Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Bobbi Brown
Shop Eye Palettes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bobbi Brown.

Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette

Average Customer Rating:
4.878 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
40 of 41(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Review 1 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:ilovemakeup123
(WA)
Pretty shades
Date: June 30, 2011
" (WA)
Pretty shadesDate: June 30, 2011
"I got both the palettes from store.
It took me some time to decide which palette to get, since I like couple of shades from each palette. I wish my favorite shades come in one palette . I wish each palette carries 4 shades (instead of 8, price goes down accordingly), since I normally only use 3-4 shades and I don't have to hesitate to go for more palettes. I ended spending $120 plus tax for both. : P
Sand is good for day time look; Bronze palette is good for night time look.
Even though sand palette has more matte shadows, but the combination works right for me. The sparkle eye shadows is not glittery. Gold bar is definitely a beautiful shade. It may be one for you if you always want a more natural look. The shades are not "heavy".
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CaliforniaSunrise
(San Francisco, CA)
Tortoise Shell Sand Palette
Date: July 3, 2011
" I am very fair and got both the Sand and the Bronze Tortoise Shell palettes. The Sand palette features wonderfully soft shades, some are shimmery, some are matte. Very wearable colors, they go extremely well with my light skin tone, and they allow to create a nice variety of looks. Packaging design is sleek, study and practical - the tortoise shell material is quite beautiful making this palette real eye candy material. I highly recommend both palettes, it is a nice collection to take on a getaway as well as for office looks or sultry evening eyes. It all depends on the color combinations and whether the shades are used with a lighter hand or more is applied. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:JennyJenJen
(Braselton, GA)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel
Just perfect
Date: July 28, 2011
Pros: anyone and everyone
" I hate that I always fall in love with limited editition items! The only comfort I have is that I know I will fall in love again as soon as next season when a new palette launches. However, I truly think these are an exception to the rule. You totally hit this one out of the park Bobbi! I hope you will at least consider making the new colors in the palette available for separate purchase because I could seriously use these colors everyday for the rest of my life! The Sand palette is just perfection in a compact case. Maybe you could just keep them as an online exclusive once they sell out in stores... I'll be sad to see this one go! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Snarky1
(Katy, TX)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Versatile
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
Everything We Need!
Date: July 14, 2011
Pros: versatile, great for travel, all ages, any occasion
Cons: smart & a great value
" This may be the most versatile palette ever and a must-have for gals of any age!
Bobbi's matte shadows are the best, period, and this collection sports great new hues for creating soft to bold neutral looks.
Want to take it up a notch? Add texture by combining and accenting mattes with Metallic Shadows for chic standout eyes.
Feel even more fierce? Pair Black Chocolate (also a perfect liner shade) with Gold Drop Sparkle Wash Shadow or any Metallic shade for a bold yet sophisticated smokey eye!
These shadows always look elegant. Never flat or overdone.
Finally, a smart palette to suit ALL of the women we are!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bornabeautyaddict
(Freehold, NJ)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
Great Palette for Anytime of Year!
Date: July 6, 2011
Pros: fair to medium skin tones, anyone looking for color coordinated options
Cons: great size - about same as shimmer brick
" Couldn't resist when I spotted this on the counter and picked it up in Sand. I esp. love Terracotta - light peachy color looks great with my green eyes - subtle but there; also loving Antique Rose (reminds me of another favorite -Naked) and Sandy Rose (reminds me of Heather Mauve but warmer). Overall great color options for anytime of year - I'm wearing mine right now! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:lindah23
(Lakewood, California)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Green
I love this palette!
Date: August 2, 2011
Cons: Can't live without
" The colors in this palette are beautiful. The payoff is fantastic. I am so impressed with the product. There are matte shades and some absolutely gorgeous shimmer shades. I also love the warmth of the colors. I have tons of eye shadows, but I have to say, this is my all time favorite palette. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:BBAdore
(Simpsonville, SC)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Hazel
Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Date: August 24, 2011
Pros: lots of different looks
" I have both the eye palettes from this collection and love them equally. I never wear the same "face" 2 days in a row since I like to mix things up. Both palettes together provide a plethora of looks. I think that makes both palettes a terrific value! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:hydrangeas4me
(seattle, wa)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
Beautiful selection of colors
Date: July 28, 2011
" The colors go on nicely and are so pretty!
Thank You BB for offering such a nice neutral selection of eye shadow colors in one cute palette. I ordered the Sand. Love !
This, along with the cute makeup brushes/ case makes a perfect combo
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Music1
(New York, NY)
Great set for pale skin!
Date: June 30, 2011
Pros: redheads!
" This set is simple to use - all the colors work flawlessly together & don't look too heavy on my very pale skin. I love the softness of the Terracotta & Hot Stone Shadows & the Black Chocolate Shadow works perfectly as an eyeliner. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:dpstar
(Wilmington,De)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
Go to shades for everyday
Date: July 27, 2011
Pros: all ages
Cons: Can't live without
" This palette is by far the best eye shadows I have.I layer the shadows to make my brown eyes pop. I throw it in my purse for work when I running late.Since buying this compact I have used it everyday. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bleue
(cincinnati, OH)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Another winning pallet!!
Date: July 8, 2011
Cons: Can't live without
" I've used Bobbi Brown for years, and her pallets never cease to amaze me. But this one is probably one of my very favorites. I love a nude/natural look, and both of these pallets fit the bill. I have fair skin, so I bought the Sand pallet. The colors are very wearable and buildable, so you can use any of the colors during the day or night for a clean, natural look. I've been wearing it every day since I got it and it's so versatile that it can easily be worn year round. And like others, I love the tortoise shell packaging. It's beautiful! Once again Bobbi, another amazing product! "
Review 12 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:jazzy
(Virginia)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Hazel
just like painting
Date: July 26, 2011
" Using this Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette is just like painting on canvas. As an artist, I like to use the technique of glazing to gradually build up the desired color and still maintain the hint of other colors below. That is just how these shadows work. On their own, the individual colors are pretty but, when layered, they create some striking effects. I think they are perfect daytime shades, although the Desert Sand and Sandy Rose Metallics and the Gold Bar Sparkle shadows can add a hint of shimmer for evening without being heavy-handed. "
Review 13 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Di671
(Burlington, CT)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Absolutely beautiful
Date: July 23, 2011
Pros: those with fair skin
Cons: Can't live without
" I am so in love with this new palette. I have very fair skin, and these colors are perfect on me. I must say, no one compares to Bobbi when it comes to makeup. Some shimmer eye shadows can leave my eyelids looking too frosty or almost greasy looking. The shimmer eye shadows here impart a soft glow of color with "sparkles." Just beautiful. My favorite color by far is Gold Bar. I wear it by itself or over the other colors and even use it on the bottom of my eye in the inner corner. I get many compliments! "
Review 14 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:BarbinDallasTX
(Dallas, TX)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel
Tres Chic!
Date: July 11, 2011
" Oooh, this is a luscious palette! It has a very expensive look to it and may well be the best packaging yet for a Bobbi palette. Although my complexion is more light to medium and I could have probably made either palette work, I opted for "Sand" because the colors were less pink. I have some red tones in my skin and the pink hues don't work as well for me as others do. Most of the colors look just fine! "
Review 15 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:mcminfla
(orlando, florida)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel
very wearable...from day to night
Date: September 12, 2011
Cons: a staple
" these eyeshadows are fabulous. i haven't splurged on myself in awhile and this is more than i would usually spend for makeup. but, i am so happy that i did because i'll get my $ out of this palette and then some. all of the the colors are blendable and very wearable. i like a very sublte everyday look and i can use these shadows for that and then layer more for nighttime. "
Review 16 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Debee
(Belleair, FL)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Normal
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Blue
I am on the Beach!
Date: July 21, 2011
Cons: Can't live without
" I have never found such an amazing grouping of colors! I love it. I have been wearing many of the colors over the past few years, but this is fabulous to have all of them at my finger tips! I spend many hours in the sun and am fair skinned, these colors work wonderfully. My son is getting married in September and this is the perfect pallette to take to an island wedding! Thanks you. "
Review 17 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:ilels
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
Beautiful colors
Date: July 21, 2011
" I love this palette! The colors are beautiful and will be great for fall. The only thing I wish was different would be that it came with a small applicator or had a place to hold one. This would be great to throw in your purse but would have to also throw in a loose applicator. Not a big deal though because I still recommend the palette. I'm going to purchase the darker one also. "
Review 18 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:mapo
(the South)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
Gorgeous
Date: July 30, 2011
" I'm not going to lie. I had heartburn about forking over $60 for this but now that I have it I am not sorry at all. The colors are so pretty and versatile. I got this over a week ago and have worn the colors daily and every day it's a different look! It is a beautiful warm palette that would compliment anyone with a lighter skin tone. "
Review 19 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:crew92
(Springfield, VA)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Winning combination
Date: July 16, 2011
Pros: business travelers
Cons: Can't live without
" The shades are versatile -- suitable for any occasion from business to night out. The compact is great for travelers. I've received so many compliments wearing this palette. The colors emphasize and enhance your eyes without calling attention to the fact you're wearing eye makeup. More of this please! "
Review 20 for Sand Tortoise Shell Eye Palette
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Skylark
(Washington, DC)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Blue
Soft, subtle shades
Date: July 7, 2011
" I love this palette! It has every shade I love and is so wearable for day or evening. These shadows go on so nicely and stay on a long time. There are enough shades in it that you can have almost any look you want. The case is classy looking and I love the double layer. I'll keep this one in my purse! "
1 2 3 next>>