Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Bronzer or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Illuminating Bronzing Powder

Average Customer Rating:
4.804 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(383 Reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (383 reviews)
5 stars
320
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
375 of 383(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Review 1 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ALLAWGAL38
(Florence, AL)
Antigua is a bronzer!
Date: January 24, 2013
Pros: fair/light with yellow undertone
Cons: Can't live without
"Just wanted to say there is a reason Antigua is listed as a bronzer & not blush. It's a bronzer for a very specific skin type that regular brown/tan/gold bronzers don't work on. If you are like me with light/fair skin with warm/yellow undertones and pink/rose blushes pull (turn) orange or brown on you, then Antigua might work well for you. Normal brown or gold bronzers always look dirty on my skin nO matter how light. I need a bronzer with a lot of pink in it so that when it blends with my skin tone, it comes out looking like a normal bronzer instead of muddy & orange. Now if pink & rose colored bronzers don't pull orange on you & you can wear normal brown/gold shade bronzers, then Antigua would likely work more as a beautiful, natural blush for you. For those of us who pull orange from pinks in blush & can't wear brown toned bronzers, this is a great option! Doesn't look pink on me at all. Just looks like a pretty golden sunkissed look."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:SWeeks97
(Halifax, Nova Scotia)
Definitely a forever purchase!
Date: January 20, 2014
Pros: fair complexions
Cons: Can't live without
"I worked in the makeup industry for a long time and there were always new and exciting products to try, so I rarely used the same product twice. Until this one! This bronzer gives the most perfect peachy-pink glow without being too shiny and makes my fair skin look perfectly sun-kissed. I've had it about two years now (and use it daily) and have only now had to replace it! That's a keeper in my opinion. :)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Sonia
(Pittsburg, CA)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Olive
My eyes are Brown
OMG THIS STUFF IS AWESOME!!!!!
Date: April 15, 2011
Cons: Can't live without
"I bought this bronzer in the color Maui and its such a pretty coral/pink color. The online color in the picture does not do it justice at all. I use over my blush or sometimes alone as a blush. It has a light shimmer but compliments my face in all lights and gives me a nice subtle glow. It photographs really well and makes you look so healthy and warm looking. The color Maui literally makes you look like you have a Hawaiian glow...I LOVE IT and can't live without it. I also purchased this bronzer in Antigua and its very pretty. Way more subtle than Maui. Antigua is a soft pink with a light simmer that is nice for those day's where you don't want to wear a lot of makeup but want to give you cheeks a soft hint of color, it's very pretty and very feminine...."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:coolbabe377
(San Diego CA)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
Vacation in a Compact
Date: August 24, 2009
Pros: anyone wants a bronzy glow
Cons: Can't live without, makes me look pretty, tightly pressed, quality
"I heard that Bobbi Brown was coming out with a bronzer with shimmer in it over a year ago, and that it was going to be beautiful. I was told to watch for “Antigua”.
I purchased Antigua the first week it premiered without even trying it on. I hurried home and put it right over the blush I was wearing, and I just glowed:) I’ve tried it with my regular bronzer, with pot rouge, with everyone of my six powder blushes (I’m a BB blush addict), and all by itself. It always looks wonderful no matter what, and never looks like I’ve tried to do anything at all. It’s a product that’s reminiscent of several shimmer/bronzer products that came out in 2005, but so much nicer. It doesn’t have that nasty white look if I put on a little too much. It’s finely milled and hard pressed so that I never have to be careful.
Antiqua gives me that sunny, healthy, pretty “I’ve been on a vacation” look. Now…who could ask for more?"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:KtKoala
(Southern CA)
Antigua
Date: July 4, 2014
"I tried Antigua and while the product is of excellent quality, I had to return it b/c the color didn't work for me. It made me look too dirty and darkened my overall complexion too much. I choose this color b/c of it's description as a "light pink bronze" and b/c of the high recommendations here from other users and lovers of the Antigua color; but I think I will try one of the pinkier ones next time. I am Sand 02 / Neutral for makeup with green eyes and medium golden brown hair. I'm new to Bobbi Brown, so am still learning my right shades and products, but they are of such high quality and of little allergenic properties, so I'm going to continue trying."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Chazeecat
(New Sharon, ME)
The perfect blush!
Date: October 30, 2014
Pros: fair skin, blush
Cons: long lasting
"I ordered this product online thinking it was more like a bronzer. When I got it home, it was more the color of a blush. I almost sent it back, but once I tried it I was glad I didn't return it!! I love it!! I have a hard time finding a blush color that goes naturally with my skin and this does just that! I have used it everyday since I got it. I ended up ordering the Bronzing Powder, too, and I use the products together. They are perfect for my fair skin"
Review 7 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:pattykake
(Milton, VT)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Hazel
Beautiful!
Date: December 14, 2009
Cons: Can't live without
"I love this Illuminating Bronzing Powder! I got the Antigua (2nd time purchase) and use it every day as my blush. Very flattering and just the right pop of color for my fair skin."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Butterfly09
(New Hampshire)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
Antigua
Date: April 3, 2010
Cons: Can't live without
"I saw a lot of reviews for people with fair skin who bought this in Antigua so I thought I'd try it. I use the regular bronzer in Golden Light 1 which is perfect for me (I'm shade Porcelain for ref). This is definitely pink and shimmery, which I like using as blush on top of using the original bronzer. It is a great pop of color and is very glowy not glittery. Even though it is a brighter pink it still looks really natural. I personally think this looks great with a subtle bronze/brown eye, lots of mascara, and a pink/rosey lip. So pretty!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:christianne
(Chicago, IL)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Versatile
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
Perfect for a radiant look!
Date: August 14, 2009
"I've wanted the Illuminating Bronzer in Maui ever since I saw the model wearing it in Bobbi's Illuminating Bronze Collection.
I have pretty tan skin, and I was a bit afraid it wasn't going to show on my cheeks.
Thankfully I was so wrong!
Maui is a beautiful shimmery mix of pink, coral, and bronze that gives a my face a very radiant, healthy look. When worn over my Bobbi Brown matte blushes (pretty much any of them!) it just makes my face glow. When worn by itself it gives my skin a little pop of color and my skin looks fresh and radiant.
The shimmer is not overwhelming, and the color is buildable so start with a light hand and go from there.
I love how this color doubles as a blush as well, so when I'm running low on time but still want to feel sexy I brush this on and go.
Can't wait to try the others!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:BarbinDallasTX
(Dallas, TX)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel
Just the right amount of shimmer
Date: March 6, 2010
Pros: anyone
"I bought this product based on the reviews I read here, I must admit.
Since I had a trip to my local "Bobbi" store planned, I was able to consult personally with a Bobbi Representative. He recommended using this product over Bobbi's regular bronzer, which I already use. I had him apply it, and then went to a business meeting. Someone actually commented that I had a really nice healthy glow to my complexion! SOLD, BOBBI!
I have a good bit of red already in my skin, so I bought "Aruba". I may try another as a blush substitute at some point, but I think I really NEED blush.
I'm over 50 and the Shimmer Bricks are just WAY too much glitter for me. This was just right...just a glow."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:apuck
(Birmingham, AL)
Like Product but Not Package
Date: August 28, 2014
"I really like this product and the Antigua color. I use it in the summer as a bronzer and blush and it gives my fair complexion a nice glow. My huge complaint is the packaging - this is my second compact in which the open/close latch has broken internally and now it will not stay shut. I am very gentle with the compact and it only ever stays in my make-up drawer (not banged around in my purse, etc.). Pretty disappointing when this purchase is also fairly new. So all in all I don't know whether or not I would recommend or would buy it again."
Review 12 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Cali
(Boise, ID)
Stays on All Day
Date: July 26, 2012
Pros: blush/bronzer
"I had been wearing the Medium2 bronzer for like 6 months, even in winter since that is when I bought.. Went to Bobbi Brown counter as they were having Bobbi Brown make up artists there, and I had an Appt.. One of the personal artists that works with Bobbi Brown was there and he started asking the artist working on me why she chose the colors that she had chosen for bronzers.. I was used to wearing the Medium2 bronzer and since I have redish skin when I get nervous, or excited or crying for example, my neck, and chest area breaks out in this redish color, I hate it!! well my skin of course was doing that at the time and he recommended the Illuminating Bronzer in Maui color, to match my skin rather than the "golden look". I like it , I like the medium2 as well, but ever since that day, I have been wearing the Maui, and I use it as my blush too all in 1. And it does match better for me. I am light to medium skin tone, I wear warm sand 2.5 skin foundation. Looks Great! Thank you Bobbi Artists!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:LexRex
(Oregon)
Subtle & Beautiful!
Date: August 16, 2014
Pros: sun kissed look
Cons: to add that professional polished look.
"I've tried bronzers in the past but they have been fairly ho-hum and nothing to rave about. Now that I am a convert to Bobbi Brown I thought I would give it a try. I purchased this in the Bali Brown colour and when it arrived I thought I may have purchased a shade that was to dark. I have medium coloured skin, not overly fair and I tan easily. I apply this sparingly and it just gives the most gorgeous sun kissed look. I just adore it and it is going to be in my daily makeup routine from now on."
Review 14 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:shme
(Tipp City)
illuminating bronzing powder
Date: August 12, 2014
Pros: all skin, sbtle
Cons: would not like to be without it
"Bobbie has the basic items and colors for everyone.the powders go on silky , color stays true.and almost no glitter.You do not feel that you have to much on it is just right."
Review 15 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:indychic
(Anywhere, IN)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Versatile
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Somewhere between matte bronzer & shimmerbrick . .
Date: August 28, 2009
"I heard Bobbi say she developed this in the Antigua shade for a friend that is so pale no other bronzers worked with her skin tone and then she liked the formula so well she decided to launch it in multiple colors for her regular line. I wouldn't consider Antigua and Maui true bronzer shades as much as skin awakening blush shades since they are more pink and coral respectively (which is why they work on uber pale skin and shouldn't make it muddy like some true bronze shades might). The remaining colors are variations of truer bronze shades for light to darker complexions. These all have a bit of subtle shimmer that is at a level between the regular bronzers and the shimmerbricks.
I'm too pale for the bronze shades and while Antigua and Maui are super pretty I can achieve the same effect with Bobbi's regular blush which is cheaper & I can pop into my palette - so these are not must haves for me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:nicolef
(wilmington, de)
A Must Have
Date: July 3, 2014
Cons: Can't live without
"I decided to try this after reading many of the reviews online. I had another brand of bronzer but I like the illumination feature of this one. This gives my makeup a finishing touch! It gives me a nice glow without being too dark. I feel added confidence when wearing this product."
Review 17 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:gwilsonmd
(Baton Rouge)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Blue
gorgeous natural looked flush
Date: November 10, 2010
Pros: natural look
"First introduced to this product in the Antigua palette. Don't think I would have tried it otherwise. What a happy discovery! When used as a blush, gives a gorgeous natural looking flush to the cheeks. Antigua was just the right color for my medium skin (I wear "beige" in the Skin Foundation SPF15... Which is another AWESOME product for women who like a natural look), blue eyes, blonde hair. Looks like I just came in from a day at the beach.
Doesn't look powdery and dry, nor too orange-y. I hope you love it as much as I do!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:silvrgrl1
(Williamsburg, VA)
Subtle Glow
Date: July 1, 2014
"This gives a nice warm color. I purchased Aruba and I am blonde with blue eyes. I was looking to replace my bronzer and decided to get this instead. While I like it I still feel I may need to get a bronzer to go a little tanner. I do like this and will use it."
Review 19 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:AEW1973
(Davis, CA)
I am a Makeup Novice
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
Soft beautiful cheeks
Date: July 13, 2010
"I got this in Maui to use as a blush at the recommendation of the BB national makeup artist who did a polished/nude look for me. She explained that for me (Asian, round face, medium skin) this gave a softer, more natural look than using actual blush. I really loved the way it looked on, there is no glitter, just a pretty flush of color. In the pan it looks a little glittery, but it doesn't show up that way on the skin. I would definitely recommend this."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Illuminating Bronzing Powder
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Glisten
(Wheaton, IL)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Aruba is perfection for the fairer maidens
Date: December 23, 2010
Pros: fair, contouring, adding warmth
"Aruba is the bronzer for women that are fair and want to add warmth without adding strange color to their face. It is a very buildable product-so you can have just the slightest touch of it or you can build it to the payoff depth you would like. I love to use this to contour my face-and it gives the perfect definition without looking to "made up" or dirty. I also love the packaging on this product-super sturdy and pretty."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>