Bobbi Brown Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bobbi Brown.

Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15

Bobbi’s groundbreaking mineral makeup is made of specially-selected mineral powders to instantly even out skin and diminish the look of imperfections. The result is a natural finish that never looks masky or overly made up. The super-fine powders in this formula are triple treated with glycerin, vitamins and skin softeners, and wear extenders. Smooth and silky, it glides on with a weightless feel and helps improve skin’s appearance. SPF 15 helps protect skin from damage. 
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
31 of 33(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Review 1 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Legs
(Houston, TX)
Not Shiny!!! Love it!!!
Date: August 22, 2011
Pros: combo skin in hot humid weather!
Cons: my face stays fresh all day with no touch-ups.
"I have never been a fan of mineral makeup.
Leave it to Bobbi to develope a mineral makeup that gives great coverage, not too shiny nor too matte, just right! I have combo skin and with temperatures soaring in the 100's it holds up very well with no transfer. It feels like your not wearing a foundation, your skin only better! Bobbi, you knocked this one out of the park! Don't foreget to get the face brush, very soft and makes for a even finish.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written By:Katxoxo
(Rockville Centre, NY)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Gray
Disappointed.
Date: September 25, 2011
"Sigh. Where do I start? I generally love Bobbi Brown products. Lately, there have been some products that are new, I tried them -- and just felt they didn't live up to the Bobbi brand.
This product is one of them. I found this Mineral Powder Foundation to be nowhere comparable to a product labeled 'foundation'. I saw NO coverage from this product at all. As a matter of fact, I think the regular powder does a better job. I also felt this Mineral Powder Foundation settled into pores making them more apparent. I had weird 'dots' on my face and realized that it was this product.
I generally wear tinted moisturizer and either Bobbi's regular powder to set -- or if I need more coverage -- I have been using another brand's mineral powder (not a brand generally found in stores but in dermatologist's offices) and get smoother and better results.
I think Bobbi has the right idea in this powder but I would love to see it improved upon in terms of texture, coverage and usability. The color selection is amazing (as always). But this product sadly was a 'miss' and am surprised by all of the high ratings as quite a few of my friends feel the same way as I do about this product.
Sorry Bobbi...I feel a bit disloyal here but I need to be honest."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:LuLuHB
(Hardeeville, SC)
How Will it Look on Me?
Date: August 24, 2011
"Hi, I'm a fan of Bobbi Brown products. Not sure if Bobbi's staff reads her reviews, however, I haven't tried this mineralized foundation but I'm sure it's great. The only problem I have is the lack of models of color that are not used when a new product is launched on the website. The majority of videos put up are of fair-skinned women, which is fine but it would be nice to see how some of Bobbi's products look on women of a darker complexion. I was pleased to see a considerable spectrum of women of color represented in the Pretty Powerful 20 campaign. Thanks for that, and continue creating beautiful makeup for women of all the colors of the rainbow!"
12 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:gale2
(atlanta, georgia)
Wow! It's about time!
Date: August 23, 2011
Pros: normal to dry skin
Cons: Can't live without
"I have always used bb tinted moisturizer and I had to use another mineral powder, from another brand on top. But not anymore! I really love this powder it's so nice and easy to apply and you can use it with the tinted moisturizer or by itself. However, you got to get the brush to apply it the right way, but applying is easy. I really think this is going to be something! I can now use my bb tinted moisturizer with my bb mineral powder! The powder is light but it covers really nice. Love it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CCZP
(Prospect, CT)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Just what I have been waiting for!
Date: August 29, 2011
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Can't live without
"I truly love this product! I normally use liquid foundation and have always wanted to use a mineral foundation. I was so excited to see that BB created one. I ordered it the day it premiered on the website. I was so happy to find that it met all of my expectations. As usual with all BB products, it is of high quality. I am amazed at how it has completely erased every imperfection on my completion. I love that it doesn't wipe off at all. It is not oily, and it doesn’t dry out my face or leave it feeling stiff. The result is just normal healthy looking skin that is completely comfortable. I am hooked!!!!
I ordered Alabaster which I found to be a very good match to my skin tone (I am normally Porcelain in BB products). I apply the Oil Free tinted moisturizer in Alabaster first (my personal preference. You don’t need to apply anything before the Mineral Foundation) and then I apply the Mineral Foundation. I have found the Alabaster Mineral Foundation to run slightly darker than the usual Alabaster products so I put White Loose Powder over it and it is perfect.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:complexity701
(Austin, TX)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Hazel
Natural lookng minerals
Date: September 3, 2011
Pros: Combination Skin
"I've worn this a few days and I am really happy with with Bobbi's mineral foundation. It really does look like skin, it doesn't feel dry, and doesn't have a wired sheen. I especially like that it does not have bismuth since I developed an allergy to that ingredient. Like another reviewer stated, the coverage is very light, but I've found I can wear concealer underneath and it says if I don't buff the powder too hard in that area. I can also take a small dense brush and layer over an area if necessary. I found it lasts about 8 hours, a little better if you wear the face base or spf15 protective lotion. My only complaint is the color range. I wish she had the full range like she does for other foundations. I wear Warm Ivory in the Natural Finish Foundation, and the online rep suggested I get Alabaster in the minerals. Alabaster is a bit light so I ordered the Extra Light to custom blend in a little sifter jar. I do the same 50/50 mix for the oil-free tinted moisturizer, so I am used to it. Totally worth it to get the perfect color."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written By:BarbinDallasTX
(Dallas, TX)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Hazel
It's ok for a change
Date: August 30, 2011
"I buy many of Bobbi's foundation formulas and use them at different times of the year and for different occasions. This new formula is "average", as far as I'm concerned. I used the Face Brush to apply it and found the coverage adequate, but it took longer to make it look right than I have experienced with other foundations. I also think it feels a bit more like I'm wearing makeup than the Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer does and, frankly, that gives better coverage in less time. Maybe I'll combine the two products and see how that works out and also try the powder puff application if I feel like spending more money to make this product work for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:toonces
(Placerville, CA)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
Excellent Product!
Date: September 13, 2011
Pros: Combination Skin, mature skin
Cons: one i will buy again
"I thought I'd try Bobbi Brown's mineral foundation since I like many of her other products and because they are always high quality. This mineral foundation is no exception! I liked it from the first time I used it. The coverage is good, and it doesn't look too powdery (the key being not to use too much). I apply it with a wet flat-top brush and use a stippling-type application (I find this to be the best method with my 54-year-old skin). I lucked out on the first try with the shade I chose--although maybe several different shades would have worked for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:angief
(Cambridge, MA)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Dry
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
VERY NATURAL!
Date: September 6, 2011
Pros: All Skin Types, Dry Skin
"The mineral makeup delivers a very natural finish - it is not masky like other mineral makeups. It also makes you look bright and it is not drying and is weightless on the ski. The ONLY downside for me is that the coverage minimal. So if you have a fantastic complexion definitely give it a try. If you have complexion issues this might not be the product for you."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:bbfanforever
(Lancaster, TX)
Best Foundation I've Ever Put On My Face
Date: August 21, 2011
Pros: photo shoots, daily wear
Cons: Can't live without, flawless coverage, beautiful shade
"Bobbi has always sold quality products. I love everything in her line but I must say, after using all of the foundations in the line, this is the Very Best Bobbi has to offer. It speaks for itself. So just try it and you will definitely buy it! Thanks Bobbi and your colors are superb!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:blacklabmom50
(Castle Rock, CO)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My eyes are Blue
Good Coverage
Date: September 8, 2011
Pros: Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"Really like the new Mineral Makeup by Bobbi! I am 60 yrs young, and the other makeups had started sinking into lines on my face. This looks fresh and stays on all day! I also dust a little of her powder around after applying."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:okin
(ann arbor, MI)
Beautiful
Date: August 21, 2011
Cons: beautiful, special
"I really like this product! It really helps my concealer stay nice and gives decent coverage. Thanks Bobby!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:makeupjunkee
(Northeast Ohio)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Blue
Feels great, looks great
Date: October 10, 2011
Pros: Combination Skin, acne-prone
"Thank you, Bobbi, for giving mineral foundation a chance. I've tried it out for a few days, and I really like this formula. It's superior to the other popular brand: not mask-like; not chalky; no weird "glow"; not cakey; doesn't settle into lines; glides on easily; moisturizing. The color Extra Light is a good match for my skin tone and very compatible with the Sand foundation shade. While this evens out my complexion, I would describe the coverage as light to medium. It's totally buildable (I have acne-prone, far-from-flawless skin.) I use a small brush to conceal blemishes and areas around my nose where I need more coverage. Once applied, it really looks like skin! Also, this product isn't as messy as other mineral foundations. I've been using this for everyday wear, but it particularly comes in handy on weekends, when I don't feel like putting on liquid foundation. I still get a little shiny throughout the day, but I suspect that this will be moisturizing in the winter. I docked one star for the price. I'm loyal to BB quality, but I wish this and the face brush were a bit more affordable."
Review 14 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:kvsmom
(Colorado)
Awesome!! Comfortable to wear!
Date: August 24, 2011
"Ok, I have tried many mineral foundations in the past with no luck. I wondered if this could be used as a pretty finishing powder as opposed to a "foundation". And I was pleasantly surprised! I use it as a soft finishing powder over my Repair Foundation, and it is wonderful. It is not powdery looking or drying. It sets well and really does look like skin. It makes my skin look smooth without the usual mineral powder shine or dryness. And the brush feels soft, not scratchy, on my skin. Way to go Bobbi!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:Skylark
(Washington, DC)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Blue
Hesitant to happy!
Date: October 11, 2011
Pros: Oily Skin, Combination Skin
"I've been VERY hesitant to try this foundation, but finally gave in and bought it. I've tried another brand in the past and when a sister (sisters are always truthful!) told me it looked like a glowy mask, I stopped using it. Since BB has a good return policy, I decided to try it-if I didn't like it, back it would go. Well, I'm not returning this! It looks so nice, no weird glow, not at all mask-like, no caking or settling in fine lines. When two of my sisters commented on how nice my complexion looks and asked what I had been using on my skin, I knew I had made the right choice. They were surprised I even had makeup on, it looks that natural, only better than my own skin. I used Face Base (which is my holy grail) underneath and after applying the mineral foundation, rub my hands together and "blot" my face with my palms. Perfect! And, my skin tends to be oily and this looked nice all day...no shine. Thanks, Bobbi, for renewing my faith in mineral foundation!"
Review 16 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written By:gracenmercy
(APO)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily
My skin tone is Deep
My eyes are Brown
Love the product
Date: October 10, 2011
Pros: Oily Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"I currently live in Japan but went to the states and tried the mineral makeup. Love it! It looks very natural and provides me the coverage I need and want. Everyone complements me on my skin. I use it with the mineral brush . I liked in t the store then when I got home I thought my lady gave me the wrong color since it did not match right away but I guess it was the lighting I was using. The reason y I gave it a four is because in a picture I took i was still oily in a few spots. I have very very oily skin but it wasn't as oily as other products from BB that has me shining. This is def a keeper and I will recommend this to all my friends. I hope she does not get rid of this one. And Bobbi if you are ready there are a lot of minorities in Japan so I am shocked the highest color you go to in Japan is a 4! But I guess there is online where i have to wait possibly get the wrong color and pay for shipping"
Review 17 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:rviviani
(Maplewod NJ)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Long-wearing
My skin feels Oily
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
Excellent Product
Date: September 29, 2011
Pros: Oily Skin
Cons: welcome additon to my foundation wardrobe!
"I bought this product because after a very humid day my natural finish foundation had completely melted off of my face and I went to the department store to try it. I am so glad I did! I have used other mineral foundations [who shall remain nameless for purposes of this review :)] and they didn't go on evenly, were too shiny or too chalky. This product is none of those. It goes on like silk and leaves a sheer yet polished finish to the skin. I have extremely oily skin and I was surprised when the artist applied the face base as the primer before the product, but even with a more emolient moistruizer it kept the oil at bay. I will use the oil control lotion at home however.
And buy the face brush to go with it! Worth the money. I had used the brush by that other brand and this is by far superior to that!"
Review 18 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:CoCoDelicious
(Charlotte, NC)
I am a Makeup Artist
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Brown
Move over Illuminating compact...
Date: September 20, 2011
Pros: Normal Skin, Oily Skin, Combination Skin
Cons: Can't live without
"For I have found your replacement. I loved this from the moment I put it on. It gives a nice even flawless finish without much fuss or effort. It feels weightless on the skin & doesn't look like a mask. Most people don't even know I have it on. It wears very well and lasts pretty much all day. The only "downside" I could say that this has is that it does tend to be messy. But it is a mineral powder. So that's expected, but for me it is in no way a turn off. I love it and will definitely repurchase once I run out. The shades are subjective just like the tinted moisturizer so definitely get matched properly. I use Bobbi's foundation stick & Moisture Rich foundations in Cool Beige 3.25 and I use this fantastic powder in shade "Light"."
Review 19 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written By:cornflower14
(Iowa)
I am a Makeup Devotee
It's important for my makeup to be Wearable
My skin feels Oily in some places and dry in others
My skin tone is Fair
My eyes are Green
Bobbi's Mineral Makeup is Truly Different
Date: October 7, 2011
Pros: All Skin Types
Cons: Can't live without
"I have tried many different brands of mineral powder makeup and was skeptical that there would really be a difference in any of them. When I tried Bobbi's new mineral makeup I was so impressed with how different it is from other mineral powders. It looks so natural and soft on the skin, does not settle in lines and wrinkles and truly does look like skin! I am a big fan of tinted moisturizers and have been using this over my tinted moisturizer everyday. This is a wonderful product and gives your skin a nice polished, finished look.
I absolutely love this mineral makeup. Will never go back to any other!"
Review 20 for Skin Foundation Mineral Makeup SPF 15
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written By:miehle814
(West Islip, NY)
I am a Regular Makeup User
It's important for my makeup to be High Quality
My skin feels Oily
My skin tone is Medium
My eyes are Brown
Not for oily skin!
Date: September 27, 2011
Pros: Normal Skin, Dry Skin
"As a big fan of Bobbi's and mineral foundations, I so wanted to love this foundation. I know this isn't a "pure" mineral foundation, and I am not sure if it was all the "extra" moisturizing stuff in the product, but immediately after applying this foundation, my face became shiny. I was told this product would help control my shine. It didn't AT ALL!! On the pro side, my skin did look "like skin". I LOVED that. But, I actually think a drier skin girl would do better with this particular mineral foundation. Bummer for me!"
1 2 next>>