Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bobbi Brown.

Perfectly Defined Mascara

Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
108
4 stars
26
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
4
139 of 151(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Review 1 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Tish
(Tampa Florida)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
Truly Smudgeproof!
Date: May 25, 2011
"I have allergy eyes and it was hard for me to find a good mascara that didn't wind up under my eyes by midday from my eye sensitivities. This one fits the bill! I live in humid Florida and between the heat and pollen every other brand of mascara either made my eyes tear or ran down my face from blinking. Perfectly Defined Mascara stays put and lengthens my lashes beautifully and washes off easily with warm water. Great product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:BAILEYBOO
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Olive
My eyes are Brown
WILL NOT COME OFF!
Date: July 3, 2011
"This product stays and stays and stays. However, it will not come off. I bought the BB eye makeup remover and It wouldn't budge. so, I tried warm water several times. Tried my old removed. Still no luck. Three stars was for anyone who wants mascara that will stay on through rain, sweat, tears, sleeping all night. It went on very easily and had a beautiful finish. I wish it had worked for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:freckledone
(St. Louis, MO)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Hazel
Stays on my lashes!
Date: June 14, 2011
Pros: everyday wear
Cons: Can't live without
"I know that sounds silly, as mascara is meant for your lashes. I've tried just about every mascara made, no matter what the promises or the price. Every single time I would catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror a few hours later and find it had transferred to my eyelid. Ick! I paired this with a long wear shadow and eyeliner. Nothing moved all day! Nothing under the eye or on the lids. Perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:cimplicity
(SG)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
Easy to Put On & Take Off!
Date: February 24, 2011
Cons: Can't live without
"This mascara comes with a great brush. It is easy to put on and the consistency is just right. My lashes feel comfortable with 1 to 2 coats and it's enough to open up my eyes. It stays on all day and doesn't smudge. I was somewhat skeptical at first that it maybe removed with warm water, however, I'm a convert now that I have tried it. IT REALLY DOES COME OFF EASILY WITH WARM WATER! This mascara is now a permanent item in my makeup bag."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:lisel
(Bennington, NH)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My eyes are Blue
I have been waiting for this all my life!
Date: July 28, 2009
"I am 55 & have been wearing mascara since I was 12. This is the PERFECT mascara! I absolutely love it! I am so afraid that it will be discontinued that I buy 3 tubes at a time! It is everything that I need in a mascara, it lengthens, covers well and CURLS!
I've thrown away my eyelash curler!
I also really appreciate the fact that it does not flake & is extremely long-wearing. It does not fade as the day goes on.
I LOVE this mascara... it is the best!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:MissMelissa
(Oakland, CA)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Have to be honest
Date: July 28, 2009
"Lord knows I am a Bobbi addict, but I am not a fan of this mascara. I think the idea was this was supposed to be easier to remove with warm water, the problem is that it's the ONLY way it can be removed. This stuff would not come off with any standard removers of any kind, and when I did go to warm water and a wash cloth, it sort of flaked off. I didn't like the dryness of my lashes with it on, and hated taking it off. Everything mascara for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Tulip
(Apex, NC)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
Comes off Easily
Date: September 11, 2009
Pros: everyone
Cons: Can't live without
"This mascara is simple to put on, never smudges, and comes off easily with warm water. Anyone having trouble getting the mascara to come off just needs to splash warm water on their lashes. While you wash the rest of your face, the mascara will loosen. Then you can pull it off gently with your fingertips. No eye makeup remover necessary!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:HLHG
(Boyds, MD)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
Messy
Date: July 28, 2009
"This is the first BB product in which I was disappointed. While the mascara does lengthen and separate, I found it to be very wet - to the point where I ended up with little black dots all over my upper brow bone after using it. I have never had that problem with another mascara."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bear
(Hilton Head, SC)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
love the texture
Date: September 25, 2010
"this product is smooth and adds volume . I'm 58 and I want a natural look, this mascara does that and makes me feel good about the way I look."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:corners
(chicago il)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Extra Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
Really lengthens
Date: May 18, 2010
"This mascara doesn't curl much, but it does make my lashes very long and dark. It's also really easy to take off in the shower. It doesn't flake or smudge all day!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:jadimart
(Baltimore, Md.)
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel
Perfectly defined mascara
Date: July 28, 2009
Pros: lashes of all ages
Cons: an essential to a polished look
"This mascara truly does separate and curl the lashes. I don't experience smudging and "raccoon eyes" with it and there is no flaking. I will order it again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:HappyChickadee
(Ann Arbor MI)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
But I really like the applicator
Date: April 13, 2011
"Bright glossy black. Light consistency. I really like the viscosity of this formula; it's a bit heavier than an egg white. Dries quickly. Dispenses nicely in appropriate amounts; it isn't as thick or globby as peanut butter.
Performance-wise... mascara is mascara to me. Maybe I'm bitter because I only have a couple of scrawny cactus-spine eyelashes that point straight downward and won't hold a curl. That is possible (My husband has thick dark lashes that almost touch his eyebrows. He hates them.).
In my sorry case there are few differences among quality mascaras beyond the packaging and application system (curved brushes or short-bristled brushes or combs; squeeze tubes or whatever). As long as it's nicely black and doesn't flake in to my eyes and is waterproof and won't kick up my allergies I'm in good shape. The only thing I really care about it that it doesn't burn my eyes or flake off throughout the day. If I wear contacts and my mascara flakes that's such a pain and an annoyance if it gets in my eyes.
I've never actually seen any curling effects from any mascara and I didn't notice any with this one. It *did* gently define and separate my eyelashes. It didn't provide much in the way of lengthening It didn't really build up much with two or even three layers. Didn't clump either though. Lashes stayed separated. So it performs just as it's supposed to.
In comparison Bobbi's Extreme Party Mascara actually does build volume and lengthen to a degree but that's the only mascara I've ever found that built up my lashes so well. It is the exact opposite of this one. You need eyelashes to appreciate the good qualities of this product. I wish I could enjoy it more; I'm basically a minimalist with my own look so this is probably exactly the sort of definition I'd look for it I actually had lashes worth definition; as it is I'm still trying to create lashes!"
Review 13 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:MagnificantMakeupMama
(De Pere, WI)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Green
Makeup Bag Must!!
Date: March 3, 2010
Cons: Can't live without, perfect for contact wearers, must have for stick straight lashes
"I am VERY picky when it comes to mascara. Once it's on I want it to stay on until I'm ready for it to come off . . . that means lasting through tears, sweat, swimming, hot tub, you name it! Perfectly Defined Mascara has lived up to my expectations and I love it!! Even with the simple brush, it makes the most of every lash, curling, separating, and giving lashes perfect definition plus it’s safe for contact lens wearers too (which is a plus for me)! This mascara graspes all lashes, pulling them up and out, defining, curling, and offering nice plump results with plenty of length. PD stays on all day and keeps curl! A definate plus in my book for my tiny stick straight lashes! At the end of a long day it simply washes away with a little warm water . . . makeup remover just doesn't work as well! Love it! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for ALL especially contact wearers!!"
Review 14 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Jocelynv
(Rockville, MD)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Versatile
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Olive
My eyes are Brown
Good for active lifestyle
Date: June 10, 2011
Pros: active lifestyle, 40 plus women, natural look
Cons: Can't live without
"I wanted a product that is easy to apply, natural-looking, and will stay on all day, whether in the office or golfing or playing tennis, but I did not want to go waterproof. This was recommended by the artist at a department store event. Along with long wear cream eye shadow and the long wear gel eyeliner, I can go from office to exercising without worrying about my eye make up. I do, however, wipe off the rest of my makeup before working out or playing. I hate seeing make up rub off on the towel, wrist band or clothing. Plus it is just weird to see women exercising with full face make up on! (Just a little editorial.) But I do need the eye make up to stay so I don't look tired or sleepy."
Review 15 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:OwlsAreAwesome
(st paul, mn)
I am a Makeup Artist
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
You just have to know how to take it off...
Date: November 17, 2009
"This is my all time favorite mascara...it lengthens and and defines each lash, stays on all day without melting, and keeps the curl in my lashes until bedtime. The best part is, it comes off completely without leaving any black streaks beneath my eyes. HUGE plus!
The trick is to use warm water--I saturate a cotton ball with it, hold it to my lashes and gently wipe, then splash warm water over my lids while leaning over the sink. I use my fingertips to break up the mascara--without pulling or tugging--and then use the cotton ball to wipe the little black flecks away. Sounds complicated, but it takes seconds. EYE MAKEUP REMOVER DOES NOT TAKE THIS MASCARA OFF--warm water is the ONLY thing that works. This is the most important thing to know about this product."
Review 16 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Surprisedfan
(Long Beach, CA)
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Hazel
This product works.
Date: June 26, 2009
Pros: holding curl - lashes stay all day, no flaking no running no glops
Cons: Can't live without
"I've tried a jillion mascaras over the last thirty years and this is by far the best I've ever used. It's the ONE! I'm not the type to write a review of anything but I felt compelled to thank Bobbi Brown for such a brilliant product - and yes, I've been telling everyone I know. I have medium length, straight brown lashes. This mascara holds curl (I use a lash curler first) and my lashes hold curl all day - no drooping. It doesn't end up under my eyes ( I was once told to use less eye cream - no way - not in my forties), it doesn't flake and I don't need a special product to remove it - just warm water. It also doesn't get gloppy after one or two or three weeks - even a month - it's perfect every time. Try this mascara - it's worth every penny."
Review 17 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Sharellyo
(Nassau, Bahamas)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Portable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Deep
My eyes are Black
I bought the wrong one! Good but not for me!
Date: July 27, 2009
Pros: straighter lashes
"I love, love, love BB's makeup and I decided to buy the mascara because I've never used it. I bought this one thinking it would work for me but it didn't as well as I'd like. My lashes are not shaped straight out they have a curl to them and they're kinda sparse I'm looking for alot of volume and length. To me, this brush suits those with straighter lashes. It kinda stuck a few of my lashes together, but it didn't clump! I need a bigger brush like the everything mascara...thats my next purchase! Those bristles are closer together and not spaced as much as the Perfectly Defined Mascara! But since I just bought it...my only solution would be to buy an eyelash comb to separate my lashes before and after putting it on!"
Review 18 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:Momof7
stays on all day
Date: August 24, 2009
"This mascara is the best one Bobbi has come out with so far, for sure! I LOVE her mascaras because I like how "true black" they are--not bluish or grayish like so many. However, I have a very difficult time keeping any mascara from smearing a bit into my concealer by the end of the day, no matter what tricks, how much powder, etc., I do to prevent it. This one is great and stands up to the test. The only drawback for me is that it takes a while to get it off. It DOES come off with water alone, so that is true, but it takes some patience--getting it wet and soft enough to come off. It will eventually sort of melt and gently rub off, but only with a lot of water. But it is her best and worth the patience! :)"
Review 19 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:QTenn
(Portland, OR)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Portable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Deep
My eyes are Brown
Eye-opening Mascara
Date: November 18, 2009
"I received this delightful mascara as a sample and it took me awhile to get used to it because too much product would get on the brush and I was a tad bit disappointed with the clumpy effect. However, as I began using it frequently (and getting rid of the extra product) I noticed instantly how well this mascara worked as it separated my lashes with each stroke of the brush. Yes, this mascara can be a struggle to take off so I would highly recommend you use or purchase an eye make-up remover and apply it on circle or square cotton pads instead of cotton balls. I love the small sample size because it fits perfectly in my small cosmetic bag, but I never have to re-apply because it lasts all day."
Review 20 for Perfectly Defined Mascara
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:makeup4jastet
(Seattle, Wa)
I am a Makeup Devotee
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
Nice glossy (!) color and easy to remove
Date: June 26, 2009
Pros: color saturation & definition
Cons: very easy to remove
"Since I have pretty thick/long lashes, what I really want is coverage and definition. Too much is too much pretty quickly with me, even with a full eye makeup application. One coat covers the top and bottom of the lash hair with a tube of gel coating that quickly dries down. Each lash is slick, shiny, and separate. The wand is narrow enough to really get the outside corner lashes covered without messing up what you have already applied. I don't need to wipe the wand, so no tissue fibers stuck to the brush (yeah!). Doesn't irritate my eyes, even before drying down. Slides off easily with a regular face wash (I use tube soap) and a few good splashes of cool water. Best Bobbi Brown mascara for me."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>