay shut. I am very gentle with the compact and it only ever stays in my make-up drawer (not banged around in my purse, etc.). Pretty disappointing when this purchase is also fairly new. So all in all I don't know whether or not I would recommend or would buy it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No, I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:ALLAWGAL38
Location:Florence, AL

Antigua is a bronzer!

Just wanted to say there is a reason Antigua is listed as a bronzer & not blush. It's a bronzer for a very specific skin type that regular brown/tan/gold bronzers don't work on. If you are like me with light/fair skin with warm/yellow undertones and pink/rose blushes pull (turn) orange or brown on you, then Antigua might work well for you. Normal brown or gold bronzers always look dirty on my skin nO matter how light. I need a bronzer with a lot of pink in it so that when it blends with my skin tone, it comes out looking like a normal bronzer instead of muddy & orange. Now if pink & rose colored bronzers don't pull orange on you & you can wear normal brown/gold shade bronzers, then Antigua would likely work more as a beautiful, natural blush for you. For those of us who pull orange from pinks in blush & can't wear brown toned bronzers, this is a great option! Doesn't look pink on me at all. Just looks like a pretty golden sunkissed look.
Pros: fair/light with yellow undertone
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date: June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:Hiker
Location:El Lago, TX

Where's the bronze ?

I was very disappointed in Antigua. The shade is too pink and there is not any bronze. The color does glide on the skin and it is best described as a luminous blush and not a bronzer. I would recommend this to a friend as a very good blush, but as for me I will not purchase again. I gave it 3 stars because it does not have any bronze in the color.
Pros: dry dull skin
Cons: too pink
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Written By:pattykake
Location:Milton, VT
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Hazel

Beautiful!

I love this Illuminating Bronzing Powder! I got the Antigua (2nd time purchase) and use it every day as my blush. Very flattering and just the right pop of color for my fair skin.
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Written By:Sonia
Location:Pittsburg, CA
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Olive
My eyes are Brown

OMG THIS STUFF IS AWESOME!!!!!

I bought this bronzer in the color Maui and its such a pretty coral/pink color. The online color in the picture does not do it justice at all. I use over my blush or sometimes alone as a blush. It has a light shimmer but compliments my face in all lights and gives me a nice subtle glow. It photographs really well and makes you look so healthy and warm looking. The color Maui literally makes you look like you have a Hawaiian glow...I LOVE IT and can't live without it. I also purchased this bronzer in Antigua and its very pretty. Way more subtle than Maui. Antigua is a soft pink with a light simmer that is nice for those day's where you don't want to wear a lot of makeup but want to give you cheeks a soft hint of color, it's very pretty and very feminine....
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: July 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:KtKoala
Location:Southern CA

Antigua

I tried Antigua and while the product is of excellent quality, I had to return it b/c the color didn't work for me. It made me look too dirty and darkened my overall complexion too much. I choose this color b/c of it's description as a "light pink bronze" and b/c of the high recommendations here from other users and lovers of the Antigua color; but I think I will try one of the pinkier ones next time. I am Sand 02 / Neutral for makeup with green eyes and medium golden brown hair. I'm new to Bobbi Brown, so am still learning my right shades and products, but they are of such high quality and of little allergenic properties, so I'm going to continue trying.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Written By:coolbabe377
Location:San Diego CA
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green

Vacation in a Compact

I heard that Bobbi Brown was coming out with a bronzer with shimmer in it over a year ago, and that it was going to be beautiful. I was told to watch for “Antigua”.
I purchased Antigua the first week it premiered without even trying it on. I hurried home and put it right over the blush I was wearing, and I just glowed:) I’ve tried it with my regular bronzer, with pot rouge, with everyone of my six powder blushes (I’m a BB blush addict), and all by itself. It always looks wonderful no matter what, and never looks like I’ve tried to do anything at all. It’s a product that’s reminiscent of several shimmer/bronzer products that came out in 2005, but so much nicer. It doesn’t have that nasty white look if I put on a little too much. It’s finely milled and hard pressed so that I never have to be careful.
Antiqua gives me that sunny, healthy, pretty “I’ve been on a vacation” look. Now…who could ask for more?
Pros: anyone wants a bronzy glow
Cons: Can't live without, makes me look pretty, tightly pressed, quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:SWeeks97
Location:Halifax, Nova Scotia

Definitely a forever purchase!

I worked in the makeup industry for a long time and there were always new and exciting products to try, so I rarely used the same product twice. Until this one! This bronzer gives the most perfect peachy-pink glow without being too shiny and makes my fair skin look perfectly sun-kissed. I've had it about two years now (and use it daily) and have only now had to replace it! That's a keeper in my opinion. :)
Pros: fair complexions
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date: July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:silvrgrl1
Location:Williamsburg, VA

Subtle Glow

This gives a nice warm color. I purchased Aruba and I am blonde with blue eyes. I was looking to replace my bronzer and decided to get this instead. While I like it I still feel I may need to get a bronzer to go a little tanner. I do like this and will use it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:MereBear
Location:Washington, D.C.

Stunning!

The best way to describe this product is "stunning." I use the Antigua color and it matches nicely with my fair complexion - adding a look of "pinched cheeks" to my face without looking too over-done. While I have read reviews justifying why this is called a bronzer, it really looks like more of a blush on my skin tone - which is what I like but you should know that ahead of time.
Also, you do not need much of this product so it is likely to last me a LONG time. My only complaint so far is that the case clasp broke on only my second time trying to open it and now the top will not completely close or seal off the product.
Otherwise, it's a keeper. Try it out!
Pros: beautiful
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:LexRex
Location:Oregon

Subtle & Beautiful!

I've tried bronzers in the past but they have been fairly ho-hum and nothing to rave about. Now that I am a convert to Bobbi Brown I thought I would give it a try. I purchased this in the Bali Brown colour and when it arrived I thought I may have purchased a shade that was to dark. I have medium coloured skin, not overly fair and I tan easily. I apply this sparingly and it just gives the most gorgeous sun kissed look. I just adore it and it is going to be in my daily makeup routine from now on.
Pros: sun kissed look
Cons: to add that professional polished look.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: January 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
Written By:feithfan
Location:Laurel, Maryland

Love Bali Brown Bronzer!!!

I ordered the Bali Brown Illuminating Bronzer. It is perfect for my brown skin tone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:Butterfly09
Location:New Hampshire
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown

Antigua

I saw a lot of reviews for people with fair skin who bought this in Antigua so I thought I'd try it. I use the regular bronzer in Golden Light 1 which is perfect for me (I'm shade Porcelain for ref). This is definitely pink and shimmery, which I like using as blush on top of using the original bronzer. It is a great pop of color and is very glowy not glittery. Even though it is a brighter pink it still looks really natural. I personally think this looks great with a subtle bronze/brown eye, lots of mascara, and a pink/rosey lip. So pretty!
Cons: Can't live without
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Written By:Cali
Location:Boise, ID

Stays on All Day

I had been wearing the Medium2 bronzer for like 6 months, even in winter since that is when I bought.. Went to Bobbi Brown counter as they were having Bobbi Brown make up artists there, and I had an Appt.. One of the personal artists that works with Bobbi Brown was there and he started asking the artist working on me why she chose the colors that she had chosen for bronzers.. I was used to wearing the Medium2 bronzer and since I have redish skin when I get nervous, or excited or crying for example, my neck, and chest area breaks out in this redish color, I hate it!! well my skin of course was doing that at the time and he recommended the Illuminating Bronzer in Maui color, to match my skin rather than the "golden look". I like it , I like the medium2 as well, but ever since that day, I have been wearing the Maui, and I use it as my blush too all in 1. And it does match better for me. I am light to medium skin tone, I wear warm sand 2.5 skin foundation. Looks Great! Thank you Bobbi Artists!
Pros: blush/bronzer
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:dermophile
Location:Atlanta, GA
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown

wow amazing

I just bought this is Maui and Antigua, really sheer and beautiful. I wear Sand and Warm Ivory foundation/concealer. Antigua for me is like a little flush, really soft and natural; Maui is more of a peachy-pink and the shimmer is very soft but higher than in Antigua. The texture is unreal, soft and super fine milling, you will love this even if you're not a "bronzer" person!
Pros: fair skin, as a blush
Cons: soft, natural, no streaks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Written By:BarbinDallasTX
Location:Dallas, TX
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel

Just the right amount of shimmer

I bought this product based on the reviews I read here, I must admit.
Since I had a trip to my local "Bobbi" store planned, I was able to consult personally with a Bobbi Representative. He recommended using this product over Bobbi's regular bronzer, which I already use. I had him apply it, and then went to a business meeting. Someone actually commented that I had a really nice healthy glow to my complexion! SOLD, BOBBI!
I have a good bit of red already in my skin, so I bought "Aruba". I may try another as a blush substitute at some point, but I think I really NEED blush.
I'm over 50 and the Shimmer Bricks are just WAY too much glitter for me. This was just right...just a glow.
Pros: anyone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: June 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:GwfOh
Location:Dubli, Ohio

Subtle yet just enough color

I was worried that this bronzer would have too much sparkle based on the description and other reviews, but for me there is absolutely no sparkle at all. I purchased the Telluride color based on a recommendation from a artist on the phone, and it is perfect. It can be used as a blush or a bronzer and does not have any orange tone to it. It is a large compact and will last a very long time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Written By:christianne
Location:Chicago, IL
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Versatile
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown

Perfect for a radiant look!

I've wanted the Illuminating Bronzer in Maui ever since I saw the model wearing it in Bobbi's Illuminating Bronze Collection.
I have pretty tan skin, and I was a bit afraid it wasn't going to show on my cheeks.
Thankfully I was so wrong!
Maui is a beautiful shimmery mix of pink, coral, and bronze that gives a my face a very radiant, healthy look. When worn over my Bobbi Brown matte blushes (pretty much any of them!) it just makes my face glow. When worn by itself it gives my skin a little pop of color and my skin looks fresh and radiant.
The shimmer is not overwhelming, and the color is buildable so start with a light hand and go from there.
I love how this color doubles as a blush as well, so when I'm running low on time but still want to feel sexy I brush this on and go.
Can't wait to try the others!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Written By:maestra
Location:The South

Healthy Glow-no Shimmer Frost

I've shied away from pink in blushes or even bronzers but this makes me look healthy and ready to face the world.From 1 year out of chemo having color in my face as I was rebuilding my strength was/is important-want outside to match the good feelings inside. Antigua is a perfect pink brown, sheer and easy to apply-I use a kabuki. Compact is good for purse and a good value as well.
Pros: fair/lt./lt-med complexions
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date: May 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Written By:ClassyMom
Location:Louisville, KY

Subtly Beautiful

Gives a lovely subtle glow...you could apply this all over your face and it would not look bad. I have a medium skin tone and I purchased the Aruba color. It is perfect!! Forever Purchase -- love this!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>